Fixture 2025 Fixture

Nov 23, 2015
GWS
All things 2025 fixture related. Early whispers, rumours ... then discussion of fixture issues in-season.

Firstly: Gather Round 2025 rumours

Thursday April 10: @Adelaide_FC v @GeelongCats (N) - Adelaide Oval

Friday: @CollingwoodFC v @sydneyswans (N) - AO

Saturday: Early arvo: @NMFCOfficial v @GoldCoastSUNS - Barossa
Early arvo: @CarltonFC v @WestCoastEagles - AO
Early twilight: @westernbulldogs v @brisbanelions - AO
Night: @essendonfc v @melbournefc (night) - AO

Sunday: Early arvo: @Richmond_FC v @freodockers - Barossa
Mid-arvo: @stkildafc v @GWSGIANTS - Norwood Oval
Evening: @PAFC v @HawthornFC - AO

I know that it maybe too soon to be optimistic after the way we bowed out of the finals in straight sets after holding seemingly commanding leads, but at least one AFL website thinks we will be one of just 3 sides that will be unbeaten after the month with a 4-0 record. I personally think we’ll be 3-1 but happy to be wrong

GWS

Record after four games: 4-0
Wins: Collingwood (H), Melbourne (A), Hawthorn (A), West Coast (H)
Losses: None

Some questionable assertions in this article:

If I understand the scheduling correctly, these are the matches involving us moving behind the paywall:

Round 3 - Hawthorn (UTAS) 7.35pm
Round 6 - Adelaide (AO) 4.15pm
Round 7 - Bulldogs (MAN) 7.35pm

I reckon our watch parties for these games will be very well-attended.

Some questionable assertions in this article:

If I understand the scheduling correctly, these are the matches involving us moving behind the paywall:

Round 3 - Hawthorn (UTAS) 7.35pm
Round 6 - Adelaide (AO) 4.15pm
Round 7 - Bulldogs (MAN) 7.35pm

I reckon our watch parties for these games will be very well-attended.
I thought the AFL wanted to grow the code in the expansion markets, so not sure how putting these 3 games behind a paywall is consistent with exposing our games in NSW/ ACT/ Queensland to a wider audience. I get that in SA/ WA this won’t be such an issue, and most of us here who are diehard Giants fans will either go to watch parties or subscribe to Foxtel/ DANZ for these games - but then we are already committed supporters

Amazing stat - we have played in 8 different grounds in our first 9 games. A positive is 3 of our next 4 games will be at our Giants Stadium and Manuka home grounds.

But for those keeping a close eye on certain disadvantages, one could make the assertion that GWS has been dealt a rough hand, initially.

In the nine matches so far in 2025, the Giants have remarkably played in eight different stadiums

Amazing stat - we have played in 8 different grounds in our first 9 games. A positive is 3 of our next 4 games will be at our Giants Stadium and Manuka home grounds.

But for those keeping a close eye on certain disadvantages, one could make the assertion that GWS has been dealt a rough hand, initially.

In the nine matches so far in 2025, the Giants have remarkably played in eight different stadiums

It is pretty wild just how much we are forced to travel around.

Meanwhile Collingwood can't deal with flying to Sydney for opening round and have to rest half the team to get to Perth.

It is pretty wild just how much we are forced to travel around.

Meanwhile Collingwood can't deal with flying to Sydney for opening round and have to rest half the team to get to Perth.

While the Giants do travel a lot, just a point that Norwood Oval is 3km from Adelaide Oval. Barely different from travelling to Adelaide Oval.

And Manuka Oval is self-inflicted.

So while a lot of travel, those two inflate it the stat.

Rest of the fixture has been released and we have four primetime Thursday/Friday night games?!

Someone pinch me, I must be dreaming.
Apparently they're doing double shift on Friday nights? A Victorian game and an "others" game, but still better than on Sundays when anyone with kids in junior footy can't come.

Fixture 2025 Fixture