Go professional then?Speaking earlier this year, U20 manager Ó Sé outlined his frustration with the way in which AFL sides are poaching some of the best Irish talent.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Go professional then?Speaking earlier this year, U20 manager Ó Sé outlined his frustration with the way in which AFL sides are poaching some of the best Irish talent.
Got a ban warning and restricted from posting on the Crows board for making a post saying that the Crows did wrong by ah chee and that the lions did the right thing.
Gave the mod an absolute serve by pointing out that having a different opinion to someone isnt breaking any rules.

Lions hierarchy on apparently a compatible contract to Adelaide. So what is his worth? No injury problems, plays nearly every game for us every year, our best utility player being able to play multiple positions, offered a 5 year contract by Adelaide on excellent money, in our best 22 players.When you opened calling our list manager Dodoro I was expecting a bake ... was happy to be pleasantly surprised!I have been holding off on making making comments on the Ah Chee trade debacle but would like to put some perspective on it. The Lions are currently in the premiership window for the next two to three years but this largely depends on player retention, injuries and recruiting. Out current list manager Dodoro is the best in the business and together with our recruiting team lead by Conole have put together the best and deepest list in the AFL. They have identified players of need, recruited and developed players and traded for players with other clubs in a professional manner. We currently have the deepest list in the AFL with 6 AFL standard players being available nest year sometime who will be trying to get back into the team. We are basically the envy of all other clubs in the AFL. As a result of this great work you would expect all our off contract players to be offered a handsome sum of money to play elsewhere and believe me the opposition is now hunting us. The difficult decision for our available players is do they take the money or do they stay and chase the ultimate success and premiership glory? This is a difficult decision and would not be taken lightly by any of our players. We currently have the best coach, best recruiting team, best list manager and best footy director in the AFL. On top of this we will be relocating to a new football oval which will be the best venue in the AFL.
Now let’s have a look at the plight of the Ah Chee trade. Ah Chee is currently seen as our best utility player being able to play as a half forward, wingman or half back flanker. His 2024 year was his best where he was one of our best finals players and managed to kick 4 goals on the grandfinal. This form unfortunately was not replicated in 2025 where he kicked 24.27 goals/points at 47.1% which is a little under as a half forward flanker. He did however manage to play 25 games but did not get a top 10 finish in our best and fairest. To his credit however played his best footy in our finals campaign. Once Berry was injured Ah Chee was moved to the wing to cover Dempsey in the Grand FINAL and played a great game until the last 5 minutes when the AFLs most dangerous wingman snagged a few goals. Born in October 1997 makes him a 28 year old dual premiership player who is still playing good footy and has been offered a 4 year contract by theLions hierarchy on apparently a compatible contract to Adelaide. So what is his worth? No injury problems, plays nearly every game for us every year, our best utility player being able to play multiple positions, offered a 5 year contract by Adelaide on excellent money, in our best 22 players.
Apparently the Lions provided the Crows 4 different scenarios to complete the trade but the best Adelaide could do was offer a future 2nd rounder and 3rd rounder. This effectively is around 250 points value in draft capital which is hardly a tantalising proposition to any AFL team to make a trade for a valuable premiership player.
So given this information and this scenario what would you do? I reckon given the Lions current position it is more important to make sure that any other team trying to poach our players need to pay what is reasonable. I for one am happy that we did not give away a player for well under their trade value.
Over the next few months Ah Chee will now need to make a decision on whether he will stay at the Lions, be poached by another AFL club which is below Adelaide on the ladder or hope he will get to Adelaide. It will be a daily news story. I wish Callum Ah Chee and his family all the best for the future.
When they realised they had stuffed up they did that little show to cover up the truthNot the sharpest bunch the Adelaide supporters based on comments I’ve received so socials over the last few days when giving my insight on ah chee trade . All they say is either we done him wrong or now they get him for free no onus on there club to ensure a fair and equitable trade was done . Did Dawson go pre season aswelll or did a trade get done . Seems their list boss Justin Reid uses this threat all the time no wonder when looking at who has left and gone to crows last 5 years they haven’t attracted anyone if any real point other then south Australians wanting to return home . Said it before but gees the manager needs a good hard look at himself . So unprofessional fronting up to the Adelaide press conference hand in hand not the way to do business I would think with one of the most powerful on field clubs now .
