List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

X was a superstar ruined by injury and Raph was an absolute gun as a junior.

I know someone who coached against him when he played seniors in the NT and he was a ripper. He had some health problems with us but imo your way off the mark here.

They were both selected on talent, you can’t foresee injury and illness.

X was supremely talented, just did not have the body for AFL at all. We really missed a trick with that group as competent footy dev got mundo benefit from that instead of us getting broken people.

Raph was essentially a better Coffield that people gushed about IMO, and far more consistent.

And as Long is showing at the Suns, he's got skills, we just had NFI how to use him properly.

We kinda suck with NT talent really...

Nas was literally at the club Tuesday morning using the gym.

Furthermore Max has been doing significant Gym work for a few months and put on substantial size.
Saw him next to Bing on the Footy Show the other night - Bing has twig arms like an 8 year old. Noticeable size difference (thank god).

X was supremely talented, just did not have the body for AFL at all. We really missed a trick with that group as competent footy dev got mundo benefit from that instead of us getting broken people.

Raph was essentially a better Coffield that people gushed about IMO, and far more consistent.

And as Long is showing at the Suns, he's got skills, we just had NFI how to use him properly.

We kinda suck with NT talent really...
Luckily we’re way above average with our SA pickups though.

If Max King lives up to his name and is Max King next year, we'll be travelling well 😄

If the Cats were smart they would pivot into making SDK their #1 ruck. Just like his brother, his best work is done when he's on his bike and contributing as a 200cm link up player.
I went to that Carlton Geelong game in 2024 and SDK was brutalised by Tom. He was a bit embarrassing in there.

Still rings true for FTA.

People are more likely to stay home if the game starts later. Means higher ratings, bigger advertising revenue etc

As for it not being a subscription service; It's only a matter of time before all FTA moves to streaming. You won't watch "Channel 7" you'll be a subscriber to the "7 Plus" app.

The base game might remain free of charge but they will absolutely put up paid options.

Wanna watch in 4k/8k? It's only $5.

Want picture in picture ads, rather than full screen? Only $3!!

You want a 'kid friendly' version that doesn't have gambling ads? $10 thanks. If you sign up now you get it for half price!!

We are already seeing it in US and Euro sports leagues. Only a matter of time over here, especially with players, coaches & managers all pushing for more money every time the rights come up.

No doubt, I just don't think that Foxtel particularly cares if it's a day grand final or a night grand final - they make all of their money the rest of the year.

Can't wait for pre-season to start so we can focus on Max King's football rather than the way he walks around public gyms

Ah yeah, coz his football has never been a cause for debate around here...

Ralph -

St Kilda ruckman Rowan Marshall continues to be a player of significant interest at Geelong but the Saints current position is that they won’t trade him.

The Saints would give up pick 7 for Gold Coast’s Sam Flanders but also have GWS defender Leek Aleer to acquire via the trade period and want to draft NGA pick Kye Fincher this November so it remains to be seen if they will need to move Marshall on.

He would secure them the Cats’ first round pick – currently pick 17 – and give St Kilda some cap relief as it brings in $3m of new talent as well as hands Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera football’s first $2m a year deal.

Surely we're all in this off-season. Not halfway in, but all in.

Keep Ro, keep Cal, get Sam Flanders with Pick 7 and start the push to be a top 8 squad.

Ralph -

St Kilda ruckman Rowan Marshall continues to be a player of significant interest at Geelong but the Saints current position is that they won’t trade him.

The Saints would give up pick 7 for Gold Coast’s Sam Flanders but also have GWS defender Leek Aleer to acquire via the trade period and want to draft NGA pick Kye Fincher this November so it remains to be seen if they will need to move Marshall on.

He would secure them the Cats’ first round pick – currently pick 17 – and give St Kilda some cap relief as it brings in $3m of new talent as well as hands Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera football’s first $2m a year deal.
To me priorities are in order:
TDK - done
JSOS - done
Flanders - to do
Ryan - to do
Aleer - to do
First four trade, walk Aleer to PSD or DFA.

SDK would be a big WTF with the recent JSOS buy.

IMO.
Something smells a bit off with him as well.

Either Chris Scott doesn't rate him as a defender or is weirdly playing him out of position.

SDK has been okay in his ruck-utility role at times this season, but never really dominant.

Was fairly anonymous during the Grand Final too, bar a couple of minutes in the opening term.

Connor O'Sullivan has had a quality season for a kid but fumbled the ball like it was lathered in butter yesterday.

Makes the call to not really use SDK as an out-and-out defender an interesting one.

This game just proves how strong and deep midfield wins you the game..

Brisbane has:
Neal, Mcclugge, Ashcroft * 2, Dunkley
+ 4 midfielders playing at HF/HB: Zorko, Bailey, Raynor, Fletcher..

That’s 9 high caliber midfielders / hybrid midfielders.. We could hardly field 3-4 good and consistent mids. That’s why we need Flanders and McKenzie. Hope other young guns (Garcia, Boxshall, Philipou) and forgotten players (Dow, Carrol) step up next year as well.

Watch all the fans of other teams flock to agree with STK re: academies etc now that Brisbane have won 2 in a row and will dominate for a while
I don't have an issue with father sons and academy access as long as club's pay a fair price.
Top club's should be excluded from access to free agents!

Ralph -

Yay, pick 17 which turns into 24 and cap relief for the guy who's already been paid the bulk of his salary!

You will love it. On a tour, or hired car, or hired car and driver for this? An amazing part of the world. Kyrgyzstan is for us the most beautiful country in the world. Incredible.
We are doing a tour. Old buggers not as adventurous as we once were, have no Turkic languages and about 5 words in Russian. Just more comfortable for us. I am certainly not a traveller any more, just a tourist. It certainly looks lovely. Cheers mate.

In three weeks it will be two years since we pulled out of the driveway of our house on the Sunshine Coast. We have loved the remote and isolated from our drive in Australia, to where we currently are in Turkey. If you want stunningly beautiful, with no tourists then go to Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan. Wonderful people, great culture and incredible natural landscapes. After 4-6 weeks in Turkey, we will quickly slip around Southern Europe to Morocco, to escape the European winter and find the remote and isolated again. Can't recommend this lifestyle highly enough.
How are you getting about? Did you buy a car or a mobile home or are you renting or using trains and buses etc? Are you travelling with kids or just you and your partner?

I live in Europe and probably too chickenshit to ever make a move like this but it does intrigue me.

Didn’t do any harm that the Blues kept Voss and look like they are heading into nowhere-land for a good few years.
Wonder if another club's president will have the guts to do what Bassat did and sack a coach a few months after extending his contract once the review had given him the full picture? It made him a laughing stock for years afterwards but thank christ he was mentally strong enough to do it, wear it and thrive in the end.

If ever there was a candidate for a reconsideration, it must be Michael Voss.

Ralph -

I fail to see why we would need to trade Marshall to get someone Twomey believes will only take a late pick or psd threat and draft someone who is currently projected to go in the late 2nd to 3rd round.

Looks like Geelong have briefed the media. Which makes me feel uneasy.

Similar article now by Peter Ryan and the age.

They want Marshall. Curnow appears to be a pipe dream.