2025 Draft Thread

Sam Cumming looks the goods and should fall around our first pick. Jack Steele replacement.

We would be taking the p5 if we landed Jevan Phillipou with the Marshall pick.

How early do the bids for the GC kids come in?

They might look to trade picks 12 + 15 for points. Not sure we can do anything directly, but maybe a 3 way deal with another club?

Stk: Give 7, Get 15 + Flanders
GC: Give 15 + Flanders, Get 21 + 22.
NM: Give 21 + 22, Get 7.

Saints get Flanders and drop back in the draft. About right for Jevan?

GC pick up 500 points for Flanders, which means matching a bid at pick 1 is now not as punishing.

North get to recoup something from their trade with Richmond by jumping up into the top end of the draft again.

They might look to trade picks 12 + 15 for points. Not sure we can do anything directly, but maybe a 3 way deal with another club?

GC pick up 500 points for Flanders, which means matching a bid at pick 1 is now not as punishing.

North get to recoup something from their trade with Richmond by jumping up into the top end of the draft again.

1756556375157.png

Draft watchers….
What are your thoughts on Greeves and Cumming? Are they genuine mid bulls? Are they any good? Who do they play like??
Both are good. Greeves more the big bodied bulldozer but has great ground coverage for a big lump, skills are good without being great. Cumming is much more the modern midfielder with some pace and agility about him and good skills. Would probably take Cumming if there was a choice between the two but both will be good players. I was on Greeves early but have switched to Pou2, Cumming or Lindsay if we want a Sincs replacement. Dunno about comparisons with current players sorry, but given our current list I'd say Cumming or Pou2 would fit our policy.

15 Will Push back into the 20’s. Might be a bit late of Pou2

Anyone have any intel on why Ludowyke dropped off this year .... knee injury?

He looked great last year as a bottom ager .... looking like a Top 5 pick .... but could now fall into the 2nd round
Would love to know too. Plenty of others don’t go scooting down from top 5 after injuries. He looks good - can he use his body? Not Schache MkII is he?

Fair game! 40 and 3 goals!

Came here to mention him after looking at CTL stats. He's obviously got some impressive traits considering he got a combine invite after a handful of games.

Reads like Sam Lalor without knowing much about him, amazing that he was cut from the Stingrays squad. That alone shows belief and persistence.

In an underwhelming draft, he could just be diamond in the rough!

Edit: the more I see of this guy the more I like. There's no guarantee that we'd have our first, but if it falls in the 20s he looks like he could be anything.

Both are good. Greeves more the big bodied bulldozer but has great ground coverage for a big lump, skills are good without being great. Cumming is much more the modern midfielder with some pace and agility about him and good skills. Would probably take Cumming if there was a choice between the two but both will be good players. I was on Greeves early but have switched to Pou2, Cumming or Lindsay if we want a Sincs replacement. Dunno about comparisons with current players sorry, but given our current list I'd say Cumming or Pou2 would fit our policy.
Thanks for the reply.
I still have a big bodied mid/ball pig as a need on the list.
I like our young mids, but a Lalor type would complement nicely.

I have no problem posting this.

I boundary umpired nearly every week for APS/AGSV but mainly did Pegs and Yarra Valley Grammar games. Happy to DM a mod proof is needed.

Duff Tytler is a specimen but a lot of work in progress. Was the biggest player on every game I umpired which showed. Can take a decent mark but honestly just seemed to process the game a bit slow. Will improve with maturity but yeah honest feedback.

The best player I actually saw regularly was Aaron Sharkie from Yarra Valley/Oakleigh. He’s a half back flanker who racks up the ball like no tomorrow. Probably will be a later draft pick cause he’s a smaller player but he was essentially their Jack Sinclair. Gave it to him whenever they could and he ran the show.

Wouldn’t be opposed to taking a flyer on him.

I have no problem posting this.

I boundary umpired nearly every week for APS/AGSV but mainly did Pegs and Yarra Valley Grammar games. Happy to DM a mod proof is needed.

Duff Tytler is a specimen but a lot of work in progress. Was the biggest player on every game I umpired which showed. Can take a decent mark but honestly just seemed to process the game a bit slow. Will improve with maturity but yeah honest feedback.

The best player I actually saw regularly was Aaron Sharkie from Yarra Valley/Oakleigh. He’s a half back flanker who racks up the ball like no tomorrow. Probably will be a later draft pick cause he’s a smaller player but he was essentially their Jack Sinclair. Gave it to him whenever they could and he ran the show.

Wouldn’t be opposed to taking a flyer on him.

Thanks for the reply.
I still have a big bodied mid/ball pig as a need on the list.
I like our young mids, but a Lalor type would complement nicely.
There isnt a Lalor type this year unfortunately. I had Greeves pegged for that reason but it seems to me the game is moving away from that type now and it's only the odd ones like Lalor / LDU that possess sufficient pace and agility. I reckon Pou and Box will be our big bodied mids in a few years and will be complemented with Nas, Hugo, Trav, Windy. TDK becomes the bulldozer, possibly Chito gets some mid time too.

Agree regarding Aaron Sharkie, seen heaps of him over the last few years and he just steps up to whatever level he is required to play. Yarra Valley he just dominates, Oakleigh, he just gets heaps of it, Vic Metro was in votes in all games he played and has been getting plenty of ball off half back for Blackburn against men in Premier Div.

Fair game! 40 and 3 goals!

I wonder if they were hiding him (Sullivan Robey) playing him only forward and who for? Which club are Eastern Ranges affiliated with?

40 disposals and 3 goals in any final is an outstanding effort. I hope our recruiters are switched into this kid.

Could be a good later pickup or may be the next Bontempelli at the draft.

Ps I just had a look surprise surprise Eastern Ranges are affiliated with Box Hill & Hawthorn. Hawthorn are renowned for hiding players over the years.

I wonder if they were hiding him (Sullivan Robey) playing him only forward and who for? Which club are Eastern Ranges affiliated with?

40 disposals and 3 goals in any final is an outstanding effort. I hope our recruiters are switched into this kid.

Could be a good later pickup or may be the next Bontempelli at the draft.

Ps I just had a look surprise surprise Eastern Ranges are affiliated with Box Hill & Hawthorn. Hawthorn are renowned for hiding players over the years.
He was cut by the Stingrays. Played U19s at Rowville, then senior footy at Rowville and more than held his own (according to stats).

Then went to Eastern mid season it seems.

I was thinking that sort of meteoric rise is Bont like in his draft year. I'd much prefer him over Greeves, which is a statement thats hopefully not bookmarked for 10 years time.

Twomey and Draft Central were both talking up this kid a week ago so no way any recruiter in the land wouldn't be aware of this kid. He would've never gone to Eastern if he was being hidden.

Having said all of this and hyped him up so much, one dominant game where his team dominates does not guarantee an AFL career.

2025 Draft Thread