2025 Draft Thread

Apparently Adam Treloar will present the Guernsey to our selection tonight.

Here’s my kinda last thoughts:

Twomey’s top 13 are locked away, might not be his order but those 13 don’t get to us. I see a world where Tigers do a trade that see them take Grlj at what is currently pick 9, falls to 13, whoever slides in that scenario I reckon gets snaffled up pretty quickly. So nearly happy to lock Grlj up in a top 14.

leaves us with:

GWS
Dogs

so you can have a board of 3-4 players (or 5 if you include a bid) for our first.

my board:
Lindsay, O. Taylor, Kyle, Murray or trade out.

others:
Pickett certainly could be on my board, I just don’t watch SANFL reserves, Carmichael is maybe a tad too early here. And Thredgold I’m not sure about.

whats your board?

Safe to say I reckon he has already ticked over the 200cm mark

Sam was 204cm when drafted and currently listed at 208cm

Can see will being a fantastic 204cm FB option when he fills out
He apparently measured in at 196cm at the combine but I agree, already looks a lot taller than that and it was only a month & a half ago.

Lindsay's kicking reminds me of a less creative Caleb Daniel. 10cm taller and (hopefully) slightly quicker means that hopefully he's better defensively

Here’s my kinda last thoughts:

Twomey’s top 13 are locked away, might not be his order but those 13 don’t get to us. I see a world where Tigers do a trade that see them take Grlj at what is currently pick 9, falls to 13, whoever slides in that scenario I reckon gets snaffled up pretty quickly. So nearly happy to lock Grlj up in a top 14.

leaves us with:

GWS
Dogs

so you can have a board of 3-4 players (or 5 if you include a bid) for our first.

my board:
Lindsay, O. Taylor, Kyle, Murray or trade out.

others:
Pickett certainly could be on my board, I just don’t watch SANFL reserves, Carmichael is maybe a tad too early here. And Thredgold I’m not sure about.

whats your board?
My personal preferences for our first are (with players around the mark & have been linked to);
Harley Barker
Harry Kyle
Oskar Taylor
Josh Lindsay
Jai Murray
Lachlan Carmichael

But I don’t think much separates them, so I would be happy with any of the above.

Can see an eastern double up happening with Taylor & Kras for us.

I'd rather Norf than Essendon
I wouldn't

Norf easily the worst team in Melbourne to be drafted too,

Dees you at least get games at the G

Dons/Hawks/Tigs all get marquee games even when shite

Pies have huge crowds week out no mater what

Geelong always competing

Saints usually open the 2nd half of the 3rd level at Marvel

I wouldn't

Norf easily the worst team in Melbourne to be drafted too,

Dees you at least get games at the G

Dons/Hawks/Tigs all get marquee games even when shite

Pies have huge crowds week out no mater what

Geelong always competing

Saints usually open the 2nd half of the 3rd level at Marvel
Essendon hasn’t won a final in 7785 days mate . They don’t look close to winning another one any time soon either. North are on the way up

How they've been bottom 3 for the last 6 straight years? and haven't gone close to winning a flag in the same time

Your options are win nothing and play in front of a half empty Marvel or win nothing play in some marquee games in front of 70k + pretty easy option

How they've been bottom 3 for the last 6 straight years? and haven't gone close to winning a flag in the same time

Your options are win nothing and play in front of a half empty Marvel or win nothing play in some marquee games in front of 70k + pretty easy option
North gives me Melbourne under Paul Roos vibes I reckon it clicks and they win a flag in the next 5-10 years.

Essendon will be lucky to win a final in that period. The team they fielded against us this year was the worst I’ve seen since early days gws/gcs

North gives me Melbourne under Paul Roos vibes I reckon it clicks and they win a flag in the next 5-10 years.

Essendon will be lucky to win a final in that period. The team they fielded against us this year was the worst I’ve seen since early days gws/gcs

Essendon was absolutely rooted with injuries this year, they were playing damn near every healthy player on their list

Lindsay's name is running even hotter today. Which is a shame as I was now firmly in the "want us to draft him" camp. Taylor seems to be sliding, so he seems more likely to end up being our guy. Though I am weary of sliders.

Knowing the previous drafts, it could be an hour and a half, to two hours before our pick is made, once the draft itself starts. The AFL and the Media deliberately make clubs take the whole time, even when they have already decided. To drag it out so they can milk the crap out of advertising. Will be bit of a snooze, but at least there is something to do all night.

Listening to the latest Code AFL podcast, one of the guys on there (Chris Cavanagh or Dan Batten) were huge raps for Louis Emmett too.

Said entering the year he was thought of as the potential #1 pick by some. Undersized ruck which has some clubs unsure of where his best position is, runs all day, said last year he absolutely dominated some games having 30 touches, 20 hitouts, 2 goals etc.

Listening to the latest Code AFL podcast, one of the guys on there (Chris Cavanagh or Dan Batten) were huge raps for Louis Emmett too.

Said entering the year he was thought of as the potential #1 pick by some. Undersized ruck which has some clubs unsure of where his best position is, runs all day, said last year he absolutely dominated some games having 30 touches, 20 hitouts, 2 goals etc.
I'm not a fan of drafting ruckman given how long they take to develop and the risk of the good ones jumping ship as soon as that maturing process has finished however, I was very keen on Dodson last year and Emmett this year I'd be similarly happy to draft. His upside is enormous, his scope in defence is great aswell, I don't know how much he has played there although he did some work in the off season for a potential defensive role this year but his positioning and reading of the play is great. Whether he is a ruck that drops behind play similar to English when he is at his best or permanently shifts to defence he'd be an asset to team defence.

Yeah i've only watched highlights and read some profiles but does seem like he may develop more into a KPP rather than ruck.

2025 Draft Thread