List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

If Marcus Windhager is asking for 850k then we wish him the best and get a first for him in a trade.

Basically telling the comp we have money to burn re TDK has made agents go insane lol

I'd say pay him the money, he's an exceptional player and a future leader.

Media saying we offered him unders, if so this is insane.

Came through our academy, improving every season... you have to wonder why they took the "fortius quo fidelius" off our jumpers

Always conveniently forgotten. Neither have been near a Granny in qtr of a century, Essendon hadn't won a final since 2002 and they continue to get prime time.
Anyway MoFo's I'm off to Kenya to go on Safari, will check in occasionally, make sure you lot have this NAZ and Windy shit sorted by the time I get back or I will hold you all personally responsible.
Enjoy the trip!

Got your safari suit sorted?

Always conveniently forgotten. Neither have been near a Granny in qtr of a century, Essendon hadn't won a final since 2002 and they continue to get prime time.
Anyway MoFo's I'm off to Kenya to go on Safari, will check in occasionally, make sure you lot have this NAZ and Windy shit sorted by the time I get back or I will hold you all personally responsible.
No problems Joffa. NAS for a future second and Windy for a swap of thirds. Should have it done this arvo.
I still expect you to read through the 1750 pages that will be waiting for you upon your return.

Hungover I see.
You will be the first to scream when the SC is maxed in 3 years and Tauru and Phillipou gets poached.
If nothing you are consistent in your misery 🤣🤣
Love you long time sweetheart.

But TDK and Aleer won’t they’ve already put a premium on Windy and Nas. You are a brain dead sheep club cuck though so not sure why I’d expect anything else to be honest.

What do you reckon the footy club would do if Williams said “it’s 2 mill” a year or he’s leaving” reckon we do it? Even if it’s just for two year and he leaves at least the SA clubs will have better assets. Might be worth it

I think if it came out (and it probably would come out) that we lost him due to not paying enough, we would be crucified in the media and by the general fan base considering we have the biggest war chest ever seen. If it came down to it, I think we blink with Nas.

I'm confident TDK will be a great pickup. Earlier in the year he was killing it. Voss is a shocking coach, remember when he started him as sub in the final last year? His dip in form this year clearly coincided with the injury and then being played out of position.

Aleer is a bit more of a concern. He just hasn't really shown anything at the level yet apart from a great spring and spoil. We'd have to be banking on teaching him how to defend which is really concerning. The only way it works is if we give up next to nothing for him in the trade.

I'd say pay him the money, he's an exceptional player and a future leader.

Media saying we offered him unders, if so this is insane.

Came through our academy, improving every season... you have to wonder why they took the "fortius quo fidelius" off our jumpers
Yep - proven improving young player & potential captain with, subject to injury, 150 plus games to go. We lose him for what? Speculative pick?

Round 10 2023 (VFL round 10, don't know if it matches the AFL season)

37 disposals that day

Thanks

So the last 49 games he's been available for selection, he's played seniors. Not once the sub in those 49 games. Sounds like best 23 to me.

I think Windy is relatively comparable to the Perryman/Cumming moves last year

Both best 23 players for GWS. But if you have young kids coming through who you think can fill their roles (Fonti/Angwin) then its fine to let him go if a rival club is willing to pay up

LOC is currently the one being moulded into that really versatile defensive half player. Hastie, Travaglia, Arie, Pou, first round pick, and maybe even Carroll are guys who could also get more opportunities

Unlike the two Giants he isnt a free agent, but if a club comes knocking with a late first rounder then it'd definitely be something to consider imo

For the record, I think his manager is just milking as much money as possible so I think both NWM and Windy stay

Yep - proven improving young player & potential captain with, subject to injury, 150 plus games to go. We lose him for what? Speculative pick?
Negative rant incoming.
Surely surely they can't f*** this up. Made a big fanfare of giving him the number 2, setting him up as a model of the kind of standards and values the club wants to stand for. Now we're lowballing him but offering an average ruckman 1.7mil p.a, bidding for an average back who's not really tall enough to be a KPD and can't get a regular game and on the verge of losing the best player we've had since Roo. Oh jaysus, STKFC is a clusterf***. Oh yeah, our marquee player with an 8 year contract has played 1/3 of possible games in the past three years, can't get on the park and is looking all the world like an injury bust, whilst his brother, selected two picks later, is second on the Coleman list and will kick 60+ this year. Our brand, to quote RTB after Saturday's rubbish, "is a bit all over the shop at the moment." Why TF after 21 rounds is it all over the shop? Serious doubts about Ross Lyon as a coach. Dour, scrappy, poorly skilled would be generous in describing how we play. And now scraping over the line in three consecutive games for wins against shyte opposition which will ensure we finish middle 6, get a shyte fixture next year and by the time all the academy and FS bullshit is out the way, our 'first round' pick will be 13. Again. That WCE loss was just about the last straw for me and it hasn't got much better. Calling therapist.

