Preview 2025 National Draft Thread

First rendition of this years rankings below.

Prefix this by saying I haven't got to watch as much underage footy as previous years but I have watched all the champs games so I've put a lot of stock in those performances. Pretty confident with the top 25-30 or so, but after that you could throw a blanket over the rest of them as to how they are ranked. This draft definitely lacks the depth and top tier talent of last year but I think there will be some diamonds and some real solid role players that come from this draft. Might be a couple that I've missed too.

I'll slowly add descriptions over the next few weeks when I have time.

PickNameHeightPositionClub
1Dyson Sharp187cmMidfielderCentral District
2Cooper Duff-Tytler200cmRuckCalder Cannons
3Josh Lindsay183cmMedium DefenderGeelong Falcons
4Aidan Schubert198cmKey Forward/RuckCentral District
5Willem Duursma191cmUtilityGippsland Power
6Daniel Annable183cmMidfielderBrisbane Academy
7Zeke Uwland180cmUtilityGold Coast Academy
8Dylan Patterson183cmMidfielderGold Coast Academy
9Oliver Greeves191cmMidfielderEastern Ranges
10Lachlan Dovaston177cmSmall ForwardEastern Ranges
11Matt LeRay189cmMidfielderCentral District
12Harley Barker187cmMidfielderSturt
13Beau Addinsall180cmMidfielderGold Coast Academy
14Sam Cumming186cmMidfielderNorth Adelaide
15Max King191cmMidfielderSydney Academy
16Fred Rodriguez184cmMidfielderSouth Fremantle
17Harry Dean193cmKey DefenderMurray Bushrangers
18Toby Whan183cmMidfielderSouth Fremantle
19Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves186cmMedium ForwardDandenong Stingrays
20Hunter Holmes186cmMidfielderOakleigh Chargers
21Sam Grlj182cmMidfielderOakleigh Chargers
22Tom McGuane178cmMidfielderWestern Jets
23Mitch Marsh191cmMedium ForwardWest Adelaide
24Archie Ludowyke197cmKey ForwardSandringham Dragons
25Cody Curtin200cmKey Forward/Key DefenderClaremont
26Riley Onley194cmMidfielderMurray Bushrangers
27Tom Burton178cmMidfielder/Medium DefenderWestern Jets
28Noah Chamberlain193cmTall Forward/Tall DefenderSydney Academy
29Zac McCarthy198cmKey Forward/RuckOakleigh Chargers
30Xavier Taylor191cmMedium DefenderEastern Ranges
31Rory Wright183cmMidfielderSandringham Dragons
32Cam Nairn189cmMedium ForwardCentral District
33Wes Walley184cmMedium ForwardSubiaco
34Louis Emmett199cmRuckOakleigh Chargers
35Tairon Ah-Mu198cmKey Forward/RuckDandenong Stingrays
36Jovan Phillipou183cmMedium ForwardWoodville West-Torrens
37Adam Sweid175cmMidfielderCalder Cannons
38Hussan El Achkar171cmSmall ForwardCalder Cannons
39Sam Swadling187cmMidfielderWest Perth
40Blake Oudshoorn-Bennier182cmGeneral Forward/MidfielderNorth Adelaide
40+Taj Murray199cmRuck/Key ForwardNorth Adelaide
40+Koby Coulson180cmMidfielderGold Coast Academy
40+Liam Heatherton197cmKey ForwardMurray Bushrangers
40+Jai Saxena179cmSmall ForwardOakleigh Chargers
40+Noah Roberts-Thomson181cmMidfielderSturt
40+Ryder Corrigan185cmMidfielderMurray Bushrangers
40+Koby Evans187cmMedium Forward/MidfielderPerth
40+Luke Hallett185cmMidfielderEast Perth
40+Jack Ison190cmUtilityOakleigh Chargers
40+Ricky Therodopolous170cmSmall Forward/MidfielderSandringham Dragons
40+Finnegan Davis188cmMedium DefenderWestern Jets
40+Mitch Stevens185cmMedium DefenderGippsland Power
40+Charlie McKinnon190cmMedium ForwardGWV Rebels
40+Felix Kneipp179cmSmall Defender/MidfielderCalder Cannons
40+Jack Miller181cmMedium ForwardTasmania
40+Jacob Farrow188cmMidfielder/Medium DefenderWest Perth
40+Lachlan Carmichael183cmMedium DefenderSydney Academy
40+Jack Dalton177cmMidfielderSandringham Dragons
40+Zane Peucker180cmSmall ForwardWoodville West-Torrens
40+Kalani White198cmKey Defender/Key ForwardGold Coast Academy
40+Harley Hicks178cmMidfielderGWV Rebels

Awesome. Thanks roos_fanatic08. Any chance you could bold those tied to other clubs with F/S or NGA?
Would give non-draft followers an idea of those "available".

I like Mitch Stevens, Murray, Ah-Muh and Farrow as options for us.
There's something about Jack Ison that's intriguing at 190cm with the left foot. Could he play wing/hbf?
I reckon we'd be enamoured with Xavier Taylor if we liked Trembath and Tauru's marking ability.

First rendition of this years rankings below.

Prefix this by saying I haven't got to watch as much underage footy as previous years but I have watched all the champs games so I've put a lot of stock in those performances. Pretty confident with the top 25-30 or so, but after that you could throw a blanket over the rest of them as to how they are ranked. This draft definitely lacks the depth and top tier talent of last year but I think there will be some diamonds and some real solid role players that come from this draft. Might be a couple that I've missed too.

I'll slowly add descriptions over the next few weeks when I have time.

17Harry Dean193cmKey DefenderMurray Bushrangers
18Toby Whan183cmMidfielderSouth Fremantle
22Tom McGuane178cmMidfielderWestern Jets
29Zac McCarthy198cmKey Forward/RuckOakleigh Chargers
33Wes Walley184cmMedium ForwardSubiaco
37Adam Sweid175cmMidfielderCalder Cannons
38Hussan El Achkar171cmSmall ForwardCalder Cannons
40+Jai Saxena179cmSmall