List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
Whilst they’re at it they should also look at why the Saints didn’t trade Hastie to the Cats, even though neither club, nor the player in question, sought such a trade.
While they’re at it have a look at why we refused to trade for Merrett. Surely Boyd, Cordy and a couple of 27 future fourths could have got it done.

Brisbane is busy winning flags for fun so i get that they dont get criticised (they also just nailed free agency so kudos) but their demands for Cal Ah Chee should be getting ****ing reamed tbh.

Demanding a first then refusing to budge on a guy they already farewelled and is out of contract and they DONT wanna pay and might conceivably be pushed out of the 23 next year with returning injury players and the consistent top 5 kid was ****ing ridiculous.

IMO that was the biggest story of the trade period and sending him off for a second would have at worst done absolutely nothing to them either way.
So does AC go to PSD now?

B. Wilkie JSOS Fincher/Voss

H.B. Clark Tauru Sinclair

C. Henry Pou Windhager

H.F. Butler Marshall Hall

F. Higgins King  Ryan

Foll. Tdk NWM Flanders

I/C. Keeler, Macrae, Owens, Sharman, Wilson

B. Hastie Howard Fincher/Voss

H.B. Stocker Barrat Travaglia

C. Carroll O'Connell Dow

H.F. Hill Caminiti Said

F. Collard Derksen  Wood

Foll. Dodson Boxshall Garcia

I/C. Armstrong, Byrnes

And this. Apologies if already posted. Quite cool “objective” measurements on impact as well… 💪🏻

Funny really, SDK not for sale, CMac not for sale... those two clubs couldn't get trades done. Gotta give to get contracted players.

Florent and Hayward are arguably better than both (at the moment) - Sydney got the player in that they wanted.

I wont lie, that flog couldn't get his player (Ah Chee) to get a deal done - I'm always worried about Nas even if we have 6-12 months reprieve.

Is that true everyone else is gone from then?

Actually not that uncommon for huge turn overs. Even Collingwood probably only have around 10 and they are one of the oldest most consistent sides. AFL does a massive turn over of players, it's getting more like international sport.

[Ryan] was AA 5 years ago when he was 24 years old. He's now 29 and his best goal tally since then is 24 in a season.
Ryan was also in at 21% of centre bounces for the Eagles in the games he played (121 total). Flanders was at 8% for the Suns (53 total); Hall was at 5% for us (34 total). It's fair to say Ryan spent a fair chunk of games more than a kick away from goal.

My impression was that his role was more like Hall's than Higgins' (or Butler's) and I'm hoping that having him frees up Hall to play more midfield.

Theres always a little bit of information that the media and supporters are not privy to. It may come out eventually but probably better left unsaid
Thanks mate for all the info you sprinkled our way.
Much appreciated.

My eyes are moist

He is obviously hurting, but it shows his absolute quality in that post.

It is a ruthless industry and sometimes players can be the victim of their own contracts. Loyalty in footy is dead and I don't have to agree with the clubs handling of a young man who has given everything to the red, white and black, but that's business unfortunately.

I hope he can recapture his past form and have a brilliant finish to his career and stick it up those at the club who had lost the faith in him.

Mackie's left deals to the last minute the last few years, no doubt a deliberate tactic
Poor tactic when dealing with a contracted player at a strong club

The dynamic of the trade made Mackie’s strategy foolish.

ACT in good faith, fire your bullets early and get your business done.

Ryan was also in at 21% of centre bounces for the Eagles in the games he played (121 total). Flanders was at 8% for the Suns (53 total); Hall was at 5% for us (34 total). It's fair to say Ryan spent a fair chunk of games more than a kick away from goal.

My impression was that his role was more like Hall's than Higgins' (or Butler's) and I'm hoping that having him frees up Hall to play more midfield.
The thing that surprised me in the highlights video of this season was how much time he spent in the middle.
It’s also worth remembering that WC have been a basket case for at least the last three seasons. It would be pretty hard for any small forward to be kicking goals in that side.

lol you couldn't make this shit up. The pathetically unserious Bulldogs, after embarrassing themselves by Beveridge forcing the List Manager to make a completely unrealistic and amateur play for Wilkie because he had he is nose out of joint about being cucked on JSOS, went and did the exact same thing to Adelaide trying to make a play for Mark Keane because Adelaid had enquired about Sanders. :D :D
What a clueless outfit they are. Like Wilkie, Keane has now extended at Adelaide until 2028 because he wanted nothing to do with a club that is run by the coach and throws out offers like confetti.

they did get a 175cm, 75kg key back though :D:D:D:D
Key scrolling until you see the opinion from our friends on us 😂

They wont be. Out of contract and we need to shed all of Jones, Byrnes and Schonemakers to take the minimum 3 list spots to the National Draft.

Caminiti must be upgraded, and we could upgrade Hall also, but dont have to.

Leaves us with Fincher and potentially one other at the draft.

We will be active in the rookie draft, replacing Boyd, McLennan, and Caminiti at a minimum.
Probably take Wanganeen for one of the rookie spots and leave 1 open for MSD

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V