List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Re- this Windy stuff. look, I like the kid. I really do...but i see Wilson as a better long term wingman, travaglia as a better long term half back/mid. boxshall and Garcia as better inside mids...if there is genuinely one player that has currency to be traded, it's him

in fact, boxshall can also play wing, is a better kick, better mark, better tackler and has more pace

When you’re looking at TDK in Marshall out that’s a push and we’ve bought a pick.

If that pick somehow becomes Flanders you’ve improved but added $1.5 million to the cap and you're back to square one if Windhager walks.

Silvagni is a good pick up on good money so that’s a win.

Ryan on good money is another win depending on the pick.

Aleer if I’m kind is a project who probably replaces Howard long term or is an expensive back up.

None of this really moves the needle much there has to be more to this or it’s much ado about nothing imo.

There aren’t any gauranteed plans if there were everyone would be doing it. We have some unusual circumstances like Tassie entering the comp that have forced our hand. We’ve been very smart with the cap and our contracts to put together a war chest.

There has to be a part two to all this and that’s the part that will determine if we’ve put together a finals side or just made a lot of noise and spent a lot of money.

I’m concerned if part two is underwhelming we’ll have blown another list build, remember the Bulldogs missed with 14 wins and a percentage of 137.
So TDK & Flanders for Marshall is good ... tick .... yes we have splurged but its money we had to use
If we lose Windy ... we will get something in return .... you forgot to mention this

Silvagni ... you said a win

Ryan ... you said a win

Aleer .... 50/50

So all good so far .... mostly wins everywhere incl a pick for Windy

But then you say ... the needle wont move

So are we winning? .... or losing?

Cause you seem to say we have done well ... but then say we havent

If you don’t know when the club tried to negotiate with Windy. You don’t know what the original offer was.
Why would the offer have started at 4, gone down to 2, then back to 4? That makes no sense.

The club could've put multiple offer sheets- 2 or 4. Like they did with Nas.

If that was the case it wouldn't have been reported as 2.

The fact we have gone from 2 to 4 years evidently suggests the issue was never YEARS. it’s always been about the money.
A non-sequitur if ever I heard one.

And no playing every game since debuting doesn’t make you a proven commodity.
It means you've proven yourself capable of sustainably and consistently making the grade.

That’s the very definition of not being a proven commodity.
No, it just means people have differing opinions about players.

Some people think TDK is a superstar ruck.

Others wonder why, if that's the case, his maximum coaches votes in a season has been 31.

No different. It doesn't mean TDK isn't a proven AFL player.

Is that what this attempt is? Have we not hit the draft.
Will we hit the draft this year? That seems to be in question?

Have we not just landed 2 via FA. Have we not just had 2 nominate or about to nominate us with another 1-2 coming?
We've overpaid for players is what it appears. That worries me more than it excites me.

If you know so much about the cap.
I've had a look through the CBA, which is more than many cheerleading here.

when the club was adamant it wasn’t risking its future.
this is the same club who took on Hill, Wood and Macrae with 3 year deals last year then offered Windy 2.

They do not fill me with confidence.

I couldn't care less about false bravado from list managers. I've been following free-agency driven sport a long time- longer than most here is my guess.

Now you find out we are an additional $2m better off than your best guesstimates.
I'm not sure about that.

It's possible we have more in 2026 and 2027 than I realised- but we're signing TDK until 2033. Again, worried more than excited right now.

Can you please clarify where the Dali Lama quote ends? Is he a saints supporter?

I’m not sure but I hear he’s just tweeted that the Saints would be mad to lose Windy.
The Dali Lama, being a new convert to our game and to our team, has now received a visit from our Big Footy ambassador.

They are currently completing the first of two solid weeks of study with day 3 of advanced Dunstanomics. Next week will kick off with the case study into recruiting failures, “Ethan Phillips ignored; what the hell were we thinking?”.

iK9eUPB.jpeg

Billings never improved after 22 .... Gresham never did .... plenty peak young and never kick on
Yea some players don’t.

Although not all have the windy arc or improving bit by bit every year. Gresham also had a rediculous horrific injury (Achilles) was never the same.

Billings never got the best also serious injuries.

****ing hell, when did Jack Silvagni become a star and people will buy memberships to go and watch him?
He’s the only father son on our list!

I was tossing up whether to go with bird in the hand or grass isn't greener but it seems I've done both in my first sentence.

I wrote the below at the conclusion of the preseason. Most poignant part of this was the last bit imo, 'he's got a great chance to cement his spot'. Does that not show the massive improvement based on where he began the season.

