List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Let me just start this with, I love Wilkie and I think he's one of the best additions we have ever had.... so please understand my preference is to keep him as he is clear captain material and has been an absolute general for us in the back line over the last few years....

BUT......

the likely addition of JSOS and Aleer (different experiences, skills sets all that) feels a lot like we are overly strong in that specific role / skill set / position.

So I wouldn't be surprised if there isn't some legs to this rumour (looking at the whole chess board)

And at a personal level at his age (he's only f-ing 30ish) that kind of money does set you up for life (and this is their job don't forget) so lets see.

Heart wants to keep him, head says if there are any legs to the kind of deals on offer, this might be the "painful choice" we have been warned about......

anyone even mentioning steven may in relation to st kilda needs to report to kumon immediately

You are the one claiming people were 'happy', my man, not me and you might be able to find one or two 'happy' but that's not an accurate reflection and there is 0% chance you will find many.

I saw plenty of posters that were willing to let him go if there was a huge gap in what the club valued him and what he wanted. Including myself. That doesn't mean they were happy for him to go. I would have been extremely disappointed if he left. But if he had left for big money, it wouldn't have been the end of the world, like if Nas or Wilkie left.

That was literally the most common argument other than 'he must stay or the club will implode'. Claiming otherwise is a lack of comprehension.

Come on man. You nutters were on one thread talking up the genius of paying $millions to TDK and Aleer then sooking it up and wanting him frog marched for wanting an extra couple of years and a couple of hundred thousand. To cope you all bagged his output and wrote off any future growth.

All opinions are valid but at least own your shit. Maybe you're actually the negative one after all and you just can't admit it to yourself.

Let me just start this with, I love Wilkie and I think he's one of the best additions we have ever had.... so please understand my preference is to keep him as he is clear captain material and has been an absolute general for us in the back line over the last few years....

BUT......

the likely addition of JSOS and Aleer (different experiences, skills sets all that) feels a lot like we are overly strong in that specific role / skill set / position.

So I wouldn't be surprised if there isn't some legs to this rumour (looking at the whole chess board)

And at a personal level at his age (he's only f-ing 30ish) that kind of money does set you up for life (and this is their job don't forget) so lets see.

Heart wants to keep him, head says if there are any legs to the kind of deals on offer, this might be the "painful choice" we have been warned about......
Bulldogs definately want Wilkie
Yes, you would think the money & security offer is inticing for Wilkes
But
Wilkie has allegedly said to RTB that he doesnt want to leave & he's under contract till the end of 2027 anyway.
And the biggest hurdle for the Bulldogs is to give us anything of benefit, as they are almost certainly not going to give us any of their stars,
E.g. bont, darcy, richards.
But,
if they do?

I dont reckon its far off TBH, i think the personel is all there we just need them to continue to develop and define their roles.

Its all really well balanced with good defensive pressure players and spread, ball winners and run and carry. Weve even got an out and out boneafide Star in NAS (and potentially another with Pou).

Realistically Garcia, Phillipou, Wilson and Boxshall types need to get up around 100 games to be really solid reliable 25 game a year players. At their age and level of experience it's a lot to expect them to perform at absolute top level every week and carry the bulk of the midfield load.

Macrae, Steele, Dow, Clark, Windhager, Jones etc are the mature guys still on the list now. Nas and Hall can and will play plenty of midfield minutes but to pull them permanently up loses us player at either end of the ground and a fair few listed can't play a secondary position.

It looks like we really need one more good mid to push through but the future is also looking better than it has since it looked like Stuv, Dunny and Seb were going to be an elite set up.

Come on man. You nutters were on one thread talking up the genius of paying $millions to TDK and Aleer then sooking it up and wanting him frog marched for wanting an extra couple of years and a couple of hundred thousand. To cope you all bagged his output and wrote off any future growth.

All opinions are valid but at least own your shit. Maybe you're actually the negative one after all and you just can't admit it to yourself.
This is untrue and you simply can't prove it otherwise :tearsofjoy:

At no stage did I ever say anything even close to what you are talking about it :tearsofjoy:

Get off the 'delusion glitter', big boy 🙃

Everyone is talking about Butts now. It's 2025 ;)

The Simpsons Dance GIF

No way would you be banking on Flanders & Mackenzie to be A grade mids
Freijah is a Lipinski type, handy but not A grade material.
Richards is the A grader with explosive run
He would have to be involved or forget it.

Freijah looks like a very promising kid but promise can turn sour quickly.If our plan is to attack finals this coming season we really need Wilkie. Another project kid to add to our huge pile isn't going to make a lot of sense. Probably just holds out a kid like Boxshall. I think I'd rather push games into Box to be honest.

This is untrue and you simply can't prove it otherwise :tearsofjoy:

At no stage did I ever say anything even close to what you are talking about it :tearsofjoy:

Get off the 'delusion glitter', big boy 🙃

You are a hater. Number one Windy hater on the entire internet I believe. I'd ban you from this thread to be honest. Negative people are a downer.

Realistically Garcia, Phillipou, Wilson and Boxshall types need to get up around 100 games to be really solid reliable 25 game a year players. At their age and level of experience it's a lot to expect them to perform at absolute top level every week and carry the bulk of the midfield load.

Macrae, Steele, Dow, Clark, Windhager, Jones etc are the mature guys still on the list now. Nas and Hall can and will play plenty of midfield minutes but to pull them permanently up loses us player at either end of the ground and a fair few listed can't play a secondary position.

It looks like we really need one more good mid to push through but the future is also looking better than it has since it looked like Stuv, Dunny and Seb were going to be an elite set up.
This is a decent take, IMO.

Plenty of options going around, plenty of improvement to be had, plenty of way to go until it's a gun midfield capable of success.