List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

I had hoped we’d play finals this year, but watching our struggles without a mature tall ahead of the footy I’m not surprised or disappointed that we’re in the position we are in terms of wins and losses.

What I’ve liked is the last month, and the signs from individuals across the park.

The pressure turns up on Ross and co from next season especially if we land Aleer, TDK, retain Nas and have a healthy Pou and King.

I doubt that we will be in a similar spot in twelve months time, and if we are then I too will share frustrations.

This season seems to have been a perfect storm. Incredibly tough fixture, injuries to players we couldn’t cover and a decline in one of our most important players (Ro).
Agree with this 100%

Anyway, hypothetical for the board.

Rumours are former pick 3, Zane Duursma wants out of north.

Anybody think he is worth whatever we get for Marshall or even our own FRP?
Our first will be too early but definitely worth a late first.

Suspect after Richmond fisted them last year they might be harder to deal with.

I thought I did by saying they (seasons 2026/2027) wouldn’t amount to much?

It would make the Lyon extension even more bizarre if we lost NAS.

In positions of strength. Sure.

We would be losing our best player in our current state of lost build. Your definitely going back before you go forward in that reality.

It's definitely harder but if we hadn't planned for it we weren't thinking ahead. Might need Bonner back.

It’s far from an even competition.
Please - we all know about the unevenness of the fixtures, the differing breaks between games, the huge amount of travel for Collingwood 🙄 -
There’s very little even about it.
We and the Suns were one above the other on the ladder last year. Go back and have a little peek at their fixture in comparison to ours.
I am talking about the standard across the comp. Absolutely every team is beatable on there day.

Maybe Brissie at home are not beatable, Cats at home very difficult, Crows at home no chance.

Every other game you are at least a chance.

I don't subscribe to this idea that we are travelling okay, when we have lost 5 in a row.

Don't know, you said he'd be gone if they had capital. They should have a plan B in place.
I said a deal would be more likely in my opinion.

And then listed pick 8, Bergman and Joe Berry. Fair old haul there.

They don’t have that to offer in reality

I thought I did by saying they (seasons 2026/2027) wouldn’t amount to much?

It would make the Lyon extension even more bizarre if we lost NAS.

In positions of strength. Sure.

We would be losing our best player in our current state of lost build. Your definitely going back before you go forward in that reality.
Will you reset the goal posts? All jokes and barbs aside, that is the criticism of the perennial “doomsday preppers” of the “ever optimists”.

We just keep the rebuild cycle going for basically 15 years now and every time there’s an excuse and re set.

2025 was crunch time but now it’s 2026, so if 2026 is a failure will you say we’ve ****ed it up? Or just push it out another year.

Anyway, hypothetical for the board.

Rumours are former pick 3, Zane Duursma wants out of north.

Anybody think he is worth whatever we get for Marshall or even our own FRP?
I’m happy for someone to archive this and prove me wrong but I don’t rate the duursmas. Something about both of them that just looks… I don’t know… ****inf average

Will you reset the goal posts? All jokes and barbs aside, that is the criticism of the perennial “doomsday preppers” of the “ever optimists”.

We just keep the rebuild cycle going for basically 15 years now and every time there’s an excuse and re set.

2025 was crunch time but now it’s 2026, so if 2026 is a failure will you say we’ve ****ed it up? Or just push it out another year.
I think this offseason is very important in defining expectations.

If as expected you bring in TDK Aleer and potentially a third. I can’t imagine the club sold them on anything but a rise up the ladder.

So, my first question would be would we have a list possible of playing finals? That should be a yes.

Is the coach good enough and is he the right man for the job? Both should be a yes, but if he can’t get us back to September next year with a healthy list and the above inclusions. Then he should be under an elephant.

I’m happy for someone to archive this and prove me wrong but I don’t rate the duursmas. Something about both of them that just looks… I don’t know… ****inf average
It’s the fact they’re all Positionless that worries me. But I do think that norths version has a very high ceiling, albeit he also has huge bust factor.

Don’t disagree. Hence me throwing the hypothetical out. Something about everyone one of their games that shits me.

But still, he is as talented as they come apparently

I think this offseason is very important in defining expectations.

If as expected you bring in TDK Aleer and potentially a third. I can’t imagine the club sold them on anything but a rise up the ladder.

So, my first question would be would we have a list possible of playing finals? That should be a yes.

Is the coach good enough and is he the right man for the job? Both should be a yes, but if he can’t get us back to September next year with a healthy list and the above inclusions. Then he should be under an elephant.
Fair enough.
There’s just aloooooot of caveats on that.

I am talking about the standard across the comp. Absolutely every team is beatable on there day.

Maybe Brissie at home are not beatable, Cats at home very difficult, Crows at home no chance.

Every other game you are at least a chance.

I don't subscribe to this idea that we are travelling okay, when we have lost 5 in a row.
I never said we’re travelling ok. More as I expected right now.
I said we are around where we should be if you are realistic - again in my opinion only. When you compare incredibly experienced teams to the teams we are fielding I genuinely don’t believe that any team can beat every other on any given day. Looking at the ladder will tell you that.

Don’t disagree. Hence me throwing the hypothetical out. Something about everyone one of their games that shits me.

But still, he is as talented as they come apparently
I think I’d rather use our first for whatever is available in the draft and try to turn Roma and whatever we’ve got left into mini Pou and Fincher. TDK as the FA and hope like **** we retain Nas.

If Nas goes who knows, blow it all up, trade anyone over 30 and rebuild properly with the kids as the core.

Or just ship the whole ****ing joint to Tassie.