List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

Murphy Reid doing his Rising Star chances no harm. Personally I would rather him than Harley Reid. Harley spends his entire games in dick measuring contests trying to be a tough guy. Winning the ball or defensive efforts are not his priority.
I would've taken him with pick 1 in last year's draft and nothing I've seen this year has really changed my mind. Tauru would be close and Lalor if not for his hammies. A real love/hate watch after we passed on him but definitely one for the footballers over athletes camp. Still reckon he ends up a midfielder

Curtin prob has the RS sewn up though - one of the few players who is in straight swap for Nas territory IMO (not that it would ever happen). Incredible prospect. Another example of why sliding down the draft order is not the end of the world

I reckon Harley stays at WC. His management have asked them to present some contract options, so he is clearly open to staying. He seems too big a gamble (right now) for any other club, in terms of both draft capital & salary. No doubt the talent is there but you would want to have a pretty robust culture and environment in place to consider him & hope he finds that consistency and discipline

But also quietly hoping the Bombers hand over three firsts for him and lock in another decade of irrelevance

Taking the "excuses" approach:

Cats cheat.

Hawks team was built on the old priority pick system the fell apart. Haven't done anything since.

Dogs have father sons. Won their only flag on the back of the most insane month of footy ever plus Tom Boyd going nuclear for 2 games.

Pies have father sons AND 1st round NGA. They don't win without Moore, IQ and the Daicos boys.

Dees were literally hand picked by the AFL. They were given every possible off field advantage to help set them up. They also have the GOAT ruck.

Tigers had to dump a former #1 draft pick and club champion PLUS a handful of picks, to roll the dice on Nank, Prestia & Caddy, AND play a style of footy that lead to rules changes AND draft the greatest finals player of all time and they still went into 2/3 grand finals as underdogs.

So yeah, all we need is a couple of free first rounders, a game changing style of play, an incredible run of form and to find a player that is in the GOAT discussion for their position.

Or we find a way to cheat like the Cats do.
Not to mention the academy system has only been a real rort for maybe 5-7 years, it's when it became free reign and not a pure first 20 picks. After 20 or first round I don't mind the academy. Encourages growth in the northern states without outright biasing it. Hawthorn won their flags before that. Hawthorn has developed very good talent outside of top picks, gotta hand it to them. Top picks not always the best players, but ur MORE LIKELY to hit earlier in the draft than later. I'd prefer pick 2 over pick 12 obviously. Better strike rate

Have geelong, Hawthorn, Dogs, Pies, Dees & tigers all been operating in a different system to us?

Because they have either managed to win flags or rebuilt into a position to challenge over the last 10 years.
What’s your point ?
So what
Pies, Dogs, Cats all kissed on dick with plenty of “draft assistance “ by way of FS/academy help ???
Dees rebuild was sponsored by AFL after multiple years of being shit
Hawks haven’t played finals in 6-7 years ??

One of the worst things about modern discourse - especially online, is this "if you think 'x' then you must be 'y'".
How many times has happy clapper been rolled out on here at anything remotely positive.
Such a low intelligence way of approaching things. Has ruined the way so many things are discussed, and now threatens to further ruin the forum.
Super post

One of the worst things about modern discourse - especially online, is this "if you think 'x' then you must be 'y'".
How many times has happy clapper been rolled out on here at anything remotely positive.
Such a low intelligence way of approaching things. Has ruined the way so many things are discussed, and now threatens to further ruin the forum.
pretty sure I read this exact passage in my copy of mein kampf last night

Have you returned to put the boot in having secretly gone over to the dark side ?. You’re sounding a lot like someone who doesn’t have a good word to say about us. You’re entitled to your opinion and I’m entitled to disagree.

As to hiding behind keyboards, please spare me the faux bravado.
I'm putting the boot in because im sick to death of being shithouse in a competition where if you select a good player with a top 10 draft pick especially multiple ones you eventually tend to play finals consistantly. We however seem to stuff this up consistently over a large period of time and a fair junk of our supporters accept this or make excuses or defend the club.

We gave won 1 in 11 or so odd games and in those it included losses to rabbles of a team in West Coast and Carlton. Ross has been fantastic at escaping media criticism about our performance by bringing up and talking about excuses to shy away from the fact how terrible we have been.

I don't remember him mentioning all these issues in season 1 when making finals, and heck even last year he wasn't bringing up these issues as we went on a solid run towards the end of the year.

This year look at his first 5 or 6 weeks when we had some form, dont think he gave to much of a trap about it and the only person that said something was our president which is fair enough.

We fall off an absolute cliff and he is sprouting it week in week out taking the spotlight away from what is actually happening with our performance. I actually agree with him that it needs to change to make it more fair, but saying it week in week out is just ridiculous.

Ross is lucky he has friends in the media as imo we have not been anywhere near the spotlight as we should have been given our performances over the last 3 months.

