Mega Thread 2025 Media & Miscellaneous Thread

Back by popular demand. However...

There has been some aggro from publishers of articles in recent months about sites that copypasta their content onto other sites, particularly the paywalled ones, which could lead to fines and whanot for those that do it. Apparently there are copywrite laws for these things. As a result we can no longer have full articles reposted here, so if you come across something then please refrain from nabbing the whole thing and just post the link. Quoting a paragraph or two and linking the source is fine however, just don't get greedy.

Here's the updated site-wide rule: https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/please-read-re-copyright-posting-newspaper-articles.1389553/

Here's an example of what you can do:

"If West Coast was the gold standard for how to operate, then Fremantle's arrival into the AFL in 1995 could be viewed as a series of cautionary tales.

Despite eight wins in that debut season, a series of poor recruiting choices meant they didn't play their first final until 2003."

If they believe that us not making finals until 2003 was solely due to "a series of poor recruiting choices" then I have a bridge to sell them.

Thanks for your understanding.

People create issues on here with people in football departments if the club isn't winning premierships. It makes them feel good. Majority of people have no idea if Brierty or Garlic are doing or good job or not.
Talking BIG TIME in the media and then failing to get within cooee of your goal with not one iota of responsibility taken by anyone involved for making us all look like idiots again is not doing a “good job”

Sooo we don't have a plan that as a club we can aspire to!!!!

When talking to the fans what should both Brierty and Garlic have said instead?

I don't know if he is good at his job or not but in conversations with him he seems very personable and focused and not in a condescending corporate way.
Same here. He is totally focused on the Fremantle football club. Unlike so many here.
Thank Simon Garlick for the four home game stint we got from the Road Kill Roos.No one else,but Simon Garlick.

This is a ****** take.

Many clubs have made claims similar including Richmond, Carlton, Hawthorn, Essendon and the list goes on. Sometimes it happens (almost never in the time period they specify) and sometimes it doesn't.

I think a more sensible evaluation at his level right now is whether he has us set up to contend for premierships, and most seem to think we are very much primed.

Could end up being a Carlton type primed where a bunch of players just don’t reach the levels expected, and the whole thing collapses before it really gets going, or it could be a Brissie/Tigers multiple flags type of deal - too early to know.

In terms of what he talks about, he is on a hiding to nothing there - talk us down and the fans would think the club lacks ambition. And who can blame the guy for being positive about what we can do - should he come out and say we are rubbish?

I think a more sensible evaluation at his level right now is whether he has us set up to contend for premierships, and most seem to think we are very much primed.

Could end up being a Carlton type primed where a bunch of players just don’t reach the levels expected, and the whole thing collapses before it really gets going, or it could be a Brissie/Tigers multiple flags type of deal - too early to know.

In terms of what he talks about, he is on a hiding to nothing there - talk us down and the fans would think the club lacks ambition. And who can blame the guy for being positive about what we can do - should he come out and say we are rubbish?

Pretty much bang on!

When you say us, who do you mean? If you feel like an idiot you're doing some pretty heavy lifting on behalf of the club

Their goal setting was way off.

Nothing wrong with being ambitious and aspirational, but in terms of a strategic plan the people responsible for putting the platform in place to match whatever timeline has been advertised are ultimately responsible.

I'm not after anyone's head. And I am fine with goal setting being revisited. But I would be amazed if internally they haven't been asked to account for why we fell well short of the target.

We expect to move from a building team to a contending team in the next 5 yrs and give ourselves a genuine shot at getting our well overdue 1st flag

Thats it

No X amount of flags in X amount of years stupidity

****ers were giving themselves pats on the back after the season when reporters brought up the 5 year plan failure about how well they did hitting the secondary targets of the plan

Accepting mediocrity? nah we CELEBRATE the campaigner

We expect to move from a building team to a contending team in the next 5 yrs and give ourselves a genuine shot at getting our well overdue 1st flag

Thats it

No X amount of flags in X amount of years stupidity

****ers were giving themselves pats on the back after the season when reporters brought up the 5 year plan failure about how well they did hitting the secondary targets of the plan

Accepting mediocrity? nah we CELEBRATE the campaigner

Who is accepting mediocrity?

I must be one of those guys who doesn't act like a little winey bitch unlike you because you don't accept mediocrity.

I don’t get this “accepting mediocrity” thing. The footy club gives precisely zero f***s about what I (or any other fan or group of fans) think, so I either accept what it does or I find something else to do.

Also if certain people hate the club so much why don't they stop supporting Freo and go support WC or another powerhouse club so they can celebrate premierships?

Fans can change anything they want with a bit of pissed off unity

We prefer the old “ maybe next year” approach

“ I’m a better supporter than you”

It was only a matter of time

Support Giving GIF by @InvestInAccess

Not many times that fans have actually changed anything as far as I can tell. And the good teams aren’t good teams because their fans behave a particular way. I just don’t think it’s actually a thing

I did see a stat somewhere that said 47% of successful clubs have at least 63.8% of fans who refuse to accept mediocrity.

Thanks thistimeforsure, I just want to give you a bit of an insight into the Fremantle Dockers fan base. We’re a bunch of unique individuals – Malthouse, Harley, Zempilas, McLachlan and myself. We’re gonna engage with our minds and our hearts. We’re gonna exchange ideas, thoughts and even our energy. And to speak from your heart you need to have courage. You need to be honest and authentic. We’re not always gonna get it right. And sometimes, you’re not going to agree with us. But that’s okay, because just like you we care. Just like you, we’re passionate about the game. So if you want to come along for the ride, join us on Bigfooty, because we just love the footy.

Sorry mate, couldn’t help myself!

The whole accepting mediocrity thing is silly. If you’ve supported Freo for any length of time you are accepting mediocrity because Freo are the embodiment of mediocrity and the only way to stop accepting mediocrity is to stop supporting the club.

thistimeforsure does have a point though that as a fanbase we tend to celebrate mediocrity. The amount of people hanging their hats on the fact we won 16 games this year as if this was some extraordinary achievement when:

a) we’ve never had a such a big discrepancy between the top 9 vs bottom 9. From round 14 onwards the record between top 9 vs bottom 9 teams was 47-3, and two of those 3 upset wins were Sydney who were clearly a level above the other 8 teams below them. We’ve never had a team win 14 games and miss finals. 16 wins this year is equivalent to 12 wins any other year.

b) we barely scraped over the line multiple times against said bottom 9 teams culminating in having the worst percentage of the top 8 by a decent margin. A bit of luck going against us and we wouldn’t have made finals.

c) speaking of finals, we won zero and the cherry on top was giving the nepo club their first ever finals win.

I don’t care if it’s PR speak, Garlick, Brierty and co. have repeatedly talked a big game and have yet to deliver. We are primed to have a big 2026 so I’m going to withhold judgment until we’ve actually played a game but we were also primed to have a big 2025 and we fell short of expectations.