List Mgmt. 2025 List Management

He form this year was still very good he just played in a negating role and his form was effected by being injured for most of the preseason. I think 'tell them their dreaming' will be the response t just a second'. Not a ton more but either a future pick or one of the thirds this year highly likely to be part of the trade. Most supporters from rival clubs not Melbourne seem to think he's worth a late 1st rounder.
His form this year was not very good at all

If we get 2025 McVee for the rest of his career then we lose this trade

We are buying him for upside though

Pick 35 is significantly less likely to offer as much as 2025 McVee for the rest of his career IMO.

Said it plenty of times but I think we might need to work that pick back into the 20s before we can really start talking to Melbourne.

Think this trade will be dependent on pick swaps done earlier in trade period and/or be a three way trade. We don't have the right pick right now but we'll get there.

I don't buy that, the main selling point coming to us was returning to the half back rebounder role instead of lock down. Role had plenty to do with how his form appeared to the spectators.

Melbourne doesn't have the defensive depth we have. We have Walker, Worner, Chapman, Ryan, Draper who would all get defensive lock down roles, so we can be honest in saying he won't be required for that.

Separately, I'm also buoyed by our prospects for next year from a list perspective. Our list looks like it will be much stronger through addition of B22 players and the natural development and continuation of most of the B22. Bolton and Pearce will be the oldest blokes in the team. We have a unique list where there is a very small standard deviation in our list age, with a mean right in the premiership window. I hope that delivers a deep finals run.

Fremantle vice-captain Caleb Serong has declared he sees his future at the Dockers but won’t rush to negotiate a new contract amid almost certain interest from Tasmania when it enters the AFL in 2028.
Serong won his third Doig Medal in a row on Saturday night, joining former captain Matthew Pavlich as the only men to have achieved that feat. All three of his Doig Medals and all-Australian selections have come since he signed a new contract at the end of 2022, which will expire in 2027.
Tasmania will have access to all players who are out of contract in 2027 and the Devils have been handed a massive financial war chest. Their concessions include $5million worth of signing bonuses that will sit outside the salary cap.
Other clubs will also be able to target Serong given he will be a free agent.
The 24-year-old has watched midfield friends Hayden Young and Andrew Brayshaw sign until 2033 and 2031 respectively, and said while he’d like to follow suit, made it clear he won’t be rushing.

“There’s a process it has to go through, and I understand that. We’ve got lot of guys that are locked in long term and are committed this football club, which I’ve got so much respect for. I love that the club’s done it, and I love that the boys have committed long term, and I’m no different,” Serong said.
“But there’s a process, and we haven’t even started that yet, so I’m not sure what it looks like. The last one I did was very easy. It was quite straightforward. But they can be difficult sometimes. I’m hoping it’s very smooth and we can get it done very quick.

“My mind is on the first premiership for the Fremantle Football Club. I’ve got two more years left on my deal and that’s a long time. I haven’t even thought about what’s the next step, because all I care about is right now.
“Something I train so much is trying to live in the present. When those times come to talk about an extension at the Freo Footy Club, I’ll have those conversations, and I look forward to it. But right now, I’m just focusing on what I can do to help this football club get back to where we need to get to.”

Serong could soon be joined by his younger brother Jai at Fremantle after coach Justin Longmuir met with the defender.
The 192cm backman has struggled for opportunities at Hawthorn and is being pursued by multiple clubs. Caleb said he’d love for his brother to become a Docker.
“I hope so. To be honest, a big part of why I would love him here is off field and having a brother and family over here. I’m really close with him,” he said.
“But I think he can make us a better football team as well. All I really care about is that he makes the right decision for him. I haven’t tried to pressure him. I haven’t spoken to him too much about it.”

How does this one player per club thing for Tassie work? Apart from the extra cash to splash around is it still a normal trading process, or is there something else to it?

All our of contract players are effectively free agents for Tasmania.

In reality I think they mostly get a large amount of ex-Tasmanians home but maybe lure one or two mid-range players with high end money. Think some fringe players end up moving for opportunity too.

Think there's probably a bunch of concessions the AFL didn’t announce either but draft picks and access to out of contract players would be the main ones for now as it impacts how clubs prepare for Tasmania's entry.

All our of contract players are effectively free agents for Tasmania.

In reality I think they mostly get a large amount of ex-Tasmanians home but maybe lure one or two mid-range players with high end money. Think some fringe players end up moving for opportunity too.

Think there's probably a bunch of concessions the AFL didn’t announce either but draft picks and access to out of contract players would be the main ones for now as it impacts how clubs prepare for Tasmania's entry.
So they don't have to trade for any out of contract player even if they're not a free agent under existing rules?

Can trade for as many players as they want but to poach uncontracted players they are allowed one over the 2 years

Last time this happened GC poached noone and GWS poached Palmer

So they don't have to trade for any out of contract player even if they're not a free agent under existing rules?
Yes thats correct but compo picks will apply

GWS gave us the Forster pick last time (end of first round)

But its a max of one player per team over the 2 years like GWS had (GC only had 1 year for this concession)

Existing free agency rules will remain in place for existing 18 clubs.

Will work exactly the same way as normal free agency outside of additional players being available to Tasmania.

Also clubs can choose to delay their compensation pick until later drafts.

Fremantle vice-captain Caleb Serong has declared he sees his future at the Dockers but won’t rush to negotiate a new contract amid almost certain interest from Tasmania when it enters the AFL in 2028.
Serong won his third Doig Medal in a row on Saturday night, joining former captain Matthew Pavlich as the only men to have achieved that feat. All three of his Doig Medals and all-Australian selections have come since he signed a new contract at the end of 2022, which will expire in 2027.
Tasmania will have access to all players who are out of contract in 2027 and the Devils have been handed a massive financial war chest. Their concessions include $5million worth of signing bonuses that will sit outside the salary cap.
Other clubs will also be able to target Serong given he will be a free agent.
The 24-year-old has watched midfield friends Hayden Young and Andrew Brayshaw sign until 2033 and 2031 respectively, and said while he’d like to follow suit, made it clear he won’t be rushing.

“There’s a process it has to go through, and I understand that. We’ve got lot of guys that are locked in long term and are committed this football club, which I’ve got so much respect for. I love that the club’s done it, and I love that the boys have committed long term, and I’m no different,” Serong said.
“But there’s a process, and we haven’t even started that yet, so I’m not sure what it looks like. The last one I did was very easy. It was quite straightforward. But they can be difficult sometimes. I’m hoping it’s very smooth and we can get it done very quick.

“My mind is on the first premiership for the Fremantle Football Club. I’ve got two more years left on my deal and that’s a long time. I haven’t even thought about what’s the next step, because all I care about is right now.
“Something I train so much is trying to live in the present. When those times come to talk about an extension at the Freo Footy Club, I’ll have those conversations, and I look forward to it. But right now, I’m just focusing on what I can do to help this football club get back to where we need to get to.”

Serong could soon be joined by his younger brother Jai at Fremantle after coach Justin Longmuir met with the defender.
The 192cm backman has struggled for opportunities at Hawthorn and is being pursued by multiple clubs. Caleb said he’d love for his brother to become a Docker.
“I hope so. To be honest, a big part of why I would love him here is off field and having a brother and family over here. I’m really close with him,” he said.
“But I think he can make us a better football team as well. All I really care about is that he makes the right decision for him. I haven’t tried to pressure him. I haven’t spoken to him too much about it.”
Getting Jai will go a long way in keeping Caleb happy here reading that.

He will also boost our back stocks as well and he is still only young and could be developed to play other positions.

Could be a win/win all round.

Yeah sorry but that's utter rubbish. He played a lock down role in 2025 and did it very well considering his fitness was effected by being injured over most of the preseason.. He wants to move to a team where he can play a more attacking role so his output will jump significantly if he plays that role for us. In many ways his play was at a level where he had Simpson's disposal but Walker's lock down ability.

Mate he was not good in that role this year

Fine if we want to try him in a different role but again thats buying for the upside

I understand he had a bad preseason too, again it comes with the upside

If he produces 2025 levels in 2026 then he will be out of our team

Yeah I'm sorry, out of contract, didnt cost them a high pick in the draft (no "we invested alot into Judd" carry on), a recent high grade hamstring injury, WCE with the first pick in the PSD, these things combined definitely negatively affect McVees trade value. No besmirching of his name as a player.

I'm a big believer that coveting thy neighbour is a sign of spiritual weakness and I don't advocate for the kind of ungentlemanly behaviour of your Mitchells and McRaes but why would our mentality be such that we believe we must pay every dime that a player is worth in order to facilitate a trade?

Geelong, for 17 and 38, got a player (and pick 45) who was 7th pick in the ND, with 100 odd games and 29 brownlow votes (in a star studded WB midfield), off the back of a serious injury (but fully recovered), with the Richmond threat in the PSD, who went on to poll third in the brownlow, equalling his first 100 games worth of votes in a single season, in hindsight worth pick one in the draft to a grand finalist!!!

The big clubs make out like bandits all the time, we arent desperate for Judd, time to drive for a bargain and if he goes to WCE in the PSD, c'est la vie!!!

We're potentially talking about MVee and Rodriguez or one or the other.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management