You can say what you want, but let me put it into clear perspective for everyone, we are on the same amount of points as Richmond. Essendon who are using my grandmother to fill in due to the amount of injuries they have are 4 points ahead and 1 game as well. North Melbourne who we all laugh at are only 2 points behind us and let's not forget we also lost to West Coast who won like 10 games on 60 or 70 odd.

2 questionable calls from our president (I have big ? About him more than anyone esle associated with the saints) have happened at the start of the year that to me anyway are massive ??

1. Signing Max King to the longest deal in our history with all his injuries was a massive risk we didnt need to do.

2. Signing up Ross for an extra 2 years again didnt need to happen, No one was poaching him and pulling the trigger after playing a few decent games to start the season is imo the incorrect move.

But anyway let's all sing and dance how great we are and how we need another rebuild due to everyone esle faults. How many is that now since 2010? 4 or 7? Us supporters could have built the trade towers with our bare hands by now.

Off topic but this seems the most active thread to get an answer.

What days/time can you see the boys have a decent training session next week? Flying down from northern nsw for a holiday on the Mornington Peninsula tomorrow.
How dare you!!!

Murphy Reid doing his Rising Star chances no harm. Personally I would rather him than Harley Reid. Harley spends his entire games in dick measuring contests trying to be a tough guy. Winning the ball or defensive efforts are not his priority.
Was the number one ticket holder in the Murphy Reid fan club last year. He’s a jet

I'm putting the boot in because im sick to death of being shithouse in a competition where if you select a good player with a top 10 draft pick especially multiple ones you eventually tend to play finals consistantly. We however seem to stuff this up consistently over a large period of time and a fair junk of our supporters accept this or make excuses or defend the club.

We gave won 1 in 11 or so odd games and in those it included losses to rabbles of a team in West Coast and Carlton. Ross has been fantastic at escaping media criticism about our performance by bringing up and talking about excuses to shy away from the fact how terrible we have been.

I don't remember him mentioning all these issues in season 1 when making finals, and heck even last year he wasn't bringing up these issues as we went on a solid run towards the end of the year.

This year look at his first 5 or 6 weeks when we had some form, dont think he gave to much of a trap about it and the only person that said something was our president which is fair enough.

We fall off an absolute cliff and he is sprouting it week in week out taking the spotlight away from what is actually happening with our performance. I actually agree with him that it needs to change to make it more fair, but saying it week in week out is just ridiculous.

Ross is lucky he has friends in the media as imo we have not been anywhere near the spotlight as we should have been given our performances over the last 3 months.

You can say what you want, but let me put it into clear perspective for everyone, we are on the same amount of points as Richmond. Essendon who are using my grandmother to fill in due to the amount of injuries they have are 4 points ahead and 1 game as well. North Melbourne who we all laugh at are only 2 points behind us and let's not forget we also lost to West Coast who won like 10 games on 60 or 70 odd.

2 questionable calls from our president (I have big ? About him more than anyone esle associated with the saints) have happened at the start of the year that to me anyway are massive ??

1. Signing Max King to the longest deal in our history with all his injuries was a massive risk we didnt need to do.

2. Signing up Ross for an extra 2 years again didnt need to happen, No one was poaching him and pulling the trigger after playing a few decent games to start the season is imo the incorrect move.

But anyway let's all sing and dance how great we are and how we need another rebuild due to everyone esle faults. How many is that now since 2010? 4 or 7? Us supporters could have built the trade towers with our bare hands by now.
That’s a lot of angst mate take a Bex
And I’ve seen your grandma play…she’ll go ok at Bombers
Hang in there…

We have a problem when it comes to key position players at both ends of the ground and im watching our very own 198cm Oscar Adams who we thought was usless and delisted him play for GC currently.

We blame academies, draft quality and everything else under the sun in every press conference. Someone might want to tell the President and the coach about what is happening internally with the way we have wasted numerous top 18 draft picks while every club around us has drafted elite level talent. Since 2014 until 2021, we hang out hat on Max Hall yet get blind sided by players who should be at their absolute peak right now in McCartin, Billings, Dunstan, Acres, Gresham, Coffield, Clark can also add in King (Rozee, B.King, Smith and Butters all top 12 picks after Max) thus far that have been a failure. We have hit only 1 elite player in Nas with years of not only top 18 picks but either top 5 or top 10.

I can't think of a club who has a worse strike rate then us when it comes to recruiting top 18 picks since 2014.
You forgot how the media always pick on us for no reason lol
We are where we are because of our miss management IMO just easier to blame others

You forgot how the media always pick on us for no reason lol
We are where we are because of our miss management IMO just easier to blame others
I would love to know where people here have not blamed leadership, recruitment and development. It is is genuinely laughable how you and others cant see that two things can be true at once.

Plenty on here havent none of its the clubs fault

All the good mids were gone before our pick allegedly