List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

Lotta “trust the government (St Kilda), they have our best interests at heart” types floating around here. Yes, I believe we have some competent blokes drinking six lattes per day in the office, but they are absolutely capable of ballsing up this situation. I will rightly pat them on the back if they get the signatures we want, but it will be the opposite if they flop during the most crucial offseason in recent memory.

Goes back to my post about overpaying just a few of our best kids. In years to come Tauru and Dodson will probably demand decent money and others will come for them.
What is the point of drafting and developing these kids to not be able to retain them.
I know as punters we want immediate success, but list managers and the club needs to look, three, four, five years ahead and plan accordingly.
This.
And agree. That’s why if the posts about Windy asking around $850k is correct I think that’s overs - certainly right now.

I agree
31 touches
41 hitouts
Can football
Id save the TDK money for a mid
TDK in the ruck. Dodson up forward with spells in the ruck. Freo work a lot better with Jackson solo ruck though and without Darcy.

But with 23 players, potential ruck rule changes. I can see TDK in the ruck and Dodson forward. Marshall may occupy that space for at least 2026 though.

Lotta “trust the government (St Kilda), they have our best interests at heart” types floating around here. Yes, I believe we have some competent blokes drinking six lattes per day in the office, but they are absolutely capable of ballsing up this situation. I will rightly pat them on the back if they get the signatures we want, but it will be the opposite if they flop during the most crucial offseason in recent memory.
Nobody will be happy if we lose NAZ or Windy, but if we sign them ( and others ( for way overs now, in three years the club will get hammered for Maxing out the SC and Tauru or a Dodson walks.
It easy on a footy forum, I have been doing it for decades🤣

Well uh yeah it’s sports, anything can go wrong at anytime.

Just don’t see the point with people losing their shit over things that haven’t even happened with the current administration.

Most successful clubs have to go through
these periods before they see any reward no? A team like Geelong has been an outlier to prove the rule this century.

Is he playing full back? Thought he’s a more intercepting type, no?
He’s not big enough to play as a key and he’s not an interceptor, he really isn’t much of a footballer.

Everything to do with him is a projection, if he actually comes good and becomes a decent afl player it will be be quite an achievement imo. This is why I’m so annoyed he’s going to cost a decent pick and is getting crazy money, double what gws have offered.

Just had a look at his effort today, barely touched the ball.

Not a single person on here:
  • Knows what our offer to Nas is
  • Knows what our offer to TDK is
  • Knows what our offer to Aleer is
  • Knows what our offer to Windhager is
Some of the melts seem a little premature to say the least

• The keys to Kingston city council, a Chery and tuna sandwich.
  • The offer to GTFO out of Ikon park and away from Voss.
  • The possibility to come to a club where it doesn't matter if you have an opposition or not, you'll be pilloried as a whipping boy in a big pool instead of a small pool.
  • The offer to write a sternly letter word to a previous Essendon player and also put him on marketing material more often.
You're welcome to the answers to the question. I'm kinda annoyed at the tuna sandwich TBH.

• The keys to Kingston city council, a Chery and tuna sandwich.
  • The offer to GTFO out of Ikon park and away from Voss.
  • The possibility to come to a club where it doesn't matter if you have an opposition or not, you'll be pilloried as a whipping boy in a big pool instead of a small pool.
  • The offer to write a sternly letter word to a previous Essendon player and also put him on marketing material more often.
You're welcome to the answers to the question. I'm kinda annoyed at the tuna sandwich TBH.
Does the tuna sandwich have mayo in it? And lots of salt and pepper. Maybe some sweet chilli. That would be acceptable.

Port board now taking the morale high ground saying we are monsters calling him a mummer's boy and that he will get the proper support by Port etc
Watch the toothless Temu filth turn on him when he signs with us.🤣🤣

Fancy those Neanderthal knuckle draggers trying to take the moral high ground for anything.
For a team that is less than 30 years old, they actually think they are relevant in the AFL. They are as relevant as FREO who are an older club.

I come in peace knowing our list is more cooked than yours… but I reckon you guys might be heading for a downward slide with some questionable list calls.

Aren’t you worried SOS is making a few irrational decisions? I saw it first hand at Carlton with the ex-GWS spuds that crippled us – Plowman, Sumner, Lamb, Phillips, Jaksch – and his ego wouldn’t let him admit the mistakes. Feels like it’s happening again with the Saints raiding the Blues (Dow, Stocker, J Carroll and soon TDK).

