List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
Clubs have to use three list spots. Looks likely we will use only one for the draft in Fincher. Therefore two rookie upgrades in Caminiti & Hall are the two obvious others. Jones Byrnes Schoenmaker will all now have to be delisted (or Re-Rookied) accordingly.

What would be the advantage of upgrading them if we don't have too?

But they "tRiEd EvErYtHiNg".

They didn't even try to pull off a pick swap with another club to offer an upgraded pick.

Mackie literally gets paid to only work for 3 minutes in the year.
9yLkyTk.gif

Clubs have to use three list spots. Looks likely we will use only one for the draft in Fincher. Therefore two rookie upgrades in Caminiti & Hall are the two obvious others. Jones Byrnes Schoenmaker will all now have to be delisted (or Re-Rookied) accordingly.
Need to make two live picks don’t you?

I think you can only make one if upgrading two rookies, which we might do (Caminiti and Hall).

What would be the advantage of upgrading them if we don't have too?
Nothing necessarily, I think you'd try and manage it around your overall list management strategy over the coming years (i.e., anticipate who will be delisted / strength of upcoming drafts, etc.) but also have an eye on the availability of draftees through the National and Rookie Drafts.

Listening to SEN this arvo and Andy Maher potting us for TDKs $1.8m contract and JSOS for being our list managers son had me fuming. Then laughs about Curnow being a sook when asked to toughen up. Only to talk about Walsh, the new saviour who told everyone to commit 100% going forward and will be captain yada yada yada.

Well, he's the third one in the above photo, if he plays 23 games next year I'd offer Walsh a warchest - purely to rub it in that dweebs face. He's such a flog when it comes to Carlton issues

Steele’s last 11 games (including 1 sub appearance)

19.18 disposals
9.45 tackles (wow)
0.72 rebound 50s
3 inside 50s
4.45 clearances
0.18 goals per game

Outside of the tackles. His second half of the year had him as a real liability.
Ays an elite level of tackles because he's always second to the ball.

Gawn will give him the advantage more often but he's just not built for the run and gun style that Ross & Boris want the team playing.

This is there typical victim mentality and arrogance, from their thread

'
If we take it as true that our offer was 3 first rounders for just Curnow (with nothing coming back the other way) as was reported, then it is a shocking deal. As has been said here though, it smells of clubs simply saying "we wont deal with Geelong". Carlton couldve gotten 3 firsts from us for Curnow and kept everything else they have now sent to Sydney. I cant fathom how that is a better deal for them than what we offered.'

Nothing to do with getting two contracted players to nominate you then you low ball the trades :rolleyes::rolleyes:

The sheer arrogance and hubris of the above quote is breathtaking.

Really glad they got nobody and they have stood still. got a 9 goal flogging in the GF and have gone backwards. Good.
Triple Good. Double Good wasn't a big enough step up from you and one good whilst "good" doesn't quite capture the true essence of what you were trying to portray 😁

Fully fit ruck stocks next year will see us ruck 100% game time with TDK and Marshall.

No more 5 minute stints of makeshift ruckmen.

2026 we cooking
It’s either gonna work which is great or it doesn’t in which case clubs will come knocking with more prepared offers and Keeler or Dodson will take over. Hopefully we don’t lose them if it does work though.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V