List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!

How did you rate our trade period? (sponsored by Daemon)

Just pinning this, as per previous years. Thanks as always to Lore.

Final trade/FA period results
Out:
  • Charlie Spargo
  • Judd McVee
  • Christian Petracca
  • Clayton Oliver
  • Picks 28, 42 and 61
  • Melbourne Second-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Third-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2027)
In:
  • Jack Steele
  • Changkuoth Jiath
  • Brody Mihocek
  • Max Heath
  • Oscar Berry (Rookie)
  • Picks 7, 8, 37 and 71 (2025)
  • GC First-Rounder (2026)
  • GWS Third-Rounder (2026)
  • GC Third-Rounder (2027)

After a safe worded cooperate email, you'd think the admin or board (not that it's their total business) they'd use a more general statement like

"If kozzy wants to go home, we expect to be appropriately compensated"

Or maybe just a simple, "we won't deal with trade speculation until the end of the season"

Not three first rounders lol, even if that's a haggling price for clubs to pull down which i suspect it would be, IT'S STILL ONLY ****ING MARCH
The second idea there is how it should have gone.

The way it was done will up the media attention times 10 for the season. Plus it’s moved me from, yeah it looks like he might well go sooner or later to - **** it. He’s gone.

It’s preseason. I should have been allowed a little bit longer to indulge in completely implausible fantasies for just a bit longer.

I'm all for the president having a say in the media but when you start talking list management decisions you come across as a complete try hard nuff.

Know your lane and stay in it Greeny.

Bit sensitive mate, he is the CEO of the club, everything and anything related to the club is his lane.

I find it much more refreshing then the disappearing act of Pert and Roffey and “let’s make some noise at the G”.

Good on Green for being present and not ignoring the elephant in the room like it hasn’t existed.

It was a pretty throwaway line - He also mentioned 2 firsts, he's mentioned in another interview today they also want a top player in the trade period, and has also said they want the best deal for the club. Nuffs will focus on the picture quote using a small snippet though.
Absolutely no problem with what Green said. You want our contracted player that we all love? This is what it's gonna cost you. More clubs should do it. Fn sick of the media BS driving these headlines. This is much better than saying nothing and letting the media sink their teeth into us all year.

I'm all for the president having a say in the media but when you start talking list management decisions you come across as a complete try hard nuff.

Know your lane and stay in it Greeny.
Who gives af who's saying it? Would it make you feel better if JT came out and said it? Or Lamb? Exact same message. Who's to say this wasn't Lambs words, just delivered by Green? I like the stand by the club. Too many times we've sat on our hands and said nothing. I like that we are on the front foot here, couldn't give a toss Who's delivering the message. No one is paying 3 first rounders for Koz. That was maybe a bit silly, but I like the intent. Just needed to say hands off, he's required, we love him and he's going nowhere for 3 years and hopefully we resign him in that period.

Bit sensitive mate, he is the CEO of the club, everything and anything related to the club is his lane.

I find it much more refreshing then the disappearing act of Pert and Roffey and “let’s make some noise at the G”.

Good on Green for being present and not ignoring the elephant in the room like it hasn’t existed.
*President, not CEO. But agree with the sentiment.

Who gives af who's saying it? Would it make you feel better if JT came out and said it? Or Lamb? Exact same message. Who's to say this wasn't Lambs words, just delivered by Green? I like the stand by the club. Too many times we've sat on our hands and said nothing. I like that we are on the front foot here, couldn't give a toss Who's delivering the message. No one is paying 3 first rounders for Koz. That was maybe a bit silly, but I like the intent. Just needed to say hands off, he's required, we love him and he's going nowhere for 3 years and hopefully we resign him in that period.
It would be much better if he didn't say anything at all and not give it anymore attention or further speculation as it is. If they wanted a statement, "He's contracted until 2027 and that's where we sit as a club" done..

I mean, you've just admitted that it was a silly thing for him to say anyhow.. 🤣

Anyhow, Brad is known to say dumb shit on twitter so realistically I'm not surprised one bit.

He's not the CEO.....

It would be much better if he didn't say anything at all and not give it anymore attention or further speculation as it is. If they wanted a statement, "He's contracted until 2027 and that's where we sit as a club" done..

I mean, you've just admitted that it was a silly thing for him to say anyhow.. 🤣

Anyhow, Brad is known to say dumb shit on twitter so realistically I'm not surprised one bit.

He's not the CEO.....
It read like something a nuffy big footy supporter would say so not at all surprised here whos a fan of it lol

He's not the CEO.....
Yeah I admitted to him saying 3 first rounders might have been a bit silly. But wtf is wrong with the President coming out and saying we're not interested in trading a contracted player? Plenty on here loved Eddie being vocal and parochial about the Pies. He made some gaffes but his stance was admired by most on here. Now we have a President standing up for the club and being vocal we don't like it lol. Some people on here just lovd being miserable all the time. As a member I'm very happy with Green basically telling Freo to f* off. Hopefully there's more of it to come. Tired of being a meek and mild club. Delivery might not have been perfect but the intent was fantastic.

He's not the CEO.....

CEO or President, the remit is still all things the club.

Fairly certain you were having a big whinge about “make some noise at the G” as well, (as was I), so when they actually say something else here we are still whinging again.

Rather Green acknowledge the shit being poured through the media on Pickett then put his head in the sand on everything like Roffey did.

Fairly certain you were having a big whinge about “make some noise at the G” as well, (as was I), so when they actually say something else here we are still whinging again.

Rather Green acknowledge the shit being poured through the media on Pickett then put his head in the sand on everything like Roffey did.
You can't win with the miserable people here mate. I don't agree with everything you say, but once the misery mob on here don't like you, they will disagree with every opinion you have lol.