Someone who I see as a similar player to Hugo is Marcus Windhager. I remember screaming at the coaching staff for having him in the 2s a couple of years ago. He was there to hone his midfield craft and improve his running patterns. I fear he continues to get a little bit lost out there. As I type this I realise perhaps it's why his best performances seem to be those run with roles he has had. He hasnt really cleaned up his short kicking as much as I would've hoped - as I said at times he seems to lose his way a bit out there. I was actually surprised that he was selected on the field for round one but I'm super happy for him. He always trains hard, is in incredible shape, if he can clean up those few things he's got a great chance to cement his spot.

His kicking is now passable, it has improved immeasurably since last year. I'm going to argue that he's only behind Nas as our most improved player for the year.

His numbers have been fantastic over the last couple of months. He doesn't cost anything in terms of trade, he's a popular member of this young group we have coming up.

Also, weren't we told the guy who was tweeting about the $50k difference was someone we should listen to when speaking about Nas rumours? I am trying to figure out why we shouldn't be paying more attention to him now. $50k, for a footy player, its chicken feed really. I'm thinking he stays, just playing the Nas game and milking as much as he can whilst always staying.

It's clickbait, listen to the full clip: https://www.3aw.com.au/will-st-kildas-player-investment-payoff-in-2026/

He's calling us disruptors, he's saying we're taking a risk.

He's saying other clubs are gonna have to up their offers to their elite players because of it.

It's nothing really new or interesting imo. But it's a good headline
He’s past it is Lethal
Says fck all that’s actually interesting
Pop the dentures in some water Leigh and call it a day mate you’ve had a good run
And you’re still a sniper for what you did to Bruns

Hope Flanders plays a better Q clash than what he served up last night

Haven't seem much of him in crunch games, but looked a bit of a squib
Davies Anderson and Rowell were there main mids the other night. Touk played a lot forward even. If you think Flanders had the opportunity to thrive as a mid the other night and just didn't perform you were watching a different game.

When people stop responding to my posts with the comprehension and logic skills of an 8 year old, and when people stop cheerleading the club management like teen girls at a Jonas brothers concert...

Then I'll stop quoting them line-by-line 👍
I'm just giving your dribble what it deserves 😂 and will continue to when I see it 😇

When people stop responding to my posts with the comprehension and logic skills of an 8 year old, and when people stop cheerleading the club management like teen girls at a Jonas brothers concert...

Then I'll stop quoting them line-by-line 👍
So what moves would like to see the club do this offseason to improve our side?

Why would the offer have started at 4, gone down to 2, then back to 4? That makes no sense.

The club could've put multiple offer sheets- 2 or 4. Like they did with Nas.

If that was the case it wouldn't have been reported as 2.

A non-sequitur if ever I heard one.

It means you've proven yourself capable of sustainably and consistently making the grade.

No, it just means people have differing opinions about players.

Some people think TDK is a superstar ruck.

Others wonder why, if that's the case, his maximum coaches votes in a season has been 31.

No different. It doesn't mean TDK isn't a proven AFL player.

Will we hit the draft this year? That seems to be in question?

We've overpaid for players is what it appears. That worries me more than it excites me.

I've had a look through the CBA, which is more than many cheerleading here.

this is the same club who took on Hill, Wood and Macrae with 3 year deals last year then offered Windy 2.

They do not fill me with confidence.

I couldn't care less about false bravado from list managers. I've been following free-agency driven sport a long time- longer than most here is my guess.

I'm not sure about that.

It's possible we have more in 2026 and 2027 than I realised- but we're signing TDK until 2033. Again, worried more than excited right now.
im sorry that happened to you

Ignore the stupid comparison Morris made and just enjoy listening to Hird & Bartel spit facts

Surely we have to do both.

We have plenty of players selected in the first round of the draft. Well get a free hit at an NGA and probably have a first round selection.

We need to be competitive asap

So what moves would like to see the club do this offseason to improve our side?
There's about 700 players in the comp, including over 100 free agents this year.

There are literally hundreds of players we could target via free agency or trade.

But as a starting point, I don't mind the approach of trading for younger players.

Try to find the next Jack Steele, Tim Membrey or Jack Higgins. Those were some of the best deals St Kilda's done. (Technically Membrey wasn't even a deal- Sydney were happy to delist so we could get him).

That has worked for St Kilda. Identify players who are 2, 3 years into their careers, convince them to request a trade, and trade for them without giving up a top pick.

All made real impact within a year or two and ended up being good long-term players for the Saints.

I get that Wilkie and Sinclair are getting older. But I'd still prefer a longer-term approach. Trying to find the next Higgins who might play 250 games for St Kilda. Rather than a Liam Ryan who, as a best case scenario, might be a quality player for 4 or 5 years and play 80-100 games.

And it may be harder with a weaker and more compromised draft this year. However, one way around that is trading future picks. Or trading players who Lyon may not favour.