List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

I'm starting to hate the fact that most successful clubs have their stars sign on for much less than what they could get elsewhere.

Us on the other hand, we offered more than what Hawks did for Battle and he still left. We'll be paying huge money to Nas if he stays, have made TDK the highest paid ruckman in history and Leek Aleer, the 21 game 24 year old is getting a grade wages.

In last year's draft yes, not so much in this years.

No clear number 1. And with no WA kids predicted to go first round, taking a bunch of kids/mates who've played together may keep them together over there.

See the points swapped as noted above by another poster. It is poor deal for WC. Normally in these deals GC loses on the points in order to get higher.

They could do better. Say by having GC add in a player as their list is chockfull. Or by doing a deal with another Club.

So Gold Coast will get pick 1 and then two gun Academy players in the top 5 that they will match bids on?

Effectively 3 of the top 5 players from the draft. Despite finishing top 8, possibly top 4.

Fair dinkum.

Their success will have zero credibility.
If that happens and GCS take 4 kids in top 15 or so, watch the clubs riot. I think there's a fair amount of tolerance out there, but more and more are coming out and saying, the system needs to be looked at.

disregarding how nonsensical the fabricated pick swap being suggested is, please take a look at the new DVI points table before sooking it up. the system has been largely fixed already

there is no way known GC could trade up to pick 1 via pick swaps and still expect to have enough points to match both Uwland and Patterson in the top 5, let alone Addinsall as well

the only way they could do it would be to accrue more top end picks by trading out players with currency (eg King and Flanders) in which case you could argue they have paid a reasonable amount

either that, or they simply rate Duursma over Patterson (as an example) and decide not to take the latter - which is the outcome we wanted in the first place?

Are we going to be mad as a fan base if this is the hold up

Nas & management want $2m a year over 2 years.

Saints are offering $2m a year over 4+ years OR $1.5m a year over 2 years

Essentially saints just saying you get Bont money if you commit to us long term, not off an 8 week sample
I agree with this, if you want the big bucks then you sign up long term, what good is having him taking such a large chunk of our salary cap and is gone in 2 years anyway before we are a real contender for a flag.

Call this wishful thinking........

Steele 200th this weekend, club captain and been a huge shining light over the journey.

Announcing a re-signing prior to this takes a fair bit of the spotlight from Jack
on the flip side they posted about Jack today for game 200 which i thought was odd timing, usually a later in the week job

I agree with this, if you want the big bucks then you sign up long term, what good is having him taking such a large chunk of our salary cap and is gone in 2 years anyway before we are a real contender for a flag.
It also allows 0 flexibility to front or back load it to smooth the cap out for other contracts
At least if its over 4-6 yes its still the same money but you can play around with it

I'm starting to hate the fact that most successful clubs have their stars sign on for much less than what they could get elsewhere.

Us on the other hand, we offered more than what Hawks did for Battle and he still left. We'll be paying huge money to Nas if he stays, have made TDK the highest paid ruckman in history and Leek Aleer, the 21 game 24 year old is getting a grade wages.
Aleer only being kept out of that GWS backline, because it's one of the best in the league.
24y.o with a leap combine record.
He will fit straight into our team & still has untapped potential.
Doesn't always equate but he certainly fills an immediate need & we get Cordy & Howard's salaries off our books.

Statement year, yeah right, going that tact are we. Seriously.
And when he goes to Port & wins a premiership & a brownlow, you should both go hide in a corner for the rest of your didly squat lives.
And you're comparing him to nutjob Oliver, ffs.
yes, NAS has been a very good half-back (probably AA) until mid year, when he started in the midfield, his game went to another level, is he a top 5/10 player atm, not in my eyes, not yet, can he be, absolutely, but as my GrandPa always said, 1 swallow doesnt make a summer. There's a reason Cripps, Bont, Neale, Cameron etc are in that top echelon; they do it year after year. That's Nas's next challenge

If BONT (NOT OLIVER, where did that come from????) can sign for $1.35 x4, then in my eyes, if NAS wants that money, then he needs to commit longer term. we pay over $1.5 x2 then we are setting ourselves up for trouble.

Call this wishful thinking........

Steele 200th this weekend, club captain and been a huge shining light over the journey.

Announcing a re-signing prior to this takes a fair bit of the spotlight from Jack
I can guarantee you the second Nas signs they will announce, this theory that they will wait is insane. Like when people said he's signed but it was Sincs milestone week so they won't announce it

tr8oxkd.gif

With Gawny being sighted at training the other day I wonder if we’ve gone cool in tdk?
Makes sense, trade out Ro, use Gawny and Heath until Doddy comes up to speed.

yes, NAS has been a very good half-back (probably AA) until mid year, when he started in the midfield, his game went to another level, is he a top 5/10 player atm, not in my eyes, not yet, can he be, absolutely, but as my GrandPa always said, 1 swallow doesnt make a summer. There's a reason Cripps, Bont, Neale, Cameron etc are in that top echelon; they do it year after year. That's Nas's next challenge

If BONT (NOT OLIVER, where did that come from????) can sign for $1.35 x4, then in my eyes, if NAS wants that money, then he needs to commit longer term. we pay over $1.5 x2 then we are setting ourselves up for trouble.
You mentioned Melbourne fc as an example of overly paid players not performing up to their standard, since there upgraded payments. I assume you meant Oliver & Patracca.
I don't think Patracca is a whacko, is why l didn't mention him.

Except that Bont has reportedly just signed for only $1.35mil PA. And Sam Darcy, who could get gazillions from Tassie, has signed beyond their window for what is thought to be less than a mil PA.
That's my point though.

Are we going to be upset as a fan base if the hold up is the club's reluctance to pay Nas $2m a year for 2 years for argument sake, and they only want to pay him that $2m if he signs on for longer

disregarding how nonsensical the fabricated pick swap being suggested is, please take a look at the new DVI points table before sooking it up. the system has been largely fixed already

there is no way known GC could trade up to pick 1 via pick swaps and still expect to have enough points to match both Uwland and Patterson in the top 5, let alone Addinsall as well

the only way they could do it would be to accrue more top end picks by trading out players with currency (eg King and Flanders) in which case you could argue they have paid a reasonable amount

either that, or they simply rate Duursma over Patterson (as an example) and decide not to take the latter - which is the outcome we wanted in the first place?
I don't think they have many/any academy kids for next year so may be happy to go into deficit, 4 kids in the top 15, zero clubs would knock back that opportunity, but the changes coming into effect will have a negligible impact on GCS getting all their academy kids.
Wait...so it could affect the academy picks for this year? That would be a riot!
no chance it happens in time for this year, and watch Carlton lobby like crazy against for '26, like they did last year for the Walker twins and Essendon for Kako