Absolutely nothing wrong with a President making a stance here. Same people on here calling out Roffey for being too quiet are now whingeing about Green speaking up. They have to be miserable about something.

Fairly certain you were having a big whinge about “make some noise at the G” as well, (as was I), so when they actually say something else here we are still whinging.
Fairly certain i also said a few threads back that I don't actually mind Greeny coming out and having a say and updating the club on matters such as home base, financial, and what his transition looks like moving forward.

I have also stated a while back that we've heard more from him in a short space of time then we did with Roffey which which I said was a positive step up already.

Yeah I admitted to him saying 3 first rounders might have been a bit silly. But wtf is wrong with the President coming out and saying we're not interested in trading a contracted player? Plenty on here loved Eddie being vocal and parochial about the Pies. He made some gaffes but his stance was admired by most on here. Now we have a President standing up for the club and being vocal we don't like it lol. Some people on here just lovd being miserable all the time. As a member I'm very happy with Green basically telling Freo to f* off. Hopefully there's more of it to come. Tired of being a meek and mild club. Delivery might not have been perfect but the intent was fantastic.
Because he's not the list manager... nor does he need to tell "Freo to **** off l" because at the end of the day kozzie is contracted plain and simple. All he's done is created an ridiculous statement that didn't need to happen.

It's the reason why Pert and Cam Scheab got the ass because they were getting too involved in the footy related stuff when they shouldn't be.

Everyone can have their own opinion, Obviously everyone is working together to one goal, but i do prefer at footy clubs you have these things separated, but of course informed of each other. Like they're all working to one goal but it's better they focus on their main area. Admin should be finances and general operations, players should be training, coaches should be coaching and list management should be scouting and planning

I'm not really fussed around what Green said to much, but what it does do is now we've set a starting price way early. Clubs have a year to haggle that down and yes they might have done anyway in the trade period, but if our list management was planning for three firsts, they will certainly not be getting it now.

It doesn't phase me to much because it's still not Greens ultimate decision to stipulate.

Although rare i wouldn't want any Tom Boyd scenarios where the board takes over and dictates more list management decisions while a coach or someone else is removed. Or you get a Pert situation where he starts shopping a player around without consulting the appropriate staff

Anyways this shit is as old as time, if footy fan has watched 'the club' the whole first half of that movie is the executive clashing with the coaching. Even Australian it's hollywooded up as shit but it's still got a fair enough point.

For personal preference i would just prefer Green engage more with the supporter base that felt alienated under the previous president. Him dictating a price for kozzy doesn't really do anything for me (but maybe it does for you and that's fine). I get what everyone is saying, yeah we look more on the front foot and assertive, but at the same time i can see how it looks silly Essendon do shit like this all the time and look foolish later on.

I don't really care that much either way, but i obviously lean to one side more if i'm honest. But on gut feel, it seems like a very Kochie like statement. I feel we look a little more silly, than bold

I'm not really fussed around what Green said to much, but what it does do is now we've set a starting price way early. Clubs have a year to haggle that down and yes they might have done anyway in the trade period, but if our list management was planning for three firsts, they will certainly not be getting it now.
Thing is - Everyone is focusing on the one part of the answer that has been soundbited for social media. In the same interview he also mentioned two firsts, and mentioned trading in a gun player. It's been taken super literally because that one line has been put as a text quote on a picture for nuffs to get enraged over, and it's worked.

The point is, Green was making it clear Kozzy is a gun, we want to keep him, but if we absolutely had to trade him the price will be high. Not super controversial really.

Keeping in mind a first round pick could be pick 1 or could be like pick 24 - And with Tassie coming in and the ability to trade 2 years worth of future picks, the next few years of first rounders are not looking that great from a value perspective. Not to mention the 2025 draft that they're saying will be up to 40% father son picks and academies.

Thing is - Everyone is focusing on the one part of the answer that has been soundbited for social media. In the same interview he also mentioned two firsts, and mentioned trading in a gun player. It's been taken super literally because that one line has been put as a text quote on a picture for nuffs to get enraged over, and it's worked.

The point is, Green was making it clear Kozzy is a gun, we want to keep him, but if we absolutely had to trade him the price will be high. Not super controversial really.

Keeping in mind a first round pick could be pick 1 or could be like pick 24 - And with Tassie coming in and the ability to trade 2 years worth of future picks, the next few years of first rounders are not looking that great from a value perspective. Not to mention the 2025 draft that they're saying will be up to 40% father son picks and academies.
That's fair, as i said i'm not fussed to much on what he said

I would have personally preferred we articulate our desire to keep him (because we all want to keep him) without stipulating prices. Like for real the 2025 season hasn't even started, it's fine to be on the front foot but i personally think it could be worded better if you're doing it this far in advance. Because of course people are going to get engaged over it, our club and outside. It's also done very little to downplay trade speculation which our supporters are already fired up about

That's fair, as i said i'm not fussed to much on what he said

I would have personally preferred we articulate our desire to keep him (because we all want to keep him) without stipulating prices. Like for real the 2025 season hasn't even started, it's fine to be on the front foot but i personally think it could be worded better if you're doing it this far in advance. Because of course people are going to get engaged over it, our club and outside. It's also done very little to downplay trade speculation which our supporters are already fired up about
Yeah, I mentioned earlier, it's a bit clumsy, but you get that with Green. I think he's actually done a great job so far in terms of ticking off things that Roffey had no chance doing, so I'm not particularly worried about this one.

Goody gave a super straight bat, just like you mentioned, in an interview today, so they're probably just tidying it up a little now anyway.

With Lamb at the helm, I am more than happy for the President to be stepping in and influencing anything list management related. In fact I would even be happy with a random hobo off the street stepping in opposed to letting Lamb run the show.

List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!