Autopsy 2025 Late flourish doesn't mask embarrassment

Who played well for the Blues in Round 15 vs the Roos?

He's a great player (2 brownlows)
He's not a leader's bootlace
Set the tone in the first 30 seconds when he did what he always does...try and do it all himself, not bring his teammates along or trust them and then gets caught holding the ball
Rubbish. He's been the face of the club for 10 years and done a fantastic job of it. Doesn't mean he's immune to getting sucked into the quicksand like the rest of us. He's a footy player, not a monk. Prez, CEO, head of football, not a lot of leadership coming from there at present, don't worry though - the coach has found a few things that need fixing and we'll be getting after it this week.

I'll die on this hill... it all started with bs selections last year...

Cottrell and Cerra straight back in after lengthy spells and dropping players who were performing their role well to make room for them... then the EF was the nail in the coffin...

Doc who hadn't played all year, straight in for that fairy tale feel good story, TDK sub... subbing MK off after the bloke just had his kid and still made the journey for the team... Cincotta got dropped...

You can't try and instill squad mentality and then do shit like that.
Thats when the rot started we were down heaps of injured players but everyone bought in and played as a unit then the MC

Cottrell and Cerra straight back in after lengthy spells and dropping players who were performing their role well to make room for them... then the EF was the nail in the coffin...

Doc who hadn't played all year, straight in for that fairy tale feel good story, TDK sub... subbing MK off after the bloke just had his kid and still made the journey for the team... Cincotta got dropped...

That was when the rot truly started
We had many injuries but everyone was
Playing there role as a unit and we were getting the results
We were unpredictable exciting .
The MC and Voss effectively sabotaged our year by bringing in these players and dropping the in form ones and the camaraderie that this unit had worked and built against all odds .
They are truly the ones that need to be cleaned out
Anyone in business will tell you that if u award positions and bonuses to the undeserving over others who are giving their all and picking favourites that’s a sure quick way to destroying your companies culture .
And here we are
After last weeks performance the MC and VOSS bring in PITTO and surprise surprise
They have no idea or Balls

Such a lousy culture at Carlton ... poor skills, poor decisions and Injury prone.

Carlton have not improved at all under Voss.

Problem is ... even if Voss left ... the new Coach gets the same lousy bunch and will inevitably fail.

All the best if you believe this bunch are going anywhere... they simply don't have what it takes.

Not often that I'd recommend intervention by the Board as these tend to be more destructive than constructive where Carlton is concerned, but if ever there was a time, this is it. There is more than enough talent on this list we should be finishing Top 4 year after year, if not having jagged a flag or two with this group. The sad reality is this team has achieved nothing as a group.

Area 1: Club Management
This includes people such as Greg Williams, Brad Lloyd, The High Performance Manager and Medical Staff. Move them on.

Area 2: Playing List
People cannot tell me that every coach we've had in the last 12 years has been useless. At some point the heat has to go onto the playing group. No one should feel safe. I'd put McKay, Curnow, Walsh, Cerra, Saad, Williams & E.Hollands on the table and let all 17 clubs know that they are available at the right price. You can add TDK to that list if he wants to go as well. You won't be able to trade them all in one hit, but you should be able to move enough of them to put a cat among the pigeons. I'd also be looking to move on dead wood such Lewis Young, Motlop, Evans and Fantasia. I'm sick and tired of the playing group at AFL clubs escaping accountability for poor performance.

Area 3: Coaches
Clear them out completely and start again. No, I don't want Ross Lyon.

Area 4: Culture
Nothing has changed in this regard since the turn of the century. Brian Cook ran successful operations for many years at West Coast and Geelong before ending up at Ikon Park. If Cook couldn't change it then I'm not sure who can or what the answer is.

Area 5: List Management
What is the direction our List Management is taking and what are they trying to achieve. Like every other area of the club they need to come under scrutiny.

If anyone else would like to add to this, feel free.

Came over from Perth with my son as part of his 21st bday. Our first game at the G together in 13 years. And we got to witness THAT.

Don’t think we’ll be back any time soon. Maybe after the next unsuccessful rebuild.

So many emotions. So many thoughts.

Could write an essay but frankly too bloody depressed.

Supposed to be contending and we aren’t far from the worst team in the league.

It was very interesting being an interstater there. The toxicity is well and truly back in all facets of the club. All self inflicted.

Bottom line is this. We should be way better than this. Unacceptable to be where we are at this stage of the build and Voss’ tenure.

Change must happen now.

Also, I’ve been medically retired from supporting Carlton.

Not often that I'd recommend intervention by the Board as these tend to be more destructive than constructive where Carlton is concerned, but if ever there was a time, this is it. There is more than enough talent on this list we should be finishing Top 4 year after year, if not having jagged a flag or two with this group. The sad reality is this team has achieved nothing as a group.

Area 1: Club Management
This includes people such as Greg Williams, Brad Lloyd, The High Performance Manager and Medical Staff. Move them on.

