List Mgmt. 2025 List Management

Won’t be a popular post but Corey Wagner is actually in a different league as a footballer to both Neil Erasmus and Matthew Johnson. Despite the fact both of those guys would be earning substantially more than Wagner, he is a superior footballer than both.

He’s a much more decisive player, with great footy smarts, and most importantly of all - makes much better decisions with the ball in hand than either of the other two.

I would guess Wags is earning probably $300k at best - he was a mature aged draftee that was rejected by two other clubs and would have earned minimum chips in 2023 & 2024.
I reckon he’s one of the highest value performers on this list right now relative to his wage.

Erasmus in particular has looked limited enough the last 2 games. If you get pick 30 for him are we better off letting go? Suppose he might not cost that much on his next deal anyway (unlike right now where he’s still on those ridiculous early career top 10 pick wages)

Won’t be a popular post but Corey Wagner is actually in a different league as a footballer to both Neil Erasmus and Matthew Johnson. Despite the fact both of those guys would be earning substantially more than Wagner, he is a superior footballer than both.

He’s a much more decisive player, with great footy smarts, and most importantly of all - makes much better decisions with the ball in hand than either of the other two.

I would guess Wags is earning probably $300k at best - he was a mature aged draftee that was rejected by two other clubs and would have earned minimum chips in 2023 & 2024.
I reckon he’s one of the highest value performers on this list right now relative to his wage.

Erasmus in particular has looked limited enough the last 2 games. If you get pick 30 for him are we better off letting go? Suppose he might not cost that much on his next deal anyway (unlike right now where he’s still on those ridiculous early career top 10 pick wages)
You're almost arguing against yourself. Wagner is the ultimate journeyman that's been delisted twice and found a way to be a pretty good AFL footballer in his late 20s. Both Ras and MJ are far more advanced than he was at that same age.

It's a very deliberate narrative that's been driven by his management since the start of the year.
Again, basically telling the club to **** off Darcy.
The fact they are close mates and he still throws him under the bus every opportunity he gets just makes it worse

PTkDHR5.png

Wags is going great, but I must admit I chuckled because his debut game for Freo was one of the worst I have ever seen. Great recovery.

I reckon you're giving him too much credit tbh 😂

Definitely disagree with you on this one
So he goes from “I chose Freo because I wouldn’t be pigeonholed as number one ruck and can’t wait to build with Darcy” and “I do whatever the team wants” to “I love being number one ruck only” after literally every single game after there being a story about trade rumours the whole year and you think there’s nothing in it?

Players are media trained. You know every time Jackson says “I want to be number 1” then it starts the narrative of “Freo need to trade Darcy”. It’s a very sudden switch which coincides with escalation of the trade rumours. Don’t think he’s smart enough, but his management sure is.

I don’t think there’s any other way it could come off. The fact they are close mates and he still throws him under the bus every opportunity he gets just makes it worse
So now you finally get it why there’s never been a champion ruck duo aye

Thought you’d played a bit of footy before , the no I in team stuff only lasts till you don’t get the minutes and respect you think your performance deserves

So he goes from “I chose Freo because I wouldn’t be pigeonholed as number one ruck and can’t wait to build with Darcy” and “I do whatever the team wants” to “I love being number one ruck only” after literally every single game after there being a story about trade rumours the whole year and you think there’s nothing in it?

Players are media trained. You know every time Jackson says “I want to be number 1” then it starts the narrative of “Freo need to trade Darcy”. It’s a very sudden switch which coincides with escalation of the trade rumours.
But could it just be something his management is telling him to say as part of his contract renegotiation?

You’ve been going pretty hard at him about this.

I don’t think it’s a concerted power play against Darcy.

Players are media trained. You know every time Jackson says “I want to be number 1” then it starts the narrative of “Freo need to trade Darcy”. It’s a very sudden switch which coincides with escalation of the trade rumours. Don’t think he’s smart enough, but his management sure is.
Feel like you're misrepresenting what is actually happening, he just gets asked if he is enjoying being the ruck and he goes "yeah nah, I love it, love the ruck aye, feels real good in there"

But could it just be something his management is telling him to say as part of his contract renegotiation?

