List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

I’m going to ask you both one question.

IF money is so important.

Why is it supposedly going to cost us MORE to retain Nas and in LESS YEARS than what it will cost for him to go to an SA club?

Isn’t that statement backwards?

Whilst simultaneously the club had an agreement and then Ben Williams walked back the state of play within the last 3 weeks.

Doesn’t that statement point to a bigger issue at play?

Dude

You said Nas has agreed to stay, and that his manager is trying to squeeze more money out of us. I said Nas has a say in what his manager is doing. I don't see that as being complicated... at all.

And I'll say it again.... as I've said over and over...anyone who thinks the money we've been throwing at the likes of TDK won't influence how our current players feel going into their own negotiations is straight up trippin'. It just human nature.

To me, the club needed to identify who of our current group they wanted to take us forward, and do everything they could to lock them down before dick swingin' this war chest to every half decent player outside the club they perceived as gettable.

I’m sure he has heaps to work on and I’m sure he’ll take your views on his hardness on board.

It’s on the coaches to get the most out of him, not make up stories about wanting to play at a lower level.
It’s also on Wilson to get the best out of himself- buck doesn’t always stop with coaches to improve you
Common thread with great players - they have the drive themselves to improve
We’ll see soon enough what Wilson’s made of
Garcia has answered that question already

Wilson has some weapons but is the softest player in the team, including Hill.

He needs toughen up and learn to straightline the ball, not be so tentative.
I also worry about his decision making, you can improve it but some never do, or they just get coached to kick it long ala dougs. He's meant to be the outlet hard running player that breaks free and delivers into the 50 or picks out an option in the corridor, right now his main strength is getting back in defence, helpful but not damaging

What round of the draft is Bevan Phillipou expected to be drafted?

I’ve seen highlights of him and he’s looks to be a fluid left footer like his brother. But beyond that I know little about him.

What do the draft watchers think of him? What are his strengths and weaknesses?

I also worry about his decision making, you can improve it but some never do, or they just get coached to kick it long ala dougs. He's meant to be the outlet hard running player that breaks free and delivers into the 50 or picks out an option in the corridor, right now his main strength is getting back in defence, helpful but not damaging
I think he’ll be an interesting watch
1. Can he improve decision making as he looks a deer in headlights with ball in hand
2. Even at junior levels his disposal was never damaging/his strong suit …often kicks slow floaters ….from those who watched him plenty
3. Was NEVER an inside mid at junior levels played outside/wing often I was a tad surprised when the club thought he could become that ..

IF he can improve no one doubts his athleticism…but you need more than that in AFL

What round of the draft is Bevan Phillipou expected to be drafted?

I’ve seen highlights of him and he’s looks to be a fluid left footer like his brother. But beyond that I know little about him.

What do the draft watchers think of him? What are his strengths and weaknesses?
Should be late first round

I really like him - even without the surname. He's pretty much mattaes except shorter but more athletic. Dual-footed, has a nice sidestep, confident, good overhead. Defensive running and lack of height probably his main issues atm but I wouldn't be surprised if a team took him earlier than expected

Already been stated. He’s been offered a front ended contract by both Adelaide teams with the first two years at 2m a year. We’ve offered a 2 year contract at 1.4m a year. That’s 1.2m left on the table the next two years.
Nice addition of the 'next two years' that wasn't in either previous comment.

But, does missing that money the next two years matter when it likely means he will earn 600k less per year afterwards? If he stays with us and signs 2 years at 1.4m, then his next deal would be at 1.4m or higher for however long he wants so no need to drop his amount per year at all.

I think he’ll be an interesting watch
1. Can he improve decision making as he looks a deer in headlights with ball in hand
2. Even at junior levels his disposal was never damaging/his strong suit …often kicks slow floaters ….from those who watched him plenty
3. Was NEVER an inside mid at junior levels played outside/wing often I was a tad surprised when the club thought he could become that ..

IF he can improve no one doubts his athleticism…but you need more than that in AFL
I think the penetration/angle on his kicking is actually pretty good, it's his decision making that is the main issue imo

I really like him - even without the surname. He's pretty much mattaes except shorter but more athletic. Dual-footed, has a nice sidestep, confident, good overhead. Defensive running and lack of height probably his main issues atm but I wouldn't be surprised if a team took him earlier than expected
more athletic? big poo is pretty athletic

Already been stated. He’s been offered a front ended contract by both Adelaide teams with the first two years at 2m a year. We’ve offered a 2 year contract at 1.4m a year. That’s 1.2m left on the table the next two years.

