List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Corey Enright really rates Hastie.

Hastie was the Geelong Falcons best player during the 2023 draft year.
He’s very strong in the air and brave with the way to attacks the ball.

He might be a bit of a slow burn needing to add some muscle but I really rate him. There’s no way I’d trade him and I’m not surprised Geelong are sniffing around.

I hadnt seen that, but I guess it goes with the nearly 30 year old fire sale. I still believe when fit he is a decent player, but I can understand the club wanting a small forward who is stronger in the air. For me that is Butt's biggest weakness he simply cant create a contest when it comes to contested marking.

Its not just Dan though, as a collective list we are not a strong contested marking side and that needs to improve. Particularly when you look at this years top 4 sides, they have strong marks right across every line and dont just rely on the few.
All 4 recruits are good in the air..plus King and Phillipou back also helps!

I reckon there'd be very little chance they'd nominate Tassie, unless the AFL put their hand on the scales with the promise of bonus cash if they did.
They’d never do that…
🙄

100% and i dont think people realise how bad it is here.

we had a well respected football figure here in WA go on radio and basically beg the AFL and by extension the WAFC for more assistance in the junior pathways. this guy was a WAFL leading goal kicker, WAFL premiership player, AFL listed player and worked within AFL recruitment/development as well as state football development.

he said that all the resources for the grades below U17 are basically volunteer. they're even paying for stuff out of their own pocket.

so they're finding resourcing really hard. he's a school teacher by trade.

now the devils advocate argument will be that WCE have 50m in the bank so they should be funding it but then again how much money does the pies and richmond etc have yet the AFL is still funding victorian football programs. then you can easily point to the rivers of gold going up north.

its an absolute farce.
WCE are one eighteenth of the league, it should not be up to them. This is the reason the commission was set up.in the first place.
Victorians make up 65% of all draftees, but the growth corridors of Melbourne are being ignored. Migrants who have had no contact with AFL are being ignored, so guess what, they are going to sport they know.
Local teams and comps are folding, Geoff Walsh did a complete review of the situation complete with a list of recommendations. This was handed to Laura Kane who stuck it in a drawer and not one recommendation has been acted upon.
They have spent upwards of 500 million in the non footy states, but are ignoring the traditional football states. They are not stupid, this has to be deliberate. And I am unsure of the reason why.

St Kilda has given up a lot of information over the last few months trying to defend our big spending.

Not sure why our salary offers have been so public.

I have no doubt other clubs now know our salary situation much better as such we have lost some decent IP.

I'm no accountant but with a little research I've estimated our salary situation. which even with the big contracts still puts us in a very good position. We will still need

Not sure if I should share my estimated player salaries with the risk of other clubs getting a better understanding. Or even the players themselves.

If we pay Wilke what the dogs are reportedly offering and hold onto Marshall we could be in trouble next season.
I doubt the club is leaking contract offers, more likely the player managers

That would be perfect and Tony74 has hinted there is still more in the pipeline. Dan Butler's name came up this morning, perhaps he wants to be reunited with Hardwick, they definitely need another small forward.

If we were to lose/trade Butler where do we find then find a replacement? We obviously have Collard and Said on the list, Collard could be great or a bust and we have hardly seen Said play.

There will be a few options available in the draft some are goal kicking mids who will start forward -

Mid/Small forwards: Sam Cummins, Jevan Phillipou, Fred Rodriguez, Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves , Felix Kneipp
Small forwards: Lachy Dovaston, Talor Byrne, Latrelle Sumner-Pickett

All would be a reasonable options, although half will be first round options where we most likely wont have a pick.
Henry, Hall, Hill and Ryan...i reckon we're ok!!

He’s very strong in the air and brave with the way to attacks the ball.

He might be a bit of a slow burn needing to add some muscle but I really rate him. There’s no way I’d trade him and I’m not surprised Geelong are sniffing around.

Agree. I think over the next two years we'll see him really start to shine. Reminds me of Hugo as far as attitude goes. Think he'll be another one that just makes it happen.

Ryan King Owens Higgins

is really going to stretch opposition clubs. vitally important now that king gets fit. he has great synergy with Owens but i think adding Ryan into that mix makes it alot more potent. with Higgins already out performing most fwds having established himself as the comps premier small IMO.
Sharman!

I remain unconvinced on Ryan. He either plays in a role he is not ideal for (pressure forward), plays so we play without a designated pressure forward, or takes valuable minutes away from already established players, like our Trademark winner or the guy who just finished 4th in the B&F in his first season of senior footy.

Agree with others that Ryan is going under the radar a bit. Will make a huge difference to our forward line. A nightmare matchup
What are we going to have to give for him?

I see a few on the pug board are starting to call out how desperate there club is and the same band of morons are trying to put them in their place because the Pugs are GrEaT 😂

The bottom line is Dogs are being completely reactive and not proactive. The only reason they went hard for Wilkie was due to JSOS picking us. Dogs look shambolic and without a long term plan.

I remain unconvinced on Ryan. He either plays in a role he is not ideal for (pressure forward), plays so we play without a designated pressure forward, or takes valuable minutes away from already established players, like our Trademark winner or the guy who just finished 4th in the B&F in his first season of senior footy.
I'm looking forward to him more than anyone else. Huge aerial threat and off the deck. Whats not to love? He will be reinvigorated coming to Saints. Him and Higgins will have a ball.