List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

I like the sound of Jack Voss and some players mature later than others ( Wilkie a prime example), but would caution going purely off VFL form.
Have seen many players absolutely kill it at VFL and can't compete at AFL level. Saw a game where Bytel looked like Bont, Cripps and Dangerfield combined, but when in the seniors struggled. That's just one example.
Stocker gets a gig for a reason. Hard at the pill, reads the play well, tough as they come. Reckon he improves as the backline improves as well.
Get your point
Geelong fc have done very well with recruiting Vfl mature age recruits

Regarding Hawthorn, I've gone through their trade board and have seen this. The poster in question seems to be very respected as an ITK there and by all accounts, is involved with the club in some capacity.

IF this is true, than Cam Mckenzie surely must be an option that they're willing to part with in order to even go more all in than us. The likely candidates seem to be Trac and Zac

Edit* Apologies to the mods, i didnt know about not having names in the post.

View attachment 2422109
He reckons they're going to get two of Trac, Walsh, Merrett and Butters?

**** me, might be time for the saints to set up a daycare centre.

Martin is going to miss most if not all of next year.

Draper is going.

Ridley and Merrett want out

Impossible to accept anything but a full scorched earth rebuild.
According to Lore's spreadsheet above Essendon have 4 and 5. A compo for Draper would be 6, GC would then have 7 then they would have 8 and 9

So 4, 5, 6, 8, 9 moving out to 5, 6, 7, 9, 10 if WC get a band 1 for Allen.

5,6,7, 9, 10, then 22 and 25 which may blow out but 5 top 10 picks even in a supposed weak and compromised draft would be an excellent way to start a full rebuild before Tassie come in.

Spud's game should be just a fan thing. Do the ceremonial stuff before the players come out. The players can do media during the week to promote/honour Spud and after the game but they shouldn't be part of the pre game match day events. Spud himself would say there is a game to be won so concentrate all your energy both physical and mental on that.
Mental Health round.
That’s all it has to be. We all know it came into being because of Spuds battle. Don’t have to make it a memorial for him every year.

Just talking to my player manager mate and he said Merrett has told Hawks today he wants to play for them, his management will now quietly try to convince Bombers to let him go. May open up the CMac possibility if Essendon relent. Will be an interesting watch.
Prefer him to stay at the Don than go to the Family Planning Club.

I hate the idea of turning Marshall into Flanders straight up. Flanders is a dime-a-dozen mid and would only be traded because he's surplus to requirements. Marshall is elite, has been for more than 1 season, and (if the rumours are true) wants out because of his ego, he doesnt want to play second fiddle to TDK.

Ego is harsh. There can only be one first choice ruck and he’s earned the right to be one.

Absolutely do not want Flanders, I want Travaglia streaming off the half back line in 2026, replacing Naz as he moves full time into the midfield. I think Trav has an early break-out year as an attacking half-back that is working on his defensive game.

Get me Cmac!

If Merrett goes to Hawks, which looks like its better than a 50/50 chance, then the untapped potential of CMac sounds super enticing.

Surely as a 21 year old, Cam doesn't want to go further back in the pecking order at Hawks.
You would think they’d need to make the trade if only to gain the capital to give to Essendon