List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!

How did you rate our trade period? (sponsored by Daemon)

Just pinning this, as per previous years. Thanks as always to Lore.

Final trade/FA period results
Out:
  • Charlie Spargo
  • Judd McVee
  • Christian Petracca
  • Clayton Oliver
  • Picks 28, 42 and 61
  • Melbourne Second-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Third-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2027)
In:
  • Jack Steele
  • Changkuoth Jiath
  • Brody Mihocek
  • Max Heath
  • Oscar Berry (Rookie)
  • Picks 7, 8, 37 and 71 (2025)
  • GC First-Rounder (2026)
  • GWS Third-Rounder (2026)
  • GC Third-Rounder (2027)

'Aggressive strategic drafting' is a great way to spin that all the players we have tried to trade in have rejected us.
Yeah. Doubt we get either Langford or Lindsay if the club didn’t explode into such a shitshow when we had Houston on the hook.

Can't wait for us to offer James Worpel some obscene contract to come over and be a slightly faster Luke Dunstan

I'm still holding out hope that if Worpel, who is a free agent, is coming to us it's because we're trading one or both of Clarry and Trac out for a more skillful mid or small forward from somewhere.

It's just removing one problem and replacing it with another similar one, really. Worpel would be right near the bottom of my target list, last thing we need.

Yeah I'm not keen either, but I'm trying to imagine what the plan is and then make the best version of it for my own sanity.

The club is absolutely deluded if they think we are 1-2 good 28 year olds away from a flag. We should be going after youth in 18-24 range to restock for our next core. Wtf is bringing in a couple of 30 year olds is going to do.

Absolute reeks of short term job preservation opposed to having a proper long term strategy.

Good thing we are so trash we can’t actually lure anyone over.

As far as I know, here are our out of contract players:

Billings - UFA

Brown - rookie

Campbell - UFA

Culley - UFA

Fullarton

Henderson

Hore - UFA - rookie

McDonald - UFA

McVee

Melksham - UFA

Moniz-Wakefield - rookie

Sestan - rookie

Sharp

Spargo - UFA

Woewodin

Verrall - rookie

Unsure of rookie status for a few so happy to be corrected there…

Bottom line is that there’s nobody apart from McVee I’d worry about losing on that list. They won’t all go but I don’t think the list would be heaps worse off if they did either.

I’d be happy enough with Melksham and McDonald getting another year but would be equally happy for them to move on if they got a better offer elsewhere.

Billings and Fullarton will almost certainly go. Taj looks just about done. If we want to, there’s a big opportunity to clean out and turn over the bottom part of the list but I suspect Goody and co will hang on as much as possible.

Billings - UFA

Brown - rookie

Campbell - UFA

Culley - UFA

Fullarton

Henderson

Hore - UFA - rookie

McDonald - UFA

McVee

Melksham - UFA

Moniz-Wakefield - rookie

Sestan - rookie

Sharp

Spargo - UFA

Woewodin

Verrall - rookie

Bottom line is that there’s nobody apart from McVee I’d worry about losing on that list. They won’t all go but I don’t think the list would be heaps worse off if they did either.

I’d be happy enough with Melksham and McDonald getting another year but would be equally happy for them to move on if they got a better offer elsewhere.

Billings and Fullarton will almost certainly go. Taj looks just about done. If we want to, there’s a big opportunity to clean out and turn over the bottom part of the list but I suspect Goody and co will hang on as much as possible.

Think Sharp has 3 years

I'm actually going to say what i've been thinking for a while, and not just off the heat of this game

I won't be upset if we lose McVee

I'm actually going to say what i've been thinking for a while, and not just off the heat of this game

To be fair to him injury interrupted preseason and during season, but yeah he has been pretty poor. Looks like he has one foot out the door.

Yeah it's probably the preseason, but his form this season has made me question if I've overrated him

Either way, if there is a seriously good player in there, he's not going to reach that playing for us while Goodwin is coach

Billings - UFA

Brown - rookie

Campbell - UFA

Culley - UFA

Fullarton

Henderson

Hore - UFA - rookie

McDonald - UFA

McVee

Melksham - UFA

Moniz-Wakefield - rookie

Sestan - rookie

Sharp

Spargo - UFA

Woewodin

Verrall - rookie

I think Money Wokefield has a lot of promise, should replace Salem when fit. Definitely keep.

Also why cut Verral after investing so much in him. Keep, developing nicely.

JVR does all the hard work then just fumbles marks he gets two hands to, hoping it's low confidence and trying too hard.

If he continues like this next year I'll start worrying, but playing in our forward line where you get zero easy ball and often playing on the best defender* (Ross played ****ing Liam Stocker on Petty for most of the day) ain't easy.

*When Melk isn't playing on their best defender

When are those spuds Petty and Sparrow out of contract? We are playing two men down every week with them in the side. Its not theyre fault they are being selected though.

Both are being played out of position which makes it hard. Petty is a full back. Sparrow is an inside mid. Neither are getting a chance to do what they do best in their natural positions. It really is one of life's mysteries why Goodwin is STILL playing Petty in the F50. He should be sacked on this stubbornness alone.

I been saying this for a while. I’m glad we aren’t offering a back pocket defender good coin. Bloke can’t play midfield so if he isn’t happy with the 2 years on the table he can **** off.

Needs to remember we gave him a shot when no one else would. Now is trying to hold us to ransom while struggling to task up a dozen disposals a match.

IMG_1667.jpeg

Even Jon Ralph would make a better list manager than Lamb would whose gearing up to bring in Derksen for a 2nd rounder and calling it a day.

Lamb has absolutely botched our list just as Tasmania is about to come in. Will be a decade before we can compete again.

We are stuck with a million dollar bloke who can’t even kick a point from directly in front to save a game.

And to think these flogs want to bring in more 30 year olds just so we can repeat what North did and try middle-out for a year or 2, but at the same time that Tassie are taking all the talent.

View attachment 2380177

Even Jon Ralph would make a better list manager than Lamb would whose gearing up to bring in Derksen for a 2nd rounder and calling it a day.

Lamb has absolutely botched our list just as Tasmania is about to come in. Will be a decade before we can compete again.

We are stuck with a million dollar bloke who can’t even kick a point from directly in front to save a game.

And to think these flogs want to bring in more 30 year olds just so we can repeat what North did and try middle-out for a year or 2, but at the same time that Tassie are taking all the talent.
I think its got more to do with Goodwin than Lamb. Hes the dickhead who keeps playing his guys and knocks trading them on the head constantly. Justice that we are stuck with Oliver's albatross of a contract, blind faith has killed this club. The good clubs are protective, we are anything but.

Having said all that, yeah Tim Lamb can **** off too. Wouldnt even care if Taylor was let go now, the new coach should have the final say in who he surrounds himself with, not anyone else.

Seeing some noise about Fritsch as trade option in the media for this off season.

Is he a FA next year? Considering we may finish dead last does it make sense to hoarde any 2026 free agents we have so we can rort the system like North did with McKay?

List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!