2025 Draft Thread

Thanks, and is the official train-on status just for insurance coverage? Presumably VFL guys are allowed to do some pre-season stuff with the group so could get around it by getting them signed to Footscray.
To officially train with the AFL team you'd need to have a list spot vacant for an SSP signing but the VFL and AFL boys do cross paths occasionally across pre season.

I heard earlier in the year there is interest from his side in giving it a crack at some point. Whether it ever eventuates, or how soon, I don't know. From a solid source.
He could be one hell of a ruck, with his build & leap. Hopefully we can get him over in a couple of years. Big bonus signing a F/S to a Cat B spot.

Draft grading:

Dogs - C+
Norf: A+
Saints: B
Collingwood: B+

Nice one Fox Sports 🤪
This made my blood boil, even putting aside our grade how can they give such ridiculous marks when they wouldn’t know any of the players outside of the top 5?

Do you know what position Eagleton is likely to play? Or likely just to plug whatever hole we have in the line up.
Likely a forward role since he played majority that in his under 18s
But Footscray like to make player as flexible as possible

Mitch Croft (Jordon's brother). Elite Volleyball player. Haven't heard of it happening though.
We would really need to load up with sure-handed mids if we brought Mitch in as a ruck. Would be hard to be one touch players with Mitch spiking the hell out of the ball every ruck contest.

Mitch Croft (Jordon's brother). Elite Volleyball player. Haven't heard of it happening though.
He's still three years away from his college eligibility ending, and those rules are always a bit rubbery too - it can extend if he gets injured, decides to transfer to another college, plays beach volleyball as well, etc. etc.

He's one of the best Volleyball players in his rough age group for Austrlaian, though that doesn't necessarily mean he's good enough to play professionally anywhere or even for the Aus national team.

And in any case lots can change otherwise for his career. Australia will get a volleyball team in the Olympics for 2032 as the host nation, so the extent that we fund salaries and training camps etc. for the national team for the next 7 years - how big those camps are, therefore how likely Croft is to be invited, is really yet to be seen. We don't know how much government money we're putting toward these sports we have zero change of medalling in yet there will still be a lot of focus and pride on in our home Olympics. Could go either way - it's clear in a year or two that his Volleyball career is peetered out and he'll give Cat B a crack, or he's gearing up to compete in a home Olympics.

I was told today that once the dust settled the dogs will be keen to add Burton to the Footscray list.
Looks like NHH will train on with the Tigers.

These guys that get passed over have lots of things to weigh up, could get train on gigs with clubs who have held over a spot for SSP, move interstate to go through a different program, join Tassie VFL and hope to gain one of the promised AFL gigs, play VFL or look to play another year in u18s as an overeager.

Smart by NHH to be honest to join that Tigers VFL program. Doing something right over there and producing a few nice AFL talents of late, hope he goes well and we can still keep an eye on him in the VFL.

Like the idea of adding Burton to Footscray too, exciting player with speed and we can see if his size holds him back, or if he continues to develop and there's a player there.

This made my blood boil, even putting aside our grade how can they give such ridiculous marks when they wouldn’t know any of the players outside of the top 5?

Because as these pundits are desperate to get their names in lights as well, be thought of as experts and have people think they know what they're talking about.

The idea that North have three picks at 16, 26 and 48 and we have three at 21, 27 and 60 (and get Darcy) and they get an A and we get a C grading is ridiculous, but then again, so is so much footy media punditry these days.

Interesting, no mock draft I saw had either of our boys in the top 30.
I had a look and found a few (espn and the rookieme guy both have us taking Emmet too). I was scared when you said that - the narrative of a big reach for a silky distributor was giving me Christian Howard flashbacks.

Clubs just taking the p155 right now. Like the Academies and the points and everything it touches the AFL have allowed this and the likes of Liam Picken and Matty Boyd coming through the rookie draft, genuine rookies, are long long gone.
Sellwood was almost identical to those two when he got drafted, it was just a draft at a different time of year.

Blood boil? Seriously?

I don't know how anyone could even care about an arbitrary grading from a media organization relating to kids who haven't played a single game yet.

I'm struggling to think of anything that matters less.

Blood boil? Seriously?

I don't know how anyone could even care about an arbitrary grading from a media organization relating to kids who haven't played a single game yet.

I'm struggling to think of anything that matters less.
Not so much "care". It's just amusing.

The narrative will always be who won the draft even though it is stupid because we won't know for years. It is what it is, doesn't have to be so serious all the time.

I had a look and found a few (espn and the rookieme guy both have us taking Emmet too). I was scared when you said that - the narrative of a big reach for a silky distributor was giving me Christian Howard flashbacks.

And heaps of them also had Carmichael going around our pick too, or at least top 30. Only difference is they all had Sydney matching.

Neither of our picks were a reach.

It's probably been covered but listening to the Regan interview sounds like we got our target in Carmichael.

Was saying that once trade week finished they did the sums and realised that Sydney probably couldn't match so they had genuine intent in going for him.
Yeah I had the same feeling after hearing Regan talk.

2025 Draft Thread