List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion

Pikey was bloody average. If he was offered an extra $1mil over 4 years he might not have stayed to go to another good side like Sydney

Pikey was also on his last chance for his entire lions career. Don't really think any other club would have put up with him at that stage.

Nah, I totally appreciate the flexibility he brought to the table and how we have made him play all over the ground - he delivered in all of them including keeping a tight leash on Dempsey in Grand final.

He's one smart player who'll be missed for sure. Personally I'd give him a semi-decent multi year contract and lock him away. But since his form was wavering this year I can understand why list management team think we don't have to throw long contract at him.
Yep, don’t think anyone is discrediting him or ignoring what he’s done for us. When you’ve got a list like ours there needs to be priorities and unfortunately Cal probably isn’t close to the top of the list. Been a great player for us and has always stood up though. Deserves his payday and everyone should be wishing him the best

Like hell he was.

Doubt you saw much of him if you’ve reached that conclusion.
Couldn’t agree more. Great hands, good both sides and hard as nails. Was probably best afield in the 2002 GF before he got injured. I loved watching him play.

Im fairly certain I read it in Leigh’s autobiography, but there’s a great story about how we threw him a lifeline. We set up an interview after he was delisted by North and he was running slightly late. Ended up jogging to meet Leigh, but was wearing a suit which he rarely did, which showed the coach he was serious about giving his career a real crack. A lesson for someone like Ugle-Hagan.

We will be back on the miracle injury healers watch list after rehabbing a season ending 6 week calf injury in 2 and a half weeks with Choc.

If you’re injury riddled, we will save you.

Then he should stay; no one is pushing him out except himself. Martin Pike was on $80K for his final years at the club and saw fit to stay and become a triple premiership player with the Lions in his addition to his one with North. What makes Cal different.

money GIF
he played for 4 clubs....your analogy is so bad and you have no idea what/if any clubs offered him anything which I doubt any were

Makes a lot of sense if Big O retires. He clearly has struggled physically this year. So happy that he found a way to get through the finals series and get himself a medal.

Real brutal stuff for Starcevich with the head knock in the Grand Final. That's cost him potentially a lot of $$ but at this point his future health is more important.

The Lions are gone.

Just for the non-Brisbane based supporters and justification of our academy,

Channel 7 and the Courier Mail the official AFL free to air channel and the main newspaper in Brisbane.

Saturday night after the win both have the Lions as the main story. Sunday morning the Lions are equal main story with the Broncos playing the final at 4 pm. Into Sunday afternoon around match time the Lions are already slipping down although channel 7 sport will be telecast from Springfield. The Broncos win, a converted try in the death, headline on the main news and in the sport is Broncos, the Lions are gone from the online Courier Mail which is covered in Broncos by 6pm and but Ch 7 news still covers the lions return but by the live cross the team has gone and just some reserves signing autographs (Robinson, Joyce etc)

Monday - nothing - for the AFL and Lions it's all over, the Broncos are off to the grand final having defeated Penrith whom had won for grand finals in a row. Flights, tickets, long term supporters, who will play, Harrington coming back in, etc. Somewhere in the Courier Mail there is a bit about Fagan but there are 3 or 4 whole NRL pages first.

So much for a Grand final win in your own town, not really that big a deal when the Broncos are playing. We will always need an academy in Qld and diluting it just seems counter intuitive.

Cal was almost in tears saying he loves our club. I feel for him. He doesn’t want to go and we don’t want him to go but he should, he has a chance for a final pay day.

It’s going to be hard though surely to play when your heart is elsewhere.

Sad for Starc, the head knock has cost him heaps but happy for us as we get to keep an elite player albeit with massive longevity risk now

The Lions are gone.

Channel 7 and the Courier Mail the official AFL free to air channel and the main newspaper in Brisbane.

Saturday night after the win both have the Lions as the main story. Sunday morning the Lions are equal main story with the Broncos playing the final at 4 pm. Into Sunday afternoon around match time the Lions are already slipping down although channel 7 sport will be telecast from Springfield. The Broncos win, a converted try in the death, headline on the main news and in the sport is Broncos, the Lions are gone from the online Courier Mail which is covered in Broncos by 6pm and but Ch 7 news still covers the lions return but by the live cross the team has gone and just some reserves signing autographs (Robinson, Joyce etc)

Monday - nothing - for the AFL and Lions it's all over, the Broncos are off to the grand final having defeated Penrith whom had won for grand finals in a row. Flights, tickets, long term supporters, who will play, Harrington coming back in, etc. Somewhere in the Courier Mail there is a bit about Fagan but there are 3 or 4 whole NRL pages first.

So much for a Grand final win in your own town, not really that big a deal when the Broncos are playing. We will always need an academy in Qld and diluting it just seems counter intuitive.
Good stuff Clarky have just tried to email the Fox Afl team and the AFL to convey the same thoughts, the talk of the town in the rest of Australia, yesterdays news in NSW and Qld.

Imagine Greg Swan would be very much aware of it though.

The Lions are gone.

Not that surprising since the news cycle moves on and Brisbane has 2 other teams competing for a Premiership next weekend.
Plus, if it's anything like last year there should be reporting on their Mad Monday stuff today + the BnF on Thursday.

