List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

If Marshall and/or Steele go. You watch people try sell it as just that.
I think weve shown that we truly dont give a flying **** about the cobblers and the chooks at this point.

Saints first and no apologies asked for.

Low key love it

Battle meant we dropped down the ladder this year, sure, but this was never going to be a year where we would genuinely contend

Our net gain for him and maybe 2 spots on the ladder this year is Tauru (with the draft pick) & JSOS (with the salary space)

JSOS when fit can cover for Battle imo

Dropping back means we had to then pay more to attract talent in. If you can show momentum you attract players for less. At a minimum it's pressured the whole plan to bring in ready made talent by forcing us to pay overs which has had a domino effect on current players wanting more.

We had a really good back 6 last year. We have topped it up but we are yet to see how much it improves yet. There are no bad moves if you get a good result. History forgets the stuff ups if you are successful. Hopefully this gamble pays off.

Viking has shown all the attributes that he will be a very special player.

Tauru will be a gun without question. Had an epic year for an 18 year old (still 18) with no pre season or early year hitouts.

He will be ragdolling (done it already this year) blokes left and right whilist owning the air in no time.

If Marshall and/or Steele go. You watch people try sell it as just that.
Could it be that Wilkie is annoyed his best mate Jack is being replaced by a 'mystery' mid who is still playing finals? And cannot understand why we would go with a 33-year-old to replace a captain who, in his mind, is like for like?

Outside of something like this, I can't understand why the constant news is being seen as strategic and important to improving the team?

If Lachie Neale is a chance, he would be tremendous for standards and leadership, which we lack in spades.

Why are they worth a lot more? My point was that they costed the same as Battle - except one extra list spot which I don't see as an issue

I'd argue we get a positive return from that deal if we start making finals and our defence returns to being one of the best in the comp. I don't think its a case of player X is better than player Y. If the team as a whole sees finals success over the next few years then we won't be looking back

Battle looked a like a player built for finals so far at the Hawks. It was messy bit of list management and hard to justify unless we end up with Tauru as an absolute star and the club making regular finals over the next few seasons.

Heaps wanted to let Battle go because he was going to be on $900k and are now justifying the wages of JSOS and Aleer along with TDK, it's a bit bizarre to be honest.

Just a wondering from me

Could it be that Wilkie is annoyed his best mate Jack is being replaced by a ,ystery mid who is still playing finals? And cannot underatnd why we would go with a 32 year old to replace a captain..?

Outside of something like this I can't underatnd why the constant news about being disgrnutled becasue cuurentlym the aq
The constant news exists because the geniuses in the media and socials have realised that trade news gets more clicks and discussion than the actual ****ing finals of this sport. We're meant to have a prelim, brownlow and GF left but all i hear about from the media is Zac Merrett and Sam Mitchells missus.

Its the American and European soccer blueprint that we have well and truly adapted now. Most of our players are on holiday and relaxing in the month off they have and 100% thinking less about footy than we are, atleast for a bit

Like Windhager was chilling in New Zealand this week but a lot of this discussion board was still freaking out that he didn't sign even though there's no rush whatsoever to do so and we had multiple sources from Tony to Ollie Geale confirming that he wasn't going anywhere.

Just a wondering from me

Could it be that Wilkie is annoyed his best mate Jack is being replaced by a ,ystery mid who is still playing finals? And cannot underatnd why we would go with a 32 year old to replace a captain..?

Outside of something like this I can't underatnd why the constant news about being disgrnutled becasue cuurentlym the aq

Could it be that Wilkie is annoyed his best mate Jack is being replaced by a 'mystery' mid who is still playing finals? And cannot understand why we would go with a 33-year-old to replace a captain who, in his mind, is like for like?

Outside of something like this, I can't understand why the constant news is being seen as strategic and important to improving the team?

If Lachie Neale is a chance, he would be tremendous for standards and leadership, which we lack in spades.
No idea.

Players aren’t stupid. They understand the nature of the beast of the business is that your career is limited.

Just on Wilkie, its not common, but he needs to go to his manager and give him the boot.

They are the one's who mismanaged his contract, not us. I'd go to Wilkes and say I'll pay you overs for the two years on top of the current two but only once you fire your agent so he gets zero commission.
I think its one of those weird situations where no one really did anything wrong.

I dont think we drastically underpaid him when we gave him that contract and i dont think hes necesarily wrong for feeling a little aggreived that hes being underpaid now (on market rate, dont @ me).

The player market right now is just ****ed. Everyone is getting overs and movement is gonna be expected in some instances. We should keep Wilkie happy but its gotta be a compromise from him too.

Interesting Melbourne saying priority is youth and May encouraged to look elsewhere. Suggests a “refresh”/“reset”/other wank term to acknowledge they’re probably going back to go forward again.

The only way is up at Moorabbin Mr Flanders. Strap yourself in
I can understand Flanders going to Melbourne over us as he already has a relationship with the new coach. We think we are on a better path than Melbourne but we have shown nothing yet except a propensity for high risk endeavours.

Don't get me wrong I am pleased we are going down this high risk path as I could see no future in the dual narrative. But, let's not pretend that it couldn't all go **** up and we end up worse than we are now.

I think its one of those weird situations where no one really did anything wrong.

I dont think we drastically underpaid him when we gave him that contract and i dont think hes necesarily wrong for feeling a little aggreived that hes being underpaid now (on market rate, dont @ me).

The player market right now is just ****ed. Everyone is getting overs and movement is gonna be expected in some instances. We should keep Wilkie happy but its gotta be a compromise from him too.
Look after him AFTER his current contract is up. Can't be setting a Essendon style precedent.