Does the tuna sandwich have mayo in it? And lots of salt and pepper. Maybe some sweet chilli. That would be acceptable.
Never a short supply of mayo around here.

Reid was a favourite of mine, hopefully Trav comes good but think we will regret not going for Reid

Yes Reid looks like an outperform at present.

And with verry good ball use is the type of player that we sorely need. Like Max Hall he shines in ability to use the ball in a damaging manner.

2024 AFL Draft

8. Tobie Travaglia is on the slow boil. It looks like he will be a good player when he builds his body. But will he be a gun? Too early to say.

10. Alix Tauru Outperform. He just needs to tidy up up his ball use and decision making at times, which is perfectly understandable given the few games he has played. But the rest of his game is absolutely elite for someone his age. Amazing mark, excellent leap. He just reads the play so well and knows how to time his run and jump so very mell for marks or to spoil. He late spoiling where he just gets a fist in when you think he couldn't. Alix is probably the best player with his closing speed and spoiling at the Saints since Max Hudghton.

32. James Barrat started slow, but is looking better of late. He is the youngest player on our list. I have no idea whether he will make it or not ryet.

45. Hugh Boxshall Exceeding his pick level. Has looked very good all season. Just needs to be winning more of the ball. He currently is looking like that he will become a regular first 22 player.

53. Alex Dodson Outperform. For a pick this late Dodson is looking outstanding. As a ruckman if you had used a first rounder on him you would probably still be happy. However it is early days for a young ruck, but the signs are good.

I think that we are all now verry eager to see what Dobson is like after another preseason when he will be that bit stronger, and who knows maybe even a touch taller.

I hope the club gives him a debut game against the Dons. More to give him a taste, so that he will work even harder over a summer.

60. Patrick Said our last and certainly speculative pick has certainly not set the house on fire, and has had a number of injury issues which will have not have helped. He has shown enough at times to show that there is something there.

No Club nails all their picks. Overall I am still ok with our picks as a group. But we really do need Toby to become a good player, and not just a an average one, for me to be happy with our picks.

Certainly IF we had of taken Tauru and Reid we would be beside ourselves just now. Having said that, if you look at most Phantom Drafts most had Tobry around our pick, and Reid later. So it is hard to be negative about the selection process to take Toby where we did.

Doesnt matter who reported it, any news that Windhaller isn't seen as best 22 is a big story.
I'm dubious about Hardie's journalism.
Have we seen that stated anywhere else? Not that I have seen.

He also said that Nas had signed about 4 weeks ago....that was clearly incorrect.

In any world I can't see TDK being an upgrade on Marshall.

Not even the world of 2027/28? When we will hopefully be in full finals mode.

The Club's list strategy is clearly to try and build a list that can be contending from 2027 on.

At the end of this trade season after all the trades, picks and players going are known, we will have a much better idea of whether that is looking realistic or not.

Nas going (and what value we then get for him), or not going, will be a key part of that assessment.

Not even the world of 2027/28? When we will hopefully be in full finals mode.

The Club's list strategy is clearly to try and build a list that can be contending from 2027 on.

At the end of this trade season after all the trades, picks and players going are known, we will have a much better idea of whether that is looking realistic or not.

Nas going (and what value we then get for him), or not going, will be a key part of that assessment.

Stanley is still running around and doing 2 minute OMO adds too at quarter time... what an Adonis. He's 34, Roma will be two years younger than him in 2027/28.

I'd honestly rather spend the money on keeping our talent, rather than have it walk out the door like it did last year.

I think Windy is relatively comparable to the Perryman/Cumming moves last year

Both best 23 players for GWS. But if you have young kids coming through who you think can fill their roles (Fonti/Angwin) then its fine to let him go if a rival club is willing to pay up

LOC is currently the one being moulded into that really versatile defensive half player. Hastie, Travaglia, Arie, Pou, first round pick, and maybe even Carroll are guys who could also get more opportunities

Unlike the two Giants he isnt a free agent, but if a club comes knocking with a late first rounder then it'd definitely be something to consider imo

For the record, I think his manager is just milking as much money as possible so I think both NWM and Windy stay
Windy is younger than LOC and a much, much better footballer. Coaches votes in 5 games this year which is behind only NWM (13), Sinclair (7) and Marshall (6). Two of those will probably not be with us next year and the other will be 31. He is an absolute must-keep. Moving him on for a late first would be horrendous and sets us back further

LOC must be close to being delisted but having Armstrong here might save him. He is brave but offers zero offensively and until he can improve that part of his game he will be a year-to-year proposition