Seems like he’s letting personal grudges influence decisions too – overpaying for TDK and now risking losing Nasiah. I like TDK’s ceiling, it’s higher than Marshall’s because of age, but his floor is much lower. Marshall still gives you a 7–8/10 most weeks. Nasiah’s ceiling is a genuine 10/10 and his floor is still 7–8/10. Losing him would be massive.

Even if you keep Nasiah, aren’t you worried that when guys like Tauru, Philippou etc come out of contract you might struggle to keep them too? If Nasiah goes, surely SOS’s position becomes pretty shaky.

I come in peace knowing our list is more cooked than yours… but I reckon you guys might be heading for a downward slide with some questionable list calls.

Aren’t you worried SOS is making a few irrational decisions? I saw it first hand at Carlton with the ex-GWS spuds that crippled us – Plowman, Sumner, Lamb, Phillips, Jaksch – and his ego wouldn’t let him admit the mistakes. Feels like it’s happening again with the Saints raiding the Blues (Dow, Stocker, J Carroll and soon TDK).

Seems like he’s letting personal grudges influence decisions too – overpaying for TDK and now risking losing Nasiah. I like TDK’s ceiling, it’s higher than Marshall’s because of age, but his floor is much lower. Marshall still gives you a 7–8/10 most weeks. Nasiah’s ceiling is a genuine 10/10 and his floor is still 7–8/10. Losing him would be massive.

Even if you keep Nasiah, aren’t you worried that when guys like Tauru, Philippou etc come out of contract you might struggle to keep them too? If Nasiah goes, surely SOS’s position becomes pretty shaky.
Stocker would be one of the first picked each week.

Dow has shown a bit but working through an injury.

Carroll speculative but didn’t cost us anything.

TDK have to overpay for to get in. His money isn’t affecting Nas or any of the others.

TDK and Nasiah arent linked. Keeping Nas will come down to whether he is homesick or not. We can afford both.

A big difference between bringing in the players he did at Carlton and who has been brought to St Kida is we've given up basically nothing for those 4 players - Dow who we had to give up anything for and it wasn't very much and everyone else is just player salary. If TDK doesn't work out, it will be costly but Stocker has already shown to be an excellent pick up and if Carroll doesnt survive, we arent out anything for it not working out.

Oh dear, there is 1000 pages of back and forth on this, but I will address a couple of your points
Stocker plays every game from us and gives the team hardness
Doe looked good until injured. Carroll injured all year
TDK is better than anything you got from GWS and your problems started in overpaying the likes of Weitering, Walsh, Curnow, and Mackay ( I left out Cripps as he deserves it) and your current list managers maxed out your SC.
The reason we can crowbar TDK out of Carlton is because we saved our SC. Unlike you spuds and Essendon who apparently the AFL thinks shits rosewater, we don't get annual multiple marquee games even though neither of you have been near a grand final in qtr century so can't attract name players who don't want to play at 1.20 every Sunday for some reason.
As for losing young stars, SOS is trying to make sure he doesn't make the same terrible mistakes your current list managers have done and spend a large % of your cap on 6 players.
That's why the negotiations with NAZ and Windy are taking so long, so in 3, 4 or 5 years when Phillipou, or Tauru comes to us, we can pay them decently when other clubs come for them.
So I hope I have educated you and your ignorance has been allayed. Now off you go back to your own forum with your smooth brained mates.
Copping lectures from a supporter of a club that has been nowhere near it since they got caught cheating.🙄

Nobody knows exactly how much TDK is being paid, except the media 🙄
Nevertheless, the only thing that will affect NAS staying is the pull home - not $$$.

Whatever you think SOS motives are - and a few on this board will agree with you - TDK is a position of need with Marshall 31 next season and the correct age demographic. I’m not judging him on the past 6 weeks or so with you - he’s quite clearly gone and his heart isn’t in it.

I also don’t consider our list to be “cooked.” We’re very, very young with plenty of upside.

Tbh I’d be much more concerned about your club keeping Voss.

Nobody knows exactly how much TDK is being paid, except the media 🙄
Nevertheless, the only thing that will affect NAS staying is the pull home - not $$$.

Whatever you think SOS motives are - and a few on this board will agree with you - TDK is a position of need with Marshall 31 next season and the correct age demographic. I’m not judging him on the past 6 weeks or so with you - he’s quite clearly gone and his heart isn’t in it.

I also don’t consider our list to be “cooked.” We’re very, very young with plenty of upside.

Tbh I’d be much more concerned about your club keeping Voss.
Yeah we are cooked🙄. We were younger than Richmond yesterday.
We have some great young players Good luck Carlton rebuilding with Tassie coming in.