List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
Purple's sliding doors is a lol. He can't help himself by laying the boot into the Saints.

Also did anyone notice in his Geelong one he says:

"the Cats have historically been the trade masters - remember the recruiting of Danger, Gaz jnr, Jez and Baz, as well as the exit of Tim Kelly for beyond-top dollar ..."

Gaz Junior was drafted as a father son, not recruited?
He was recruited back to Geelong after Gold Coast.

Why would he stay? Or why would he go?
Why would he go to Norf or Bombers right now.

( Sorry, rereading my post I realised it wasn’t clear)

One time little - as you say - rumour. If he can’t get over the fact that he was dropped then he needs to grow up. Ross was probably (although a bit fumbly) protecting him by saying that.

Pretty sure the club would’ve planned for all the contracts coming up. He needs to be re-contracted next year. Not sure what he’s on, but the next contract is hardly going to jump by a huge fortune. He’s played two years.

Not saying he is entitled, but these kids need to be more self-aware as they’re going to be getting a wake up call.

With our list these days, no youngsters are going to be getting walk up starts like they did in the past when we were so bad. They are going to have to earn their stripes - like the kids in the better teams do - without sooking it up.
I saw this from an oppo fan, (about Wilson)
… its frustrating watching them not know what to do with Darcy. He looks like as pure a wingman as you could want. Why isnt he there permanently. Sometimes they line him up in the fwd pocket like wtf. And then they want him to be an inside midfielder eventually?
But Darcy had a pretty dismal year, and then he had a Hannebury-like finale to the season. Do you lot think that this sentiment, that he wasn’t given a fair go on the wing, is a decent point?

Marshall also lost his preferred position and actually wanted to leave to continue playing as a solo ruck. we were offered far better compensation. why wasn't he afforded the same grace?

moving on Steele was a ruthless decision, not a compassionate one. and that is completely fine, however much it hurts
Because Ross wants to play 2 rucks

and

Because we can’t play both Steele and Macrae in the centre together anymore.

I don’t think that’s a difficult thing to understand. One is still a required best 23 player. The other, sadly, not.

I saw this from an oppo fan, (about Wilson)
… its frustrating watching them not know what to do with Darcy. He looks like as pure a wingman as you could want. Why isnt he there permanently. Sometimes they line him up in the fwd pocket like wtf. And then they want him to be an inside midfielder eventually?
But Darcy had a pretty dismal year, and then he had a Hannebury-like finale to the season. Do you lot think that this sentiment, that he wasn’t given a fair go on the wing, is a decent point?
I have to admit i agree. Their plans to turn him into an inside midfielder seems a poor fit. Let him run!

He was recruited back to Geelong after Gold Coast.
Amazing to tout that as some sort of success. Geelong farts like the rest of us, but the media smells only rainbows. If we're going to talk about Ablett's return to Geelong, we should mention that there's a chance Geelong wins the 2020 Grand Final if Richmond players weren't walking around Gary Ablett and his one shoulder.

One time little - as you say - rumour. If he can’t get over the fact that he was dropped then he needs to grow up. Ross was probably (although a bit fumbly) protecting him by saying that.

Pretty sure the club would’ve planned for all the contracts coming up. He needs to be re-contracted next year. Not sure what he’s on, but the next contract is hardly going to jump by a huge fortune. He’s played two years.

Not saying he is entitled, but these kids need to be more self-aware as they’re going to be getting a wake up call.

With our list these days, no youngsters are going to be getting walk up starts like they did in the past when we were so bad. They are going to have to earn their stripes - like the kids in the better teams do - without sooking it up.
Firstly I don’t suggest any of it was true just that that would likely be the basis for the rumours.

Secondly if he plays like he did in the last round more consistently then not only will he get a big jump from us he’s gonna get massive offers from other teams which was the whole point.

It’s the new age. Clubs will have cash and will raid us cause we have at least two huge contracts, even if TDK is the low end of what has been reported he and Nas will be in the top 10 probably top 5 contracts.

Lets not forget Jacko had a punctured lung last season which took some time to recover from. He was flying until then and then when he got going again, being our best mid he was tagged. I think he will play our midfield anchor role and others will be rotated around him. Lets hope others step up and the taggers have to worry about 3 or 4 mids not just Jacko.

Seven weeks is a long time in Steeley Boy fantasy land :tearsofjoy:

New username, same old Steeley :hearteyes:

August 21.

I would suggest that the salary we took on for Macrae 1.1-1.2m per year was poorly spent $$$. He is cooked and the WB knew that hence they were so happy to get him off their books and add Matt Kennedy who has done really well for them. The Dogs had to give up a pick 6 positions short of what we gave for Macrae and I bet they are paying Kennedy much less than what we inherited with Jacks salary. Thats not good business in my view.

August 25.

I totally agree thats why I have been suggesting recruiting Macrae was an indifferent decision. His lack of leg speed is really telling and combined with Steele & Clark our midfield looked really slow at times. Steele did need help in there with a big mature body, but I question Macrae's effective longevity.

Barrett is still harping on about free agency compensation but he’s been quiet about the compensation St Kilda received for Josh Battle.

