List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Thomas is a flog of the highest order IMO, doesn’t have a lot of mates.

My Dogs mate said straight swap Jamarra for Wilkie 🤣

Ignore the click bait bullshit, if he were to leave we would probably fill so many needs by a trade it wouldn’t be funny.

Also look out Doggies, when Baines finally leaves the Dogs he will try to rape and pillage your club like he has the Saints.

He couldn’t get a kick in the OM’s Thirds (Club XVIII) but thinks he’s some sort of wheeler and dealer.
For an ex saint, Grant Thomas never has anything positive to say about his old club. Seems like he still hasn't gotten over been given the arse from the club. His constant negativity has got tiresome.

I dont think anyone ever says anything positive about Thomas tbh
And yet, l use to enjoy watching the attacking style of game plan we had under him.
In saying that, he did incorperate a more defensive game plan towards the end of his coaching days,
which then became more the norm in general.
And he took us to three straight final series after the Blight fiasco.
Only the 3rd Saints coach to do so.

A quote from him

St.Kilda fc
'Is what im all about'

Had a good chat to a bloke from Inverloch this afternoon about Sam Flanders. He's had a good chat to him recently.

Reckons he'll simply go to the club who offers him the most money and the longest contract.

Reckons he was promised midfield time when he signed Suns contract and is dirty they didn't play him there.

Also Sam thinks he'll fully recover with his back but the rumours of it being cactus this year are 100% true. Words were, he's a tough farm boy, country lad he will be fine. Wants cash and security though, back is a consideration of his.

Again, I'll reiterate, doesn't care where he goes, it will just be to the club who offers the biggest contract.

Had a good chat to a bloke from Inverloch this afternoon about Sam Flanders. He's had a good chat to him recently.

Reckons he'll simply go to the club who offers him the most money and the longest contract.

Reckons he was promised midfield time when he signed Suns contract and is dirty they didn't play him there.

Also Sam thinks he'll fully recover with his back but the rumours of it being cactus this year are 100% true. Words were, he's a tough farm boy, country lad he will be fine. Wants cash and security though, back is a consideration of his.

Again, I'll reiterate, doesn't care where he goes, it will just be to the club who offers the biggest contract.
Well, we know who that is ;)
And, if that's if we still want him now?

Also had a good chat to a lovely lady who is related to Caro Wilson through marriage.

Reckons she's one of the most genuine, kindest and thoughtful people she's ever met.

Got a tough hardened exterior but she's one of the kindest people she knows.

Told me some stories and no reason not to believe her.

Hanging out in the queue waiting to get in to the MCC for 2 hours definitely gets people talking.

What positive things would you like him to say? After 2011 it's been incredibly dire.

Also had a good chat to a lovely lady who is related to Caro Wilson through marriage.

Reckons she's one of the most genuine, kindest and thoughtful people she's ever met.

Hanging out in the queue waiting to get in to the MCC for 2 hours definitely gets people talking.
Don't doubt that. She cops a lot of BS, but I don't believe she's running with stories that are made up. She's also one of the few that isn't afraid to criticize club Presidents and administration.
She's good for the sport, and doesn't deserve the hate she gets.

Ever heard of brain-washing?

If you dont know her, dont believe her, is my advice.

People love to talk themselves up, that's it.

Years of experience has me in that space.

How is that the comparison? Do you think he's going to get delisted and go back to the SANFL?

The comparison is between playing at the Saints and playing somewhere else in the AFL, not going back in time 7 years.
I’m saying instead of looking at the dogs offer and wanting more cash… maybe be appreciative that you’re on $750k+ to play AFL instead of still working as an accountant

Ever heard of brain-washing?

If you dont know her, dont believe her, is my advice.

People love to talk themselves up, that's it.

Years of experience has me in that space.
Thanks for the advice, but I like to think of myself as someone who is a reasonable judge when I meet people.

She most certainly didnt lead with the I know Caro line, she was a genuine lady with zero reason to talk rubbish.

Did a few fact checks because I couldn't help myself and everything she said checks out.

Probably the hardest gig in footy to do what she's done in a man's world. Anyway, Im not interested in debating Caro's personality away from the limelight, I just found it interesting.

Must have missed the bit where Wilkie is recovering from an ACL, has off field substance issues and is uncontracted .
That’s Cazlenka to you 😉

g9Jv6yf.jpeg

There isn't a bridge left in the AFL that Grant Thomas didn't burn and there isn't a job that he hasn't been sacked from. Who gaf what GT has to say
I get your sentiment, but some people do good stuff and bad stuff / say good and say bad too! Just because people get sacked and burn bridges doesn’t make them unable to articulate decent points- I think he spoke well and I generally listen to him. I totally disagree with his last point though- it annoys me - and it’s blunt and offensive . I wonder if he really believes it? Whatever , anyway. What can clubs do? Some will have to accept a high rotation of has beens . Sydney 90s St Kilda 80s. It’s not all bad.

geez the gresh rumours doing the rounds, sounds like everything is a dumpster fire at windy hill, dont think he was a overly popular teammate if memory serves me correctly at st kilda