Thats not correct, their offers would be over a period of possibly 7 years and it would average out over that time to possibly less than what we have offerred for the 2 years with us.

Williams is setting Nas up for a huge pay day when and if he leaves after 2 years, as by that time Port and the Adelaide will be forking out much more than the 1.2M average per year. Its smart business on his behalf, but he would want to be careful not to get too greedy. There is no point being the highest paid players in the country if the club cant afford to keep others.

Its exactly why the TDK offer is killing us!

Thanks mate.

I wonder if we try to land an extra pick in the first round to nab him.

He seemed to have plenty of time in the highlights I saw. And was a good mark.

I never saw him swing on to the right leg though.

If that is true, NAS should leave. Simply "matching" the long term deal is insulting given what we are willing to pay TDK.

Rubbish.

Nas costs us not just the $$$, but the pick we used to draft him. If he goes now, we also will gain something in trade for him.

TDK costs us just the $$$, but is free to acquire.

Any player, or player manager, should understand the vast difference.

When you think about it, it's so crazy that to be an AFL player, you have to play for the first two years at whatever club selects you, you have no say in it at all, even if you are an 18 y.o. kid who's never left home before and a club on the other side of the continent drafts you.

Then we fans act like this player is our birthright and try to lock him away in our dungeon and if he ever makes noise about leaving, we treat him like he sold military secrets to the Nazis.

Something a bit twisted about the whole thing really.

I know it's probably the fairest system there could be and no one forces players to enter the draft and they are well compensated, but you can see why some succeed and some don't.

Not for the faint hearted.
Just like any professional sport, ever.
Many are traded mid-season and have no say in where they go.
You sign up for the sport, you know what you are getting into.

Sorry, cant agree. Wherever they are drafted to they are within a few hours flight of home.
To do something they love and with the potential to earn a fortune.
Nah. Not empathetic for this.

Thanks mate.

I wonder if we try to land an extra pick in the first round to nab him.

He seemed to have plenty of time in the highlights I saw. And was a good mark.

I never saw him swing on to the right leg though.
I'd imagine the pick we could potentially get for Marshall would be high enough

Uses his right foot plenty in this game:

Pointless and unprofessional exercise extending Ratten's contract and then not honoring it. Lyon got us into an elimination final as did Ratten, but otherwise has achieved nothing of note in three seasons except a downward spiral. Back to the future is right.
Has turned over most of a list of very ordinary players with no hope of taking us anywhere.
Someone had to do it.
Much happier with where we are now than where we were even with his first season with us.

Thats not correct, their offers would be over a period of possibly 7 years and it would average out over that time to possibly less than what we have offerred for the 2 years with us.

Williams is setting Nas up for a huge pay day when and if he leaves after 2 years, as by that time Port and the Adelaide will be forking out much more than the 1.2M average per year. Its smart business on his behalf, but he would want to be careful not to get too greedy. There is no point being the highest paid players in the country if the club cant afford to keep others.

It’s exactly why the TDK offer is killing us!
💯
This narrative that it’s not about money for NAS is cop out in case he leaves

We offer TDK 1.7 over 7 years who is good ruckman nothing more yet, LDU 1.7 a year and think NAS isn’t saying I’m 3x times better then them pay me what I’m worth

The history of the club since our first and last premiership back in the dark old days where decimal currency had just come in, has been supposed rebuild, after rebuild, after rebuild over and over..it's a bullsh*t excuse for failure from the top to bottom.
So you would have been happy carrying on with Ratten and that list?
Because that was the alternative.
This club needed a big shake up to break the mould. We were going absolutely nowhere.
Who knows if this rebuild will either, but you have to at least try.

Also, should we not do what it takes to get quality players alongside him?
Honestly - I'm about to take a sabbatical from all footy media.
The amount of rubbish they put out there.
HOW has Tdk cost us Nas?
We have the money for both. Its not either or.

Ill tell you something, almost every media person, beside the Saints one, are barracking for us to fail on this.