List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
For all the hype and excitement, trading Marshall and Steele for TDK, Silvagni, Flanders and Ryan doesn't seem to move the needle much for me.

I feel like we are just as dependent on natural progression of our youngsters, but potentially with a bit less money to pay them once they come good.

I have backed the strategy as converting cap space to player assets is good business, but if we lose Marshall for unders, a lot of the good work gets cancelled out.

Didn’t Gorringe say in his podcast (that someone posted a while back) that if the Marshall trade went “deep” SDK might be involved…is that a possibility?

It hasn’t been discussed properly at all as far as I know, it would be pretty extraordinary for it to have been kept under wraps this long OR get done in the next 30 minutes

I actually think it's purely a list spot decision coupled with respect for Jack wanting to play senior footy.

Macrae, Flanders, Garcia and Windhager all going to play most games. We have Nas and Hall pushing in more regularly, guys like Wilson, Boxshall, Dow, Carroll, Trav etc all pushing up from underneath.
Yeah good points but still reckon the massive NAZ contract has partly caused this.
Doesn't mean we cooked the cap, but we need to free up cash for the kids in 27

Ok everyone, put your emotions to the side cos this is the club doing best by Jack. It allows Jack to play AFL as a starting mid. Would some of you prefer to keep Jack and watch him be the sub or play VFL after standing down as skipper?
Show Jack the respect of doing what’s best for him and don’t selfishly wish he stayed for sentiment

I think moving Steele on would be similar to when Hawthorn moved on Mitchell and O'Meara — it would open up more opportunities for the younger players and help with their development.
I was thinking the exact same thing. If we want to play Macrae, NAS, Flanders, Windy, Hall, Boxshall, Garcia, Pou, Wilson, Trav in the midfield next year it's going to get pretty crowded.

Yeah good points but still reckon the massive NAZ contract has partly caused this.
Doesn't mean we cooked the cap, but we need to free up cash for the kids in 27
All money available is helpful.

Even if Jack was front ended it’s still likely half a mil minimum for the next few years

Ok everyone, put your emotions to the side cos this is the club doing best by Jack. It allows Jack to play AFL as a starting mid. Would some of you prefer to keep Jack and watch him be the sub or play VFL after standing down as skipper?
Show Jack the respect of doing what’s best for him and don’t selfishly wish he stayed for sentiment
I’d let people feel their feelings especially if I’d been around for 6 minutes mate

He follows the Casey trail of Billings, Dunston and other St Kilda greats (Shane Grambeau) to Melbourne, but I am sure everyone is sad, especially as he really wanted to stay. But perhaps he will have relief? Yes, but still it is sad on balance. And I think he is(was) still in our best three midfielders. I'm not arguing that he might be on the slide, but damn, that hurts.
What is sadder?
Jack Steel kicking the winning goal for Melbourne against the Saints?
Jack Steele in the Melbourne seconds?
Casey in the Saints seconds?

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V