Area 2: Playing List
People cannot tell me that every coach we've had in the last 12 years has been useless. At some point the heat has to go onto the playing group. No one should feel safe. I'd put McKay, Curnow, Walsh, Cerra, Saad, Williams & E.Hollands on the table and let all 17 clubs know that they are available at the right price. You can add TDK to that list if he wants to go as well. You won't be able to trade them all in one hit, but you should be able to move enough of them to put a cat among the pigeons. I'd also be looking to move on dead wood such Lewis Young, Motlop, Evans and Fantasia. I'm sick and tired of the playing group at AFL clubs escaping accountability for poor performance.

Area 3: Coaches
Clear them out completely and start again. No, I don't want Ross Lyon.

Area 4: Culture
Nothing has changed in this regard since the turn of the century. Brian Cook ran successful operations for many years at West Coast and Geelong before ending up at Ikon Park. If Cook couldn't change it then I'm not sure who can or what the answer is.

Area 5: List Management
What is the direction our List Management is taking and what are they trying to achieve. Like every other area of the club they need to come under scrutiny.

If anyone else would like to add to this, feel free.
Agree 1,3,4,5 and
No 2
I believe the players have been allowed to develop bad practices because of the coaches
Injury management has been deplorable not allowing players to be brought back when ready thru the reserves and build there touch
I want a decent system of coaches to accurately assess these players

“They came on in the same old way, and we sent them back in the same old way.” – The Duke of Wellington on defeating the French at Waterloo.

It’s the perfect analogy for where we are under Michael Voss.

Three years in, and we’re still running the same flawed system - a structure that only ever looked convincing during a short-lived purple patch in 2023 that turned out to be a false economy.

Voss lacks tactical acumen, shows no willingness to adapt (ironically, despite his constant talk of growth and self-development), and now it’s painfully clear: he’s lost the playing group.

Change isn’t just necessary … it’s urgent!

Injuries, lack of belief in game plan, been doing same thing for three years without results wears them down.

IMO Voss has pushed them as afar as he can with game plan and they have had enough as it’s not working.

They need a refresh of coaching and system

I still believe we have a lot of ability
I agree Voss has had the best part of 4 years with this group of core players and hasn’t really got the best out of them in my view, unless the second half of 2023 was it. This core group is just not reliable enough anymore or are not responding to Voss - I can’t remember the last time Cripps, Weitering, Curnow, McKay, Cerra, Walsh, TDK, Williams all played well together in the same game.

I’m not confident Voss is going to do any better with this core group in the next 4 years, and who knows what he’ll do with the younger group of players coming through?

“They came on in the same old way, and we sent them back in the same old way.” – The Duke of Wellington on defeating the French at Waterloo.

It’s the perfect analogy for where we are under Michael Voss.

Three years in, and we’re still running the same flawed system - a structure that only ever looked convincing during a short-lived purple patch in 2023 that turned out to be a false economy.

Voss lacks tactical acumen, shows no willingness to adapt (ironically, despite his constant talk of growth and self-development), and now it’s painfully clear: he’s lost the playing group.

Change isn’t just necessary … it’s urgent!

Buckle up …
Vossy’s declared he’s doubling down !!

Best to make it quick and merciful …

Thats when the rot started we were down heaps of injured players but everyone bought in and played as a unit then the MC

That was when the rot truly started
We had many injuries but everyone was
Playing there role as a unit and we were getting the results
We were unpredictable exciting .
The MC and Voss effectively sabotaged our year by bringing in these players and dropping the in form ones and the camaraderie that this unit had worked and built against all odds .
They are truly the ones that need to be cleaned out
Anyone in business will tell you that if u award positions and bonuses to the undeserving over others who are giving their all and picking favourites that’s a sure quick way to destroying your companies culture .
And here we are
After last weeks performance the MC and VOSS bring in PITTO and surprise surprise
They have no idea or Balls

:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
:100::100::100::100::100::100::100::100::100::100::100::100::100::100::100::100::100::100::100::100::100::100:

We're not good. But we're not this bad either.

This is the first time I've said this, but Voss has to go.

Something has to give.

We can't put in a performance like this, amongst the season we've had, without something happening

It seems as though he is losing or has already lost the players.

Really disappointing, particularly in our senior guys.

Cripps - down on form but yesterday was giving pre-Bolton-sacked vs. Essendon vibes. Just did not want to be there and was only interested in doing it all himself. We love, love, love Cripps but I'll say it again - something stinks with his leadership. This will the 3rd coach sacked under his captaincy. No way am I blaming him solely, but you're absolutely dreaming if you don't think the captain - especially one with such a big presence & aura - isn't somewhat responsible for the clear toxicity amongst the group out there yesterday. He has form with it too, just saying. Honestly? I would have a conversation with him about relinquishing the captaincy next year, maybe it's time for a new voice.