Not the sharpest bunch the Adelaide supporters based on comments I’ve received so socials over the last few days when giving my insight on ah chee trade . All they say is either we done him wrong or now they get him for free no onus on there club to ensure a fair and equitable trade was done . Did Dawson go pre season aswelll or did a trade get done . Seems their list boss Justin Reid uses this threat all the time no wonder when looking at who has left and gone to crows last 5 years they haven’t attracted anyone if any real point other then south Australians wanting to return home . Said it before but gees the manager needs a good hard look at himself . So unprofessional fronting up to the Adelaide press conference hand in hand not the way to do business I would think with one of the most powerful on field clubs now .
I wonder if the social media intern uploading something a little early...I guess Levi has extended? Was there any other announcement or just this video?
![]()
Videos | AFL, AFLW, VFL, Pressers & More | Brisbane Lions
Levi Ashcroft has extended his contract with the Brisbane Lionswww.lions.com.au
Premierships aren’t won in the pre-season. Let them live in their alternate reality while we bask in back to back gloryYeah but having the spud Adelaide supporters continue with the absolute nonsense is just annoying . They even talking crap about not being able to beat their club in a pre season game and the one at Adelaide mid year when if we had of kicked straight would have slaughtered them . Forget the fact they didn’t win 1 quarter or footy in 2 finals . Laughable football club . Wouldn’t be surprised if our first game of season is us playing them on a sat night over there especially if ah chee goes there .

It's just about spiting us - their rationale being that because we're the premiers we need to bend over and accept a shit deal for a proven player. Or that our academy rorts even it out so we should get nothing anyway.Yeah but having the spud Adelaide supporters continue with the absolute nonsense is just annoying . They even talking crap about not being able to beat their club in a pre season game and the one at Adelaide mid year when if we had of kicked straight would have slaughtered them . Forget the fact they didn’t win 1 quarter or footy in 2 finals . Laughable football club . Wouldn’t be surprised if our first game of season is us playing them on a sat night over there especially if ah chee goes there .
I wonder if the social media intern uploading something a little early...
(Three years for anyone wondering.)
They are just grabbing onto anything they can after their season ended in the disaster it did, and that pre season game is the game where the Crom were calling plays from the Lions playbook. We couldn't stop Murray Davis taking Lions IP to the Crom, but it seems he wasn't smart enough to change the calls out on the field.Yeah but having the spud Adelaide supporters continue with the absolute nonsense is just annoying . They even talking crap about not being able to beat their club in a pre season game and the one at Adelaide mid year when if we had of kicked straight would have slaughtered them . Forget the fact they didn’t win 1 quarter or footy in 2 finals . Laughable football club . Wouldn’t be surprised if our first game of season is us playing them on a sat night over there especially if ah chee goes there .
From their perspective they were offering something that to them would have had value and the fact that it had no value to us was not their problem and a symptom of a wider issue of clubs who values picks vs clubs who value points.It's just about spiting us - their rationale being that because we're the premiers we need to bend over and accept a shit deal for a proven player. Or that our academy rorts even it out so we should get nothing anyway.
Let's see how they front up next year with a harder draw and no improvement to their midfield. They missed out on all the big fish midfielder targets they were after.
I don’t think the manager or the Adelaide list guy understands how worthless Adelaide’s late round picks are. They’ve been grooming him for so long you would think they’d have gone to school.Yep thats why most are pointing the finger at his manager. The managers do the bulk of the legwork in negotiation and he shouldve seen months ahead that the crows couldnt satisfy a trade without trading their first rounder
They knew they could manipulate the PSD.From their perspective they were offering something that to them would have had value and the fact that it had no value to us was not their problem and a symptom of a wider issue of clubs who values picks vs clubs who value points.