Cal was almost in tears saying he loves our club. I feel for him. He doesn’t want to go and we don’t want him to go but he should, he has a chance for a final pay day.

It’s going to be hard though surely to play when your heart is elsewhere.
Jeepers. It's not like Cal's playing for nothing at the Lions.
I've got no idea what he's on, but surely he'd be on around half a mil / year.
That's got to be enough to set yourself up with a home and an investment or two.
And he'll be able to work / earn a living after footy.

Got to be 'greedy' managers more so than players I'd reckon.
I know what I'd be doing had I been in his situation.

Allen is at the GF today
Was at the Duke of Wellington before the march. Was having a great time with a big group in lions gear. Was in great spirits and looked pumped for the game

People complaining about the now declining news covereage in Brisbane should have see it in the 70"s when I first moved here. It was non-existent. Zip. My son and I used t trundle out to Chelmer to catch the occasional AFL game, TV? Forget it.

A reflection, if I may. Our game here has made tremendous progress. Unbelievable really. It will never be as big as down South, where the vibe in Melbourne over the past few days when we were there was terrific. We are getting a fair crack in what is still a NRL town. Simple as that. But we are making progress.

As yourself this. What game would you want your kid to play. NRL which is dominated in large by very large Pacific Islanders, and where the main object of the game is to belt the crap out of the opposition? Or AFL where the main object is to score. Don't get me wrong, I like NRL but any intelligent observer would agree it's not a patch on what is our only indigenous game. As the ratings show.

We will be back on the miracle injury healers watch list after rehabbing a season ending 6 week calf injury in 2 and a half weeks with Choc.

If you’re injury riddled, we will save you.

Next - Get Doedee back on park and the reputation will skyrocket.

Jeepers. It's not like Cal's playing for nothing at the Lions.
I've got no idea what he's on, but surely he'd be on around half a mil / year.
That's got to be enough to set yourself up with a home and an investment or two.
And he'll be able to work / earn a living after footy.

Got to be 'greedy' managers more so than players I'd reckon.
I know what I'd be doing had I been in his situation.
And if someone is paying him $650k/yr? I don’t know many people who wouldn’t take an extra $300k over two years for doing the same job, or at least be seriously tempted to. It’s not the same thing as us normal plebs moving jobs for an extra $15k.

You hope we can keep the core of the team intact knowing full well teams will come hard for the young boys over the next few years. Hopefullt they want to stick together. By doing so they could down as all timers competing for and hopefully winning even more premierships.

Am worried that Draper and Allen will push out someone in a year or two that we really don’t want to lose.

Cal is unique on our list because he is our best stopper of playmakers who aren't in the midfield ,is the one we trust as the spare in the backline at the end of quarters in tight games , and is able to make the play himself when he's not in a totally defensive phase. Plus he bobs up in key moments in big games.

Murray has picked the most externally undervalued player on our list and offered him a lot more than he's currently getting . He's got a good 4 years left if we think we're in that window imo.

You can only have so many stars on your list. It's how strong your next line of players are that wins you games. Zorko , Gardiner , Ah Chee , Lester, etc. are on peanuts compared to what they would get elsewhere but you don't win games without their contribution.

I understand what it is and that we're probably not prepared to up the ante on keeping Cal. All I'm saying is that he won't be as easy to replace as some on here seem to think.

Cal is unique on our list because he is our best stopper of playmakers who aren't in the midfield ,is the one we trust as the spare in the backline at the end of quarters in tight games , and is able to make the play himself when he's not in a totally defensive phase. Plus he bobs up in key moments in big games.

Murray has picked the most externally undervalued player on our list and offered him a lot more than he's currently getting . He's got a good 4 years left if we think we're in that window imo.

You can only have so many stars on your list. It's how strong your next line of players are that wins you games. Zorko , Gardiner , Ah Chee , Lester, etc. are on peanuts compared to what they would get elsewhere but you don't win games without their contribution.

I understand what it is and that we're probably not prepared to up the ante on keeping Cal. All I'm saying is that he won't be as easy to replace as some on here seem to think.

Yep, agree. Someone's going to have to show that they can do the role.

We searched for so long for a guy who we could reliably put back as a spare late in quarters, Cal was the one who pulled it off.

We needed someone to do the dirty defensive forward work while still being a goal threat. Cal did it.

Need someone to cover the wing or shut down a guy like Dempsey. Cal did it.

Again I agree why we cant afford to match any price, but damn its going to be hard to replace someone who can play all the roles he does.

We searched for so long for a guy who we could reliably put back as a spare late in quarters, Cal was the one who pulled it off.

We needed someone to do the dirty defensive forward work while still being a goal threat. Cal did it.

Need someone to cover the wing or shut down a guy like Dempsey. Cal did it.

Again I agree why we cant afford to match any price, but damn its going to be hard to replace someone who can play all the roles he does.
Does open up a great opportunity for someone else though and while it’ll be hard to find a exact replacement we have got multiple guys on the list that have the ability to stand up and grow into that position.

Don’t want to downplay Cal because he’s been a great player for us but he didn’t have a great season and wasn’t all that impactful, albeit had a really good GF

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion