List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion

At the end of the day ideally we are talking about a mature VFL depth option when Payne is back from injury and McGovern doesn't fit that really. But not sure what other free options there are so we can preserve draft picks for rorts.
If it's VFL depth we want, then we can just kick the tires on the top VFL key defenders who don't have AFL contracts for next season: Aaron Francis (Sydney), Ethan Phillips (Carlton), Wade Derksen (Giants), Mutaz El Nour (Richmond), Luke Parks (Williamstown). There's also Ryan Gardner at the Bulldogs who has a contract for next year but shouldn't be expensive in a trade.

Looks like Eric is out for a month with a calf as per Michael Whiting
That's really disappointing. I have been told by a medico that these are always a 6 week injury. You can't cheat on the timeline :'(

First We Feast Lets Go GIF by Saturday Night Live

I don’t think people should get down on what Doedee can provide us going forward. He was rehabbing until earlier in the season.

He needs a proper preseason, having probably not done one for several years. That will give him confidence in his body and important strength and conditioning to play AFL footy.

That’s the positive message I’m sure they’ll be conveying to him. Next years preseason matches are going to be an extremely interesting watch.

Grain of Salt time.

Got dragged to a 'Sportsman's night' gig at a local Perth pub on Saturday night with the hook being Cam Rayner and Darcy Wilmot 'uncensored' for an hour or so.

Was hardly controversial stuff for the most part. Example Questions "Why is Lachie Neale so good?", "Favourite Game/teammate", "Worst Opponent", "Most Annoying Teammate" with (media trained) answers from Cam and a combo of honesty/nonsense from Wilmot.

Until this question "Which non-Lions player would you like at your club'. Cam thought for 10 seconds and said "I've always admired Oscar Allen and I'd reckon he would be good to play with", before Wilmot added "Yeah, he'll be great to play with... oops, 'would be great' to play with" before giving a chuckle and an Austin Powers-esque 'ain't I naughty?' look.

In other news Cam also mentioned they do seem to hope Bez will be back first week of finals but too early to know. Can't recall anything else of note aside from both lads conducted themselves well for the most part.

Grain of Salt time.

Got dragged to a 'Sportsman's night' gig at a local Perth pub on Saturday night with the hook being Cam Rayner and Darcy Wilmot 'uncensored' for an hour or so.

Was hardly controversial stuff for the most part. Example Questions "Why is Lachie Neale so good?", "Favourite Game/teammate", "Worst Opponent", "Most Annoying Teammate" with (media trained) answers from Cam and a combo of honesty/nonsense from Wilmot.

Until this question "Which non-Lions player would you like at your club'. Cam thought for 10 seconds and said "I've always admired Oscar Allen and I'd reckon he would be good to play with", before Wilmot added "Yeah, he'll be great to play with... oops, 'would be great' to play with" before giving a chuckle and an Austin Powers-esque 'ain't I naughty?' look.

In other news Cam also mentioned they do seem to hope Bez will be back first week of finals but too early to know. Can't recall anything else of note aside from both lads conducted themselves well for the most part.
Now I am upset I didn't realise this was actually in Perth. I just assumed it was over east and paid it no mind.

I don’t think people should get down on what Doedee can provide us going forward. He was rehabbing until earlier in the season.

He needs a proper preseason, having probably not done one for several years. That will give him confidence in his body and important strength and conditioning to play AFL footy.

That’s the positive message I’m sure they’ll be conveying to him. Next years preseason matches are going to be an extremely interesting watch.
I'm in the same boat.

Anyone of the opinion that he's done and a bit of a bust is entitled to have it on what we've seen so far.

But he's never really had the prep from the time he got up here , firstly in recovery mode from his second ACL ,and then doing the 3rd on top of it with a limited prep coming into this year.

I'd send him to a beach for 5 or 6 weeks and map out a slow steady conditioning build into the 2026 season.

I'm only hoping but haven't given up and I know he hasn't.

Now I am upset I didn't realise this was actually in Perth. I just assumed it was over east and paid it no mind.

I didn't plan to go but my son over-ruled me. TBH you didn't miss much.

The ones that are generally better are the retired players as they no longer care about what the club thinks and for the most part have better stories to tell.

It was decent and aside from the above, hardly revelatory. I don't regret going but I would much rather something a little 'meatier'.

I'm in the same boat.

Anyone of the opinion that he's done and a bit of a bust is entitled to have it on what we've seen so far.

But he's never really had the prep from the time he got up here , firstly in recovery mode from his second ACL ,and then doing the 3rd on top of it with a limited prep coming into this year.

I'd send him to a beach for 5 or 6 weeks and map out a slow steady conditioning build into the 2026 season.

I'm only hoping but haven't given up and I know he hasn't.

No amount of pre-season preparation will get his speed and agility back. His body is cooked. It was worth the risk to get him, and it was one of the risks that unfortunately didn't work out.

Not questioning your perspective but he's got another 2 years so I guess we just need to try to make the best of his situation and hope he can get back to make a contribution.

Maybe I need to rewatch the Sydney game because I thought Doedee was fine but he’s being talked about like a liability if he was playing
I thought Doedee had what you would call a vanilla game, he didn't do anything that stood out to me as really good or really bad, solid.

IIRC his opponent on the day didn't kick a bag unlike Heeney, he wasn't on Heeney was he? Or were my eyes deceiving me?

Maybe I need to rewatch the Sydney game because I thought Doedee was fine but he’s being talked about like a liability if he was playing
You won't get anywhere around here if you actually watch games and make reasonable assessments of performances.

I had the same thought. I remember a couple of occasions where it looked like he was adjusting to the pace and the game was a second quicker than he expected, but I can't say I really noticed him otherwise which isn't necessarily a bad thing.

That's really disappointing. I have been told by a medico that these are always a 6 week injury. You can't cheat on the timeline :'(
There needs to be a crying emoji. I love Gallop but he was not good in the VFL on Sunday.
I don’t think we can win this without a fit Hipwood.

There needs to be a crying emoji. I love Gallop but he was not good in the VFL on Sunday.

Only options (if not Gallop) are Smith as a FF, Lloyd (who isn't much better than Gallop I've heard), or Ryan - who is just a fill-in.

Don't need a lot from whoever comes in on Sunday, they just need to play up the ground, take the bail out mark and keep his opponent accountable.

I am one of the ones in the minority who like the bounce. It was better with Spud.
I find Dunstall a little hypocritical when he severely bagging players every episode while his good mate Spud suffered from depression. Maybe he loses perspective when their is $ involved.
I wont watch it but each to their own.

We can win it without Hippy but we need to surprise Radio Man/McIvor with a revised Plan B.

Gotta say I am a little surprised with the responses anout Hippy's injury given the weekly crap he cops from several regular posters here.... Thought Bez's time out would have created more concern. :think:

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion