List Mgmt. 2025 List Management

Actually see this working out a bit like the Jordan Clark trade tbh. The fact he went as a rookie is irrelevant.

Do I think we'll trade pick 11 for him? No.

Do I think we'll need to put a little bit of extra work into pick 29 to get him? Absolutely.

The pick we ultimately traded for Clark was acquired by upgrading our original second rounder. I think it's ultimately somewhere in the low 20s and tbh I'd package up all picks we have bar pick 11 to get McVee if necessary.

I believe we threw the Pies our second and a third for their earlier pick, then traded that.

But we didnt give them our pick from gold coast they wanted.

Actually see this working out a bit like the Jordan Clark trade tbh. The fact he went as a rookie is irrelevant.

Do I think we'll trade pick 11 for him? No.

Do I think we'll need to put a little bit of extra work into pick 29 to get him? Absolutely.

The pick we ultimately traded for Clark was acquired by upgrading our original second rounder. I think it's ultimately somewhere in the low 20s and tbh I'd package up all picks we have bar pick 11 to get McVee if necessary.
Being a rookie pick isn't irrelevant this early on

If he was taken at pick 15 like Clark then you still get the talented first rounder buff

Clark was also contracted (and Cats held him to his contract when he tried to come the year before) which is definitely a factor

Are clubs still allowed to upgrade a rookie as one of the 3 ND picks required by the league? With talk of Simpkin and McVee, I’m not sure we’ll have much of a hand to actually take more than one live pick before we match a bid on Whan

Yes, still counts as one of the three required

There's literally no talk about Simpkin, just this board embarrassingly overrating him.

Being a rookie pick isn't irrelevant this early on

If he was taken at pick 15 like Clark then you still get the talented first rounder buff

Clark was also contracted (and Cats held him to his contract when he tried to come the year before) which is definitely a factor
It's not relevant when he's a best 23 player at his current club. He's shown he's much better than that.

Being uncontracted is probably the difference between pick 25 and having to add a F3 to pick 25. It makes a difference but BigFooty and the general footy supporting public seem to think the difference is far greater than it actually is.

Love how Fremantle have to overpay for McVee while Bailey Smith goes to Geelong for pick 17 and 38.
Fair right?
Think Bailey Smith goes about pick 15 last year in the open draft. Let's be honest half the teams in Victoria wouldn't touch him because he's a massive flog. I know the leadership group at the Bulldogs were happy to see the back of him.

Think West Coast takes McVee at pick 20 (which is more like pick 30 on the day) if he's in the draft so we can't screw Melbourne over. In theory that can happen so it keeps us honest.

At the same time Melbourne certainly aren't in a position to screw us so pick 11 probably stays off the table completely in this one.

North love burning future picks for nothing.

We might be able to trade #11 for #20, #21 and their F2.

Then trade that f2 to Melbourne for McVee

Aye??

it’s already very cathartic telling weagle fans we have the best Reid in the state , imagine following that up with
“and the best Judd to play in WA too”
Will we have the best Bailey Banfield though? 🤔

As much as McVee will be a relatively simple deal, it may be one of those that end up being done in the last 30 minutes once all the cards are out.

Demons have a few things going on. It would make sense for them to see their full hand. It's why we offer 38 and just wait.
Charlie Spargo is leaving as a free agent to North - prob band 3 (end of second round) and Trakka possibly Gold Coast who have a bevy of picks to pass on (maybe a trade involving Trakka and Flanders). I agree with your point it will suit both parties to see what pieces are in play. Melbourne don’t currently have a first and will want to change that. If Trakka does go that will net them a first rounder and so they won’t be desperate for pick 11-13 (ie our first). If Trakka stays then I can see a deal involving our first but one where we end up with some other decent picks.

North love burning future picks for nothing.

We might be able to trade #11 for #20, #21 and their F2.

Then trade that f2 to Melbourne for McVee
I don't think you would get all three picks only two of them in that scenario.

I am ok with 11 for McVee and 23. On points pick 11 is worth 2 x pick 23s. We can then likely turn 23 and 29 into pick 16 with GC if we wanted to.

So net result would be pick 29 and a slide of pick 11 to 16. Probably puts it smack bang into Rodriguez territory and we still stay ahead of WC later picks.

Would we have any interest in [PLAYERCARD]Kamdyn McIntosh[/PLAYERCARD] as a delisted pick up for some veteran depth for a few years? Originally from Peel.

I know he has some deficiencies but doesn't seem to have lost his pace and durability playing almost every game for past four years. I always thought he looked pretty good whenever I saw him play and would just be some good insurance.

Think Bailey Smith goes about pick 15 last year in the open draft. Let's be honest half the teams in Victoria wouldn't touch him because he's a massive flog. I know the leadership group at the Bulldogs were happy to see the back of him.

Think West Coast takes McVee at pick 20 (which is more like pick 30 on the day) if he's in the draft so we can't screw Melbourne over. In theory that can happen so it keeps us honest.

At the same time Melbourne certainly aren't in a position to screw us so pick 11 probably stays off the table completely in this one.
There’s only two words that need to be said if Melbourne gets chirpy on this deal and demanding too much.

Ed. Langdon.

What goes around comes around. Melbourne can go suck shit.

I love McVee but pick 29 is heaps.

I don't think you would get all three picks only two of them in that scenario.

I am ok with 11 for McVee and 23. On points pick 11 is worth 2 x pick 23s. We can then likely turn 23 and 29 into pick 16 with GC if we wanted to.

So net result would be pick 29 and a slide of pick 11 to 16. Probably puts it smack bang into Rodriguez territory and we still stay ahead of WC later picks.

Last year they traded their future first for pick #27 and a future 2nd. That pick turned out to be pick #3.

They make bad choices

Last year they traded their future first for pick #27 and a future 2nd. That pick turned out to be pick #3.

They make bad choices

Melbourne also love a F1 trade.

What about 11,29 for F1, McVee?

Your F1 and their F1 should be enough to match a Lucas Robinson bid next year.

Would we have any interest in Kamdyn McIntosh as a delisted pick up for some veteran depth for a few years? Originally from Peel.

I know he has some deficiencies but doesn't seem to have lost his pace and durability playing almost every game for past four years. I always thought he looked pretty good whenever I saw him play and would just be some good insurance.
Might get a couple of decent years out of him. He would likely be ahead of our current wing stocks.

Melbourne also love a F1 trade.

What about 11,29 for F1, McVee?

Your F1 and their F1 should be enough to match a Lucas Robinson bid next year.
That trade almost weighs McVee as a net negative, especially with how the draft class has been spoken about. Chuck in our F2 and maybe you got something there. But even then, with how this class has been spoken it'd take a brave list manager to trade in (and at pick 11 too).