Weitering - pretty over this bloke. Is our worst culprit in terms of kicking sideways or long down the line then spraying his teammates when it comes back in. Pretty tired of his injury carry on as well. He has form in going down hurt then coming on sort of looking sore but sort of not. Overall, I think he's just turned into a bit of a sook now. I'll just say this - his role has been limited to just locking down the KPF, that is NOT a #1 pick, $1m salary role. He needs to be more than that. I see many put him on the 'untradeable' list.. not for me.

Curnow - I assume he's more frustrated than anyone. He's the most naturally gifted KPF in the league and the first stint of his career was wasted by injuries, now it's being wasted by a ridiculous game plan. Doesn't excuse the lack of chasing or effort though.

Saad - Might be done. We don't play a game plan that suits him but still, looks as disinterested as anyone. Heard from a good source that he's chasing a 2-year deal, if he doesn't get one he will move on.

Cerra - I know he's a favorite on here and his stats look good this year, but honestly, I just don't see him as anything special. He's supposed to be an elite kick - he's just not. He's not quick, his tackling and defensive stuff looks just ok, but he hasn't got that closing speed that shuts down opposition mids. We gave up pick 6 for him and there's probably 50 better midfielders ahead of him in the league. He looks like he'd be the 3rd-4th best midfielder in all 18 teams.

Docherty - he's done, but not his fault. A competitor never knows when their time is up and he's not immune to that. Thanks for everything.

Acres - sorry but he's genuinely one of the worst players in the league. Apart from a patch in 2023 and another small one in 2024, he's the definition of a list clogger. The worst kick in the league yet plays on a wing. Zero pace, zero creativity. Move him on.

We're in a dire spot, it's flattening.

No small forwards, one-paced midfielders, no elite flankers, no skillful wingers, no depth. Big sigh.

We're not good. But we're not this bad either.

This is the first time I've said this, but Voss has to go.

Something has to give.

We can't put in a performance like this, amongst the season we've had, without something happening

It seems as though he is losing or has already lost the players.

You hearing anything reg ?

Really disappointing, particularly in our senior guys.

Cripps - down on form but yesterday was giving pre-Bolton-sacked vs. Essendon vibes. Just did not want to be there and was only interested in doing it all himself. We love, love, love Cripps but I'll say it again - something stinks with his leadership. This will the 3rd coach sacked under his captaincy. No way am I blaming him solely, but you're absolutely dreaming if you don't think the captain - especially one with such a big presence & aura - isn't somewhat responsible for the clear toxicity amongst the group out there yesterday. He has form with it too, just saying. Honestly? I would have a conversation with him about relinquishing the captaincy next year, maybe it's time for a new voice.

Weitering - pretty over this bloke. Is our worst culprit in terms of kicking sideways or long down the line then spraying his teammates when it comes back in. Pretty tired of his injury carry on as well. He has form in going down hurt then coming on sort of looking sore but sort of not. Overall, I think he's just turned into a bit of a sook now. I'll just say this - his role has been limited to just locking down the KPF, that is NOT a #1 pick, $1m salary role. He needs to be more than that. I see many put him on the 'untradeable' list.. not for me.

Curnow - I assume he's more frustrated than anyone. He's the most naturally gifted KPF in the league and the first stint of his career was wasted by injuries, now it's being wasted by a ridiculous game plan. Doesn't excuse the lack of chasing or effort though.

Saad - Might be done. We don't play a game plan that suits him but still, looks as disinterested as anyone. Heard from a good source that he's chasing a 2-year deal, if he doesn't get one he will move on.

Cerra - I know he's a favorite on here and his stats look good this year, but honestly, I just don't see him as anything special. He's supposed to be an elite kick - he's just not. He's not quick, his tackling and defensive stuff looks just ok, but he hasn't got that closing speed that shuts down opposition mids. We gave up pick 6 for him and there's probably 50 better midfielders ahead of him in the league. He looks like he'd be the 3rd-4th best midfielder in all 18 teams.

Docherty - he's done, but not his fault. A competitor never knows when their time is up and he's not immune to that. Thanks for everything.

Acres - sorry but he's genuinely one of the worst players in the league. Apart from a patch in 2023 and another small one in 2024, he's the definition of a list clogger. The worst kick in the league yet plays on a wing. Zero pace, zero creativity. Move him on.

We're in a dire spot, it's flattening.

No small forwards, one-paced midfielders, no elite flankers, no skillful wingers, no depth. Big sigh.
Trade Acres back to us if you don't want him. Would have him in a heartbeat. Not a great kick but always gives 100%

You also can't try and instill a squad mentality and then tank for a year, but ¯\(ツ)

Finishing last is so we can build a strong core group... you can't do that with rookie and 4th round picks mate...

Besides, the vast majority of the core group we have now won't be there in 2030 anyway...

You think you're clever, what's your strategy?

Let me guess, TDK compo pick for Bergman?

Pick up a few fringe players from other clubs?

Persist with the current crop of pretenders?

Autopsy 2025 Late flourish doesn't mask embarrassment