It might have something to do with Battle being AA this year. Criticising St Kilda for getting pick 8 when the player they lost was AA the next year isn’t a smart look. Sort of demolishes his argument.

Indeed, Barrett was reminded about that a few weeks ago when he was banging on about FA compensation on Footy Classified in relation to Oscar Allen. When the Josh battle compensation was raised by another panelist he went rather quiet.

Damien Barrett is a hack. He hasn’t broken a major football story in many years. He sits in the stalls, giving opinions which are influenced by his biases.

But in reality, he’s irrelevant. Nothing Barrett says makes any difference. Nobody takes any notice. He is not, and will never be, an agenda setter.

Never played. Never involved. Never achieved anything. But has access to a microphone and air time. Stealing a living as a self appointed expert.

He’s irrelevant. An ageing man yelling at passing clouds.

Ignore him.
Bravo sir, bravo. Take a bow.

standing ovation applause GIF

Because Ross wants to play 2 rucks

and

Because we can’t play both Steele and Macrae in the centre together anymore.

I don’t think that’s a difficult thing to understand. One is still e pe Ted to be a best 23 player. The other, sadly, not.
Look out, you will be accused of parroting the clubs agenda. Doesn't matter if its true or not, you are just a club shill furthering their heartless propaganda, or some shit like that 🤣🤣

Then keep him or if we’re taking some of his salary we should have gotten a better draft pick.

It’s generally accepted that if you’re offloading a salary dump player you take shit but you don’t then also keep said players money.
His form doesn't warrant a better draft pick so that wouldn't make sense either.

As I've been saying, he's a 29 year old mid that averages 20 touches a game. Why would they give up anymore than a third rounder for him?

Even if we are paying 200k, that still leaves them with a big pay packet to pay.

I understand the frustration, but why would Melbourne want to take on all of his salary if it's 900k?

Unfortunately that's the norm these days. Jack looks a long way past his best but is still getting paid an All Australian calibre players wage.
I suspect that we did a deal with Melbourne. I reckon Steele wanted an extra year on his contract to go to Melbourne, and that Melbourne agreed to it if we paid some of his wage in the first two years......

His form doesn't warrant a better draft pick so that wouldn't make sense either.

As I've been saying, he's a 29 year old mid that averages 20 touches a game. Why would they give up anymore than a third rounder for him?

Even if we are paying 200k, that still leaves them with a big pay packet to pay.
Yeh, then keep him.

Honestly the way this forum flips and flops to slow stroke the admin.

In the build up it was all “Jack and Rowan were front loaded we don’t need the money off the books” but now all of a sudden it’s “oh it’s great to get even half his money off the books”.

To be clear every move we made on trade week was a winner, this one just missed. I’d rather have taken a fourth or fifth rounder or ****ing swap a late pick and dump his whole salary rather than what we did.

I, for one, am really, really bullish on Darcy Wilson. I know he had a bit of a down year, but he is a second year player, and that just happens.

He ticks so many boxes, in that he has elite endurance, a good if not spectacular kick, can rack up the ball, and has a great game sense. But most importantly, he knows where the goals are and he is an absolute competitive beast.

I reckon having a down year, and being in and out of the team will really give him the shits. I would not be surprised if he's come out firing in preseason, and hits round one chomping at the bit. Best case for Darcy, and I think a realistic case, is an explosive, hard running centre square mid in the Max Holmes vein. And if he makes it to that level, watch out because we will have a deadly centre square if we can get him, Nas, and Flanders hitting their potential ceiling.
Very apt comparison with Holmes...similar attributes and trajectory

Yeh, then keep him.

In the build up it was all “Jack and Rowan were front loaded we don’t need the money off the books” but now all of a sudden it’s “oh it’s great to get even half his money off the books”.

To be clear every move we made on trade week was a winner, this one just missed. I’d rather have taken a fourth or fifth rounder or ****ing swap a late pick and dump his whole salary rather than what we did.
Well no, I haven't flipped and flopped at all on him. Been saying for some time that he wouldn't be best 22 and it was probably time to move past him.

I also said that he would likely only get us a third rounder.

Best just to get most of his salary off the books and move on.

Neither here nor there really, either we get a draft pick we actually use or we pay a small portion of his pay.

I think I prefer getting a pick we can actually use

Yeh, then keep him.

Our club said to the guy who was our captain this year we don't necessarily see you in our best 22, you might want to look elsewhere. Out of respect to him, we helped him get to where he (reluctantly) wanted to go. It probably got him another year on his contract.

We don't know how much salary we're paying.

There was ruthlessness in this move, but there was also respect and compassion. I'm fine with that.... in fact, I really like it.

I have to admit i agree. Their plans to turn him into an inside midfielder seems a poor fit. Let him run!
I personally thought that high half forward role where he just ran his opponent from one end of the field to the other on repear in his debut season was his best spot.

Maybe the inside mid thing was to teach him how to get the footy with his head over the ball, or it was to do with his sometimes erratic kicking.

I hope we get the best out of him wherever he ends up.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V