List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!

How did you rate our trade period? (sponsored by Daemon)

Just pinning this, as per previous years. Thanks as always to Lore.

Final trade/FA period results
Out:
  • Charlie Spargo
  • Judd McVee
  • Christian Petracca
  • Clayton Oliver
  • Picks 28, 42 and 61
  • Melbourne Second-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Third-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2027)
In:
  • Jack Steele
  • Changkuoth Jiath
  • Brody Mihocek
  • Max Heath
  • Oscar Berry (Rookie)
  • Picks 7, 8, 37 and 71 (2025)
  • GC First-Rounder (2026)
  • GWS Third-Rounder (2026)
  • GC Third-Rounder (2027)

Going back to look at an earlier season game for Cumming, playing through the midfield at U18s level and putting together an impressive performance. He won more contested ball than we often see from Sam but was still able to showcase that powerful and dynamic outside game at times to set up his forwards with inside 50 delivery.

Pretty is a shithouse contested mark because he has no physicality whatsoever, gets worked of the ball by defenders with ease. The most frustrating player on our list for mine, and that's saying something.
Well, when the ball is kicked on-top of the forwards heads, its no wonder they get pushed under the footy.

Petty isn't that strong in AFL below his hips... this is why he's NOT so fantastic, in the Ruck, as well.

When we start to play up the corridor... it will help to create more space inside F50... separating the defenders... giving our forwards much better opportunities.

I know Goody was sh** for the last few years, but there's no guarantee King knows wtf he's doing either lol. We're all expecting a spike by a lot of our players, but I'm not sure King is a miracle worker. It all sounds good atm, but we might end up just having a lot of spuds on the list. Development is key. It's ok to say let's play free running attacking footy, but most of our list struggles to hit a target and some key players are nearly over the hill. I'm expecting a few years of pain tbh. Expectations for me are very low. I already see Gawn in the news saying he thinks we can play finals lol.

I'm OK with next season being a 10th to 14th position, on the mens ladder.

One season for coaches, and for players alike, to adjust to a new methodology , and for young players to take up more leadership.

IF we make the finals, its a bonus in my eyes.
... But I'm also hoping for our best draft hand for 2026... so a spot below half-ladder position is fine for me.

* Next year I want us to make a killing, from both the National Draft, and from 2026 Free-Agency.

I'm OK with next season being a 10th to 14th position, on the mens ladder.

One season for coaches, and for players alike, to adjust to a new methodology , and for young players to take up more leadership.

IF we make the finals, its a bonus in my eyes.
... But I'm also hoping for our best draft hand for 2026... so a spot below half-ladder position is fine for me.

* Next year I want us to make a killing, from both the National Draft, and from 2026 Free-Agency.
I think we NEED a really down year to get a great draft hand. No chance this list is a finals list. Change the gameplan, try some kids, make a few positional changes and that should see us in the bottom 4. Take a top 4 pick and GC first rounder into the last draft before Tas then start the rise hopefully.

Well, when the ball is kicked on-top of the forwards heads, its no wonder they get pushed under the footy.

Petty isn't that strong in AFL below his hips... this is why he's NOT so fantastic, in the Ruck, as well.

When we start to play up the corridor... it will help to create more space inside F50... separating the defenders... giving our forwards much better opportunities.
Petty is soft and a sook, I'll be astonished if he ever makes it as a key forward.

He (Petty) sooked it up once that I recall, up in Brisbane.

But its not a frequent issue.
He never sookes it up being moved about, even being sent into the ruck.

So I don't think he's what I'd call soft.

I think we NEED a really down year to get a great draft hand. No chance this list is a finals list. Change the gameplan, try some kids, make a few positional changes and that should see us in the bottom 4. Take a top 4 pick and GC first rounder into the last draft before Tas then start the rise hopefully.
I don't think we need to be bottom 4, CD.
But I think having a first pick around the P5, or 6 area would be fine.

I don't like having P1's in drafts, as I think it places way to much pressure on a player, and also brings too high an expectation from our supporters.
But I love the idea of having multi picks between P4 and P10-12ish range.
... multi picks in a tight range band, i think also minimises any chance of a bust in the draft.

I don't think we need to be bottom 4, CD.
But I think having a first pick around the P5, or 6 area would be fine.

I don't like having P1's in drafts, as I think it places way to much pressure on a player, and also brings too high an expectation from our supporters.
But I love the idea of having multi picks between P4 and P10-12ish range.
... multi picks in a tight range band, i think also minimises any chance of a bust in the draft.
We don't win a flag without Trac, Brayshaw and Oliver who all went top few picks. We can't attract guns to our club so we have to get top picks and nail them. I don't think we have anywhere near enough young stars on our list yet. Next two drafts are super important. Would love to make finals of course, but facing reality, we don't have a finals list. I think the supporter base can cop a down year next season and being the last draft before Tas destroys the draft, it's a good opportunity to get a top 3 or 4 kid.

This Phantom draft has us taking:
1.Grlj
2.Farrow
3.Greaves

Grlj - headless chook who seams to bomb everything long. Quick but not enough to get away, has a step but isn't fooling anyone. very light frame.

Farrow - I like. Rivdog vibes. Good size, nice kick, power and some speed. Looks ready to play and versatile.

Greaves - I'd be shocked if he slipped this far but stoked if he did.

Freo get their Pickett in the end, just not the one they were hoping for 12 months ago...
Freo gonna double down to make a 10 point pitch to Kozzy. We got your relatives, mates and ex-teammates

If Freo come after Kozzy we need to go full Essendon at the trade table. 10 first rounders and Luke Jackson back.

And access to their Aca.

I think that is part of the reason his contract is so big.
Yeah I'm no football manager but I was pretty sure we gave Petracca a big fat contract to tie him here as well, now we're paying half a million dollarydoo per annum so he can cut promos about how good Movie World is.

I don't even know why there are contracts in AFL anymore, they're meaningless.

List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!