List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Speaking of David Armitage, was thinking about this the other day.

He was literally a one-season wonder at the elite level.

That 2015 year was incredible, but aside from that, was only really a solid citizen

The gap between that season and his next best, is very large.

Which other players, either at St Kilda or elsewhere, fits that mould?
Jobe Watson 2012:moustache:

He'll be the Tassie coach. More money with less pressure.

Reckon Tassie would be shit. Just talking a wage to teach children. I'd rather Melbourne. There is an assumption that they are on the downward spiral but they've actually taken some fantastic kids in the last few years.

Harvey Langford was classed in the top 5 first year players of all time by champion data. Ahead of Naicos.

Bowie, Windsor, Spargo, Rivers, Lindsay, Pickett, Jefferson etc all young and have more to give. Even Van Rooyen and Bailey Laurie are under utilised. Petracca, Gawn and Oliver all close to moving on or the end but a quick clean up refresh and they could be a short sharp down period.

Windy very under rated on here. Will be very bad if we lose him

We're trying to win a flag within the next 3 years.

If we are keeping steele and macrae- we are well stocked for best 22 players who play like windy does in the next 3 years.

We're not throwing him out the door- but it's smart of us to offer him 4 years on (presumably) good but not amazing money.

Also- surely we will now see caminiti and tauru permanent fwds with aleer and jsos in (and howard in theory fit).

Yeh im certainly not saying weve ignored the traditional rebuild, weve clearly done that for the core but with all the targets were looking at mass change this year.

If (and its a big if) we get all the realistic targets then its TDK, Aleer, JSOS, Ryan, C-Mac and Flanders. Thats 6, thats 1/3rd of our starting 18.

Throw in that Pou and King should be back and thats 8 guys who likely played a big of footy this year back to the twos.

The concerns would be guys like Boxxy, Garcia, Collard etc. up and leaving at seasons end.

Now that might be okay, all the imports are good but you have to question how much of our drafting was a waste if were just gonna supplant them with trades/FA's.

Ive always thought Trades/FA's were supposed to compliment what you draft, were going away from that model a bit.

I heard the strategy guy from SEN saying that we are one of the best sides in footy for turning inside 50s into goals.....but we are down the towards the bottom for bringing the ball inside 50.

We went from one of the best sides in the AFL for turning defence into attack last year to being poor this year. Nearly certainly Battle going and Nas moving up the field more I imagine.

****ing shameless
Seriously f*** them. Members and cash coming out their arse, 11 games a year in front of a 99% home crowd in their brand new 60,000 seat stadium. Proven umpire favouritism with the "noise of affirmation" and the very first time they're total shit - through their own rubbish list management - they've got their hands out like entitled little twats instead of sucking it up and working their way out of it. OMG they can go and get f*****. If the AFL pony up some assistance instead of doing the right thing and saying, "Nah, suck it up and work it out yourselves", I will spew buckets. Which I know will make absolutely zero difference, but nevertheless........

He curls one through the big sticks from about 40m out off his non preferred in one of his highlight reels I watched on X. Not sure if this one or not.

We all know he can leap (and fight) but his football skills are exquisite, and he is very quick.

I think he is going to be fun to watch for many and infuriating for a few.

But regardless of how he rubs you up, he will impact the scoreboard for us next year if he stays on the park.

3 more goals per game from Ryan and King and more opportunity from increased midfield dominance and we probably win 4 more games. Hopefully an easier draw too.

I thought Marshall's deal was heavily front loaded?

If that's the case he wouldn't be freezing up 950k next year
Then we need to get a good trade deal.

I know this will get laughed at but if Geelong want Marshall I'd be asking for their current and future firsts. Both probably end up in the 20s anyway. If it's one 20s pick I'd rather keep him.
correct

id take pick 25
he is NOT worth two firsts