List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

If he goes to the PSD he almost certainly still gets to Port

"Very likely"- sure.

"Almost certain"- I wouldn't describe it that way at all.
Plenty of uncertainty.

Even if I go with you and agree that it's 'almost certain' he still gets to port... almost certain is a loooong way off certain when you are talking about one of the landing of of the best players in the game.

When the stakes are that high (AND you are staring down the barrel of a rebuild)- you simply don't play it cute in negotiations and try and drive a hard bargain.

Port will stump up a decent trade price for nas if we are willing to be seriously prepared to lose him for nothing in the psd (and don't just use it as an empty threat)

"Very likely"- sure.

"Almost certain"- I wouldn't describe it that way at all.
Plenty of uncertainty.

Even if I go with you and agree that it's 'almost certain' he still gets to port... almost certain is a loooong way off certain when you are talking about one of the landing of of the best players in the game.

When the stakes are that high (AND you are staring down the barrel of a rebuild)- you simply don't play it cute in negotiations and try and drive a hard bargain.

Port will stump up a decent trade price for nas if we are willing to be seriously prepared to lose him for nothing in the psd (and don't just use it as an empty threat)

This is exactly how I feel, it's not even to 'send a message' more than it's about ensuring they pay up.

Not sure this involves squeezing the club for every last cent when he woukd have got a very, very handsome pay rise as it is.

Making it very tricky to keep all “his mates” or bring in other key players in a few years time when we are really pushing ( hopefully) for a flag.

Doubt the manager cares about that though.
The pull to head home would be massive
So, if he stays with us.
That is monumental,
Give him $$$ what his manager wants l say.
Nas happy, manager does his job, family not entirely happy, but the boy makes his choice.

Are we going to be mad as a fan base if this is the hold up

Nas & management want $2m a year over 2 years.

Saints are offering $2m a year over 4+ years OR $1.5m a year over 2 years

Essentially saints just saying you get Bont money if you commit to us long term, not off an 8 week sample
Except that Bont has reportedly just signed for only $1.35mil PA. And Sam Darcy, who could get gazillions from Tassie, has signed beyond their window for what is thought to be less than a mil PA.

I’ve got tickets to the night with nas and steel at the Seaford hotel
Ok new plan.

Get Nas pissed, and then have him sign a IOU 7 years at the Saints on a Beer Coaster. Just make sure it is not a soggy beer coaster as we do not want his signature soaking away....

PS Just make sure it is witnessed.

Essentially saints just saying you get Bont money if you commit to us long term, not off an 8 week sample
I don’t even think I’m mad anymore, just let the club know what you want to do and be done with it. Getting to the point where I’m in the chocolate aisle and I can’t make my mind up what I want (always ends up Whittakers though).

Grain of salt type info but here it is.

Eagles and GC will be swapping picks

GC receive: picks #1 #19 and #30
WC receive: picks #8 #13 and #17
So Gold Coast will get pick 1 and then two gun Academy players in the top 5 that they will match bids on?

Effectively 3 of the top 5 players from the draft. Despite finishing top 8, possibly top 4.

Fair dinkum.

Their success will have zero credibility.

If that happens and GCS take 4 kids in top 15 or so, watch the clubs riot. I think there's a fair amount of tolerance out there, but more and more are coming out and saying, the system needs to be looked at.

Bains on SEN this morning is another who said the system isn't meeting it's aims, laughed that he'd be stupid to denounce F/S because of what they've got.

WC might also believe pick 2 compensation is going to happen, wonder what the AFL would think of that

Just settle buddy and see how it plays out, you are going off half cocked on something that might not even eventuate!

Tours of SA & NT says a lot (ex-Army) thats hardly a work understanding with the indigineous. Plus working in the prisons leaves individuals very bitter and narrow minded with a skewed outlook on the world! Sound familiar...

Everyone is different and have different relationships with family and if you knew anything about the indigenous every tribe/mob have different expectations of the male role models within their family unit.
You're right. I might be completely wrong and he stays. But IF he does say he wants out, then I reckon we're gonna get screwed. And BTW, you can keep your, 'says a lot', like you know wtf is going on, superiority to yourself. Not army. Like I said you have NFI of my history. Champ.

