List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!

How did you rate our trade period? (sponsored by Daemon)

Just pinning this, as per previous years. Thanks as always to Lore.

Final trade/FA period results
Out:
  • Charlie Spargo
  • Judd McVee
  • Christian Petracca
  • Clayton Oliver
  • Picks 28, 42 and 61
  • Melbourne Second-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Third-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2027)
In:
  • Jack Steele
  • Changkuoth Jiath
  • Brody Mihocek
  • Max Heath
  • Oscar Berry (Rookie)
  • Picks 7, 8, 37 and 71 (2025)
  • GC First-Rounder (2026)
  • GWS Third-Rounder (2026)
  • GC Third-Rounder (2027)

Reckon Heath happens for a late pick, although Marshall being traded may complicate things. OOC though, so can't imagine it not being done.

Expect Trac will go to GC for picks (and maybe a token player like Ainsworth or Davies to save face), Mihocek will be a token trade to keep our Spargo compo, Oliver will go for one of GWS's late seconds, McVee probably for a Dockers second, and May will possibly stay given the lack of interest.

Don't see too much else happening, apart from our usual pick trading to move up (or move into next year's draft).
Hmm. So not as exciting as I would have thought. What about Butters?

Before anybody says anything, this is what I think will happen, not necessarily what I want to happen lol. Would obviously love Humphrey, but will only believe it when I see it.
Understandable.

Reckon Heath happens for a late pick, although Marshall being traded may complicate things. OOC though, so can't imagine it not being done.

Expect Trac will go to GC for picks (and maybe a token player like Ainsworth or Davies to save face), Mihocek will be a token trade to keep our Spargo compo, Oliver will go for one of GWS's late seconds, McVee probably for a Dockers second, and May will possibly stay given the lack of interest.

Don't see too much else happening, apart from our usual pick trading to move up (or move into next year's draft).

Before anybody says anything, this is what I think will happen, not necessarily what I want to happen lol. Would obviously love Humphrey, but will only believe it when I see it.
Our list could be in a shocking position come end of trade period if we can't get at least one midfielder or small forward that is immediately best 23.

It's still the right time to move Oliver and May on, and obviously McVee has forced our hand, but we're in for a few very lean years if we come away with nothing but picks.

Our list could be in a shocking position come end of trade period if we can't get at least one midfielder or small forward that is immediately best 23.

It's still the right time to move Oliver and May on, and obviously McVee has forced our hand, but we're in for a few very lean years if we come away with nothing but picks.
Can't believe Scythe said this is his ideal trade period.

Such a doomsayer, the club said finals is the goal and you'd be silly not to trust them.

Did McVee completely f* us over in that its left us no time to attract a replacement? We seem really stretched on small defenders. Can see small forwards running riot in us next year.

We got AMW to come back. We develop small backmen fine, we could prob give Laser a crack down there as well pre season to see how he goes.

Usually I’m the one having the rant but I’m happy with the direction we have been forced to take, to rebuild our youth before Tas comes in. We have plenty of midfield depth - Viney, Langford, Pickett, Windsor, Rivers, Culley, Lindsay, maybe Sparrow. Our midfield bats deep.

Looking forward to the new look to be honest.

Bring in Mihocek, Kentfield and Doverston/Mentha or Latrelle Pickett up forward, along side Fritsch and Melksham and we are looking groovy.

Maybe even take 2-3 first rounders to 26 draft as well, with a bucket of cash to throw at free agents.

We may even get a Davies or Ainsworth as extra depth.

We have plenty of midfield depth - Viney, Langford, Pickett, Windsor, Rivers, Culley, Lindsay, maybe Sparrow. Our midfield bats deep.
Laser erasure :madv1:

we came 14th this year with Petracca, May and Oliver so trading them out is the best thing for us long term and we'll lose nothing in the short term. Going from 14th to 16 or 17th is no biggie to me. I'd trade our picks into next year though and go all out in a stronger draft next year.

I'm surprised we didn't go after Budarick or Leek Aleer.

Usually I’m the one having the rant but I’m happy with the direction we have been forced to take, to rebuild our youth before Tas comes in. We have plenty of midfield depth - Viney, Langford, Pickett, Windsor, Rivers, Culley, Lindsay, maybe Sparrow. Our midfield bats deep.

Looking forward to the new look to be honest.

Bring in Mihocek, Kentfield and Doverston/Mentha or Latrelle Pickett up forward, along side Fritsch and Melksham and we are looking groovy.

Maybe even take 2-3 first rounders to 26 draft as well, with a bucket of cash to throw at free agents.

We may even get a Davies or Ainsworth as extra depth.

The big concern is the tall stocks - lot of deadwood there IMO, with JVR and Turner the only two 24 and under I have any faith in going forward (And JVR really needs to lift).

Did McVee completely f* us over in that its left us no time to attract a replacement? We seem really stretched on small defenders. Can see small forwards running riot in us next year.

I’m hugely concerned about our lack of small defenders too. Budarick would’ve been good. Jed Bews as an UFA? I dunno.

Think part of acknowledging the rebuild is acknowledging that we're not going to have all the required pieces ready to go from next year onwards. There'll be holes in the list, especially in specialist roles like small defenders/forwards.

The difference between now and our next finals/flag side isn't just 3-4 years of development, it'll be rounding out the core of our list with extra pieces via trade/draft over the next few seasons when we have a clearer picture of what we need.

Think part of acknowledging the rebuild is acknowledging that we're not going to have all the required pieces ready to go from next year onwards. There'll be holes in the list, especially in specialist roles like small defenders/forwards.

The difference between now and our next finals/flag side isn't just 3-4 years of development, it'll be rounding out the core of our list with extra pieces via trade/draft over the next few seasons when we have a clearer picture of what we need.
Knowing us we will nail that.

I’m hugely concerned about our lack of small defenders too. Budarick would’ve been good. Jed Bews as an UFA? I dunno.
I was thinking of Bews too. He’s a free agent so would cost nothing and would be cheap salary wise, and obviously he has links to sKing. In a shallow draft he won’t be taking a list spot from a highly promising junior. Seems like a no lose call for a couple of years cover in a position of basically zero depth.

Knowing us we will nail that.
Don't think ol' mate Lamby survives the wrath of Demonland if (when) he trades their golden boy for a pick in the 30s/40s.

NGAs support a development pathway for kids from diverse backgrounds - they may play footy from a young age, however who knows how they would have developed without those pathways.

Same for NSW/QLD academies - but what these do is guarantee high quality talent is available for teams in those markets, which is a little different to NGA
No they don't. They give kids with half a parent of Asian decent a leg up when they've been playing AFL since 5 years old.

List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!