List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Cash him in and get what? Pick 18 that goes out to 20-something? He's a gun utility player and can cause major headaches for opposition defence, which we saw this year. We are also losing Heath so we won't have any backup. We are trying to get good, I'd rather take the punt on him being good for us and if he ends up in the VFL we are probably a top four side.
The perception that Ro has shown nothing as a KPF and is surplus to requirements with the recruitment of TDK is deceptive. He has has been our main ruck since Paddy Ryder retired and has done a great job in his role. The issue with him not playing much as a KPF is that he has been more important to the team as a ruckman. I would think at least seeing how it all fits together with TDK for at least one season would be the responsible thing to do. Trying to posture on a "great deal" that sees us get a nominal draft pick or player is pure speculation.

Even Twomey isn't across Marshall. Reckons we should take pick 18 which would be 25 for Marshall and it will free up 900k in salary cap

Why would we make a grand finalist better for a crap pick in a crap draft? And Marshall has his contract front loaded as a part of us getting the 'warchest'. Would be perhaps 400k.

Interestingly reckon we could PSD Aleer

Also said Heath was a DFA? No he is not

Cash him in and get what? Pick 18 that goes out to 20-something? He's a gun utility player and can cause major headaches for opposition defence, which we saw this year. We are also losing Heath so we won't have any backup. We are trying to get good, I'd rather take the punt on him being good for us and if he ends up in the VFL we are probably a top four side.
And make a Grand Finalist better while we go backwards?

We lose Heath, what happens if TDK goes down? We have who? Keeler and Dodson?

We have an injury prone Key Forward who could go down at the drop of a hat. Remember how much better our forwards looked even with a raw Keeler bringing the ball to ground?

Need to keep unless we get a really really good deal from Geelong.

And make a Grand Finalist better while we go backwards?

We lose Heath, what happens if TDK goes down? We have who? Keeler and Dodson?

We have an injury prone Key Forward who could go down at the drop of a hat. Remember how much better our forwards looked even with a raw Keeler bringing the ball to ground?

Need to keep unless we get a really really good deal from Geelong.
Twomey was also saying it’s his opinion and that just because he thinks Marshall is worth a Geelong first that it doesn’t mean the saints do.

You can’t rely on a good fixture to get in the finals because you’ll just be out of it again the year after.

It’s all on Ross next year to come up with a gameplan that stacks up IMO. I look at Hawthorn and while we probably don’t have a Newcombe you’ll never convince me that they have so much more to work with than us, they’re just an extremely well coached team that’s full of belief and not told in every second press conference they’re not good enough. Our midfield is still a work in progress but the Hawks almost made the grand final without one.

Their bulk youth are a couple of years more advanced but not much otherwise. I think once you make finals it is easier to gain belief and attract others in. Hawks miss last year and they are not getting ring ins coming over and stall probably.

Agree with most of that, but not sure how many were happy with Richo and Trout. I think most tend to be happy with some stuff and unhappy with other stuff. It's probably fair to say most weren't happy with side-talking "G'day Saints fans!" after another flogging by about two-thirds of the way through Richo's tenure......

Both admin and players should be under pressure to perform, but most people's allegiance goes to players, not administrators......

The big rift between the "bedwetters" and the "happy clappers" on here is underpinned, I believe, by revisiting past errors. Ascribing a pattern of behaviour from the past that was the result of actions of a different group of people has nothing to do with the current group, even though we are the same club. It serves no purpose, and it's the one thing personally that I find very frustrating. I don't care what our list management team did 10 years ago, that was a different group of people and a different set of circumstances, as long as the current team don't make obvious mistakes I am happy.

It's usually started because someone starts it up claiming that the whole place is a utopian pinnacle or some one calls out some past mistake and both knuckle down for a fight.

The board that makes the appointment is largely the same group. They are doing better this time but I've heard from someone close to the club that people whinging about their short term thinking and incompetence online spurred the club to act.

I'm largely happy with nearly everything that they are doing apart from details and it's pretty much gone through my wish list of how to do it. Overpaying for a few players that aren't at they pay grade would be my only concern at the moment and they have made it a really high stress period to finish the year with lots of moving pieces that could knock over a lot of hard work already done.

Only time will tell how it works out but the way the club is run under Lyon and Lethlean, Rath and Gags is night and day. I'll probably keep cracking the whip until we are the best run club in the country still.

You slow down and you lose ground in footy. You can never just coast along.

Our ground ball stuff was very good but we just couldn’t fire a shot in the air particularly up forward. With TDK and a couple of recruits those excuses are gone now so I’m sure Ross will come up with something.

King is the real bonus IMO. If he stays fit we have a tall target and probably gain 2 plus goals per week in firepower directly or indirectly. TDK helps turn centre clearance into a threat too. If you add Ryan in there it's probably a potential extra goal a week too.

Ro is worth more to us and Geelong than a speculative kid in the 20s who may end up being a dud (and likely could be based on the views on this draft). We shouldn't make ourselves weaker and Geelong stronger, and we should definitely not weaken our depth. At least you know if TDK goes down with an injury, we have Ro to fill the gap as the number one until TDK comes back.

Keep Ro unless we are getting a good player or top 10 draft pick for him. He is contracted.

My view is wilkie and coach/money people would have worked out something that suits for both and agreed to firm it up after trade, so they can work out how to structure it , and just shook hands on that till then.

Cal Twomey on Trade Radio saying that the Dees will get Heath as a delisted free agent, so don't budget for anything to come back on that front.
wow we are doing them a solid. sydney did the same with us for membrey

Even Twomey isn't across Marshall. Reckons we should take pick 18 which would be 25 for Marshall and it will free up 900k in salary cap

Why would we make a grand finalist better for a crap pick in a crap draft? And Marshall has his contract front loaded as a part of us getting the 'warchest'. Would be perhaps 400k.

Interestingly reckon we could PSD Aleer

Also said Heath was a DFA? No he is not

Heath will be though. sounds like we need list spots and he's out the door. so melbourne will just refuse to offer anything which means he ends up a DFA.

This is partially true. An easy fixture can kick start your momentum that often carries on for the rest of the season. The AFL gave Gold Coast a really easy run in and set them up to play finals this year. If you are a really good side it won't matter but if you are an average to middling side it costs memberships, players and momentum if you start the year badly and often leads into the next year.

This is the single biggest factor (or equal with injury) as to where teams finish in the band from 6th to 12th.

An easy fixture at the beginning of the year delivers early wins, which then creates belief and momentum that carries through the season. This is exactly what got us through 2023 even where we had the dip in form and availability through the middle of the season. We had built the belief and momentum from the early victories.

Three games in Adelaide in the first 5 weeks of the season killed us this year. It killed membership, momentum and belief.

If you are a Brisbane or Geelong, it matters less as you have the experience, form and belief regardless.

For the sides trying to climb the ladder, getting to Round 6 with a 4-2 win-loss (or better) makes such a big difference to the rest of the year. Exactly what the Suns, Hawks and Crows were able to do this year.

The perception that Ro has shown nothing as a KPF and is surplus to requirements with the recruitment of TDK is deceptive. He has has been our main ruck since Paddy Ryder retired and has done a great job in his role. The issue with him not playing much as a KPF is that he has been more important to the team as a ruckman. I would think at least seeing how it all fits together with TDK for at least one season would be the responsible thing to do. Trying to posture on a "great deal" that sees us get a nominal draft pick or player is pure speculation.
And suggesting he'll be a good key forward is pure speculation.