List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

With Webster retiring and Stocker being shakey this past month, we need to find another option as a lock down small defender.

Not an area to spend big on but something we need to address or it could leave us vulnerable against the best teams next year
Hastie? LOC?
Could they fit the bill?

Only if we have a replacement down there, i wouldn't be surprised to see Keeler train with the defenders, you can't fit all of King, Dodson, Marshall if he stays as well as Sharman you become too tall & then add Caminiti we would be to slow.
If king is healthy with Marshall forward I would like to see Keeler back as well. Not because I think he can’t make it as a forward, I just don’t want to see him languishing in the VFL trying to develop as a forward.

He is a beautiful kick of the footy, can handball and has an ability to provide a bit of bounce from the back half which Hammer doesn’t provide us.

Thats exactly why we should stay away from Ryan, he is contracted and WCE want high draft picks which he is not worth! Ryan is the type of player you chase if you finish top 4 and need that bit extra to go the next step, we are not in that position. Use our early draft pick at the draft and if we desparately want a small forward snap up Dovaston he is the future.
This is a media nuffies take so we can cool our jets on thinking a first is the asking price.

Not high on Dovaston myself. Only average speed, not a great contested player and looks to have iffy ball use from what I saw at the champs. Our list has too many smalls and flankers who either struggle or not willing to win a contest. Smalls with speed and good ground contest win free kicks and get easy shots on goals. All except for Jack Higgins anyway.

What does the article say?

Pinched from the eagles board.

Not much to it

Has is sending Ryan plus our Hawthorn R1 pick to the Saints for their R1 pick

Then draft Duursma and CDT with our first two picks and Lindsay with the Saints pick which overlooks the probability he doesn’t last till then

He also thinks Erasmus should stay at Freo and we should chase O’Driscoll

Values Ryan as a pick 33

I was just going by the headline. If that is what the article says, it is not as bad as first thought. I'd rather we don't involve our FRDP from this year, though.
I’d rather just trade Heath (if Rowan stays) and give them the pick.

With Webster retiring and Stocker being shakey this past month, we need to find another option as a lock down small defender.

Not an area to spend big on but something we need to address or it could leave us vulnerable against the best teams next year
Yep , i love how Stocker goes about it and how he never takes a step backwards but on a smaller more nimble player he is gone , he doesn't have enough speed or mobility and he is not a Danial Rich that hits you on the chest from 60 mtrs way running out of the backline
Having a classy small back who can break the likes is a bit underrated at times , the old days of shoving the average bloke to the back pocket are gone

I haven’t slagged caminiti at all.

By measure of caminitis development - those saying Aleer isn’t a good pick up should take pleasure seeing what we could do with Anthony - who Ross has said they see him as a forward.
Anthony is very formal , shall we call you Stavranous from now on :tearsofjoy:

Yep , i love how Stocker goes about and how he never takes a step backwards but on a smaller more nimble player he is gone , he doesn't have enough speed or mobility and he is not a Danial Rich that hits you on the chest from 60 mtrs way running out of the backline
Having a classy small back who can break the likes is a bit underrated at times , the old days of shoving the average bloke to the back pocket are gone
Can Fincher play that role?
Or Clark?

As much as I have a soft spot for Moose, I just can't see him having a place on the list if Ro stays with TDK, Dodson and Keeler there as well.
Probably a call to make at the end of next year if we're afforded the luxury.
Moose may well want opportunities but he's still tracking as a reserves player. Dodzilla is about right to transition in as Marshall declines so for now we'd want to hang on to them all.

If we retain our first + NAS becoming a pure mid.

Josh Lindsay is a very interesting prospect.
I'd love Lindsay, it'll be interesting to see where he falls. You'd think the Tigers would be mad not to pick him up, as he's a real need for them, but if he goes past their picks you'd say that Essendon probably have a lot of his type, and that they probably go a mid and a tall forward. Then you have GCs Port pick, which could go anywhere.

Not factoring in FS and NGAs, it could play out like:

WC: CDT

WC (Allen compo): Duursma

Tigers: Sharp

Tigers (tied to North): Marsh

Ess: Greeves

Ess (tied to Melb): Schubert

GC/Port/Who knows: ???

Stk: Lindsay

You'd say that one of Lindsay, Cumming, Grlj, Greeves or Phillipou would be available at our pick if we go small. Personally I'd want Lindsay the most of them, but who knows

God man , its a joke , i was just try in make your name longer
Tony - Anthony
Stavro - Stavranous , you know like a Rhino on two legs, or something similar
Yes mate. I know it was a joke.

But It looked more like you were calling me a Pokemon and that I had evolved.

Probably a call to make at the end of next year if we're afforded the luxury.
Moose may well want opportunities but he's still tracking as a reserves player. Dodzilla is about right to transition in as Marshall declines so for now we'd want to hang on to them all.
Can we really afford to keep him another year , IMO we cant , set him free as i doubt he ever makes it as a number 1 ruck at any AFL team
Maybe he would be happy playing in the VFL for us , i doubt it though

I'd love Lindsay, it'll be interesting to see where he falls. You'd think the Tigers would be mad not to pick him up, as he's a real need for them, but if he goes past their picks you'd say that Essendon probably have a lot of his type, and that they probably go a mid and a tall forward. Then you have GCs Port pick, which could go anywhere.

Not factoring in FS and NGAs, it could play out like:

WC: CDT

WC (Allen compo): Duursma

Tigers: Sharp

Tigers (tied to North): Marsh

Ess: Greeves

Ess (tied to Melb): Schubert

GC/Port/Who knows: ???

Stk: Lindsay

You'd say that one of Lindsay, Cumming, Grlj, Greeves or Phillipou would be available at our pick if we go small. Personally I'd want Lindsay the most of them, but who knows
Lindsay is a plug and play prospect, but Pou2 probably more likely to become a game winner. Good news is that we're in the upper talent pool and will get a good'n.

Give me both.

I still think Steele is the one who we should be moving on.

If Dalrymple thought Murphy Reid was too slow he needs to go and have a look at the goal he just kicked against the Bulldogs. Travaglia might become a decent player but Reid is already more advanced than most other kids playing the game. Just dumb recruiting in my view when the kid was under our eyes 24/7.

Dalrymple preaches that recruiters need to avoid looking for traits in players similiar to themselves, but I reckon thats exactly what he did when he chose Travaglia.

I suspect Reid might have had quite unimpressive test numbers in terms of doing sprints in a gymnasium but all you need to do is watch him play footy to see that he makes up for any lack of top speed with a great footy mind, agility and balance. He reads the game beautifully, makes quick decisions and uses the ball well.

After the "big 7" mids were gone, I thought he was a no-brainer to take alongside Tauru.