You’ve been going pretty hard at him about this.

I don’t think it’s a concerted power play against Darcy.
It’s definitely to do with contact situation. Doesn’t change that every time they say it it puts the spotlight on his teammate though.

Feel like you're misrepresenting what is actually happening, he just gets asked if he is enjoying being the ruck and he goes "yeah nah, I love it, love the ruck aye, feels real good in there"
What is happening: Jackson wants to be more on ball, wants more cash. Management playing out the narrative publicly. Darcy is a casualty of it whether by design or not.

There are quite a few whispers that resting Darcy due to his sore knee this week is how he will have to be managed for the rest of his career.

If that proves to be the case, I can't see many clubs lining up for him, whereas his value to Freo as a back-up ruckman (admittedly on around 700k) is quite high. Mumford had similar knee issues and build, and was traded for pick 35 to GWS. Seems about right, best case scenario.

The issue with Jackson is he gives you four midfielders at the drop of the ball in the centre. The taps dont really matter, it's his speed, strength and quick hands at ground level that lead to so many centre clearances from Serong and Brayshaw. Huge advantage for Fremantle.

The next position Jackson can be most damaging when not in the ruck we now know is as a mid (his concrete two grab hands mean he will never be a contested marking forward), but it's a still a pretty big drop off from the advantage of effectively four mids at the centre bounces.

Jackson is becoming one of the most damaging weapons in the AFL. The die, it seems, is cast. It's unlikely he will ever play second fiddle in the ruck to any other player again.

You're almost arguing against yourself. Wagner is the ultimate journeyman that's been delisted twice and found a way to be a pretty good AFL footballer in his late 20s. Both Ras and MJ are far more advanced than he was at that same age.
Honestly I’ll be surprised if both Johnson & Erasmus are both still on an AFL list in their late 20s.

I think MJ has more to offer than Erasmus overall and should make himself a decent career if he continues to improve. So he should be a player long term but it’s certainly not a guarantee and he’s far from a sure thing.
Erasmus is tracking like Paddy Dow to be honest. Purple tinted glasses to suggest otherwise.

It would be a mistake to think every player progresses in a linear manner of improvement as they get older. Thais just not the case, as prover every single year.

Wagner is a better player overall though than both. Very harsh on him to say he’s been an ultimate journeyman. From what I’ve seen he’s been mostly top class this season. He’s gone well band truly beyond journeyman status and the good thing this he keeps on improving, because after all - he’s barely played 50 games of AFL footy.

Johnson will be playing AFL for another ten years unless injuries strike big time. If he were at a bottom six side he'd be a 'future star' rather than a 'bottom six player that needs to improve for Freo to take the next step'. Realistically both are true but one far more positive than the other.

Erasmus I'm not so sure but he'll certainly be able to at least contribute depth wise for 4-5 more years if he hangs around.

Ah the old I have no proof and if it doesn't happen I was still right argument...
Mate what more proof do you need?When guys like Ryan Daniels are saying, yeah there’s something in this, then there’s something in it. You think there was no truth to the Neale stuff even though it didn’t eventuate.

And that’s if you ignore every part of this that has played out publicly online.

I like Wagner but he's played a lot more senior footy than Johnson and Erasmus. They're basically straight out of juniors.

Mate what more proof do you need?When guys like Ryan Daniels are saying, yeah there’s something in this, then there’s something in it. You think there was no truth to the Neale stuff even though it didn’t eventuate.

And that’s if you ignore every part of this that has played out publicly online.

What played out publicly exactly? I read it all and there as nothing from Jackson saying he wanted to leave. It is assumptions being made and conclusions being drawn.

I posted a tweet from Daniels saying he wasn't going and you said he was just a mascot for the club and dismissed it. Now you are using him for your claim to authority... Gell-Mann amnesia and some cognitive dissonance mixed in.

There was plenty of evidence of the Jackson thing available to see on socials

Lots of proof was posted in this thread at the time + discussion on it

No there as nothing from Jackson that I saw saying he wanted to go. There was a family spat that got out of hand, the second part is conclusions being drawn from it.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management