I'm comfortable with that approach.

If he walks with that on the table, then he walks. We've clearly pulled out all the stops with the non-financial stuff, and they're good dollars as well. If that's not enough for him to stay, then there probably wasn't going to be anything to get him to stay.

Great del for GC.

Shit deal for WC.

If WC want to improve they should do a deal with the Tigers . Reid for picks 2 and 3 and maybe their next year's first as well.

Great del for C.

Shit deal for WC.

If WC want to improve the should do a deal with the Tigers . Reid for picks 2 and 3 and maybe their next year's first as well.

Pick 1 now is even more valuable with the academy picks.

The 22 August event seems odd considering its a friday and we don't know when we are playing in Round 24 yet.

Well, it could mean that Steele and Nas are both being traded and are dropped for the last game!

PS: Just joking.

it's a nice thought until you remember we're offering to massively overpay free agents with the money that nas will leave on the table.

Like, "we have a premiership capable team and everyone needs a to take a cut" is very different to "yall need to take a cut so we can overpay TDK by 500k per year"

Throws the whole concept out the window

It absolutely makes everything so much more complicated.

Stupid move by the club.

Bontempelli is turning 30 y.o in November, ffs.
And Darcy is a F/S, please!!!
and a decade as 1 of the best in the game

vs a young guy in his statement year

I agree with Aussie, and I've said it before, I don't like it that the players are seen to be holding out for top dollar vs what we see elsewhere, players staying for unders for success, or some wanting out because they see their role diminished instead of the benefit it brings to the team.

We haven't achieved didly squat, and Melbourne is a clear case where players see themselves as more important than the team

Call this wishful thinking........

Steele 200th this weekend, club captain and been a huge shining light over the journey.

Announcing a re-signing prior to this takes a fair bit of the spotlight from Jack

and a decade as 1 of the best in the game

vs a young guy in his statement year

I agree with Aussie, and I've said it before, I don't like it that the players are seen to be holding out for top dollar vs what we see elsewhere, players staying for unders for success, or some wanting out because they see their role diminished instead of the benefit it brings to the team.

We haven't achieved didly squat, and Melbourne is a clear case where players see themselves as more important than the team
Statement year, yeah right, going that tact are we. Seriously.
And when he goes to Port & wins a premiership & a brownlow, you should both go hide in a corner for the rest of your didly squat lives.
And you're comparing him to nutjob Oliver, ffs.

If that happens and GCS take 4 kids in top 15 or so, watch the clubs riot. I think there's a fair amount of tolerance out there, but more and more are coming out and saying, the system needs to be looked at.

Bains on SEN this morning is another who said the system isn't meeting it's aims, laughed that he'd be stupid to denounce F/S because of what they've got.

WC might also believe pick 2 compensation is going to happen, wonder what the AFL would think of that
That would essentially give the Eagles picks #2, #8 #13 and #17

Not a bad hand to rebuild off.

And that's probably why GC want to do it, their free double dips are likely coming to an end.

I’ve got tickets to the night with nas and steel at the Seaford hotel. I find it really strainge that if he was going to leave he would agree to this kind of qna. It’s bogan central and the people won’t beat around the bush
Last one of those I went to it was Billings and Hanners, we all know how those two ended

I’ve got tickets to the night with nas and steel at the Seaford hotel. I find it really strainge that if he was going to leave he would agree to this kind of qna. It’s bogan central and the people won’t beat around the bush
You do know there are only two questions gonnna be asked?

Great del for GC.

Shit deal for WC.

If WC want to improve they should do a deal with the Tigers . Reid for picks 2 and 3 and maybe their next year's first as well.
In last year's draft yes, not so much in this years.

No clear number 1. And with no WA kids predicted to go first round, taking a bunch of kids/mates who've played together may keep them together over there.

Call this wishful thinking........

Steele 200th this weekend, club captain and been a huge shining light over the journey.

Announcing a re-signing prior to this takes a fair bit of the spotlight from Jack
Steele is such a clubman, he'd be happy to have the limelight off him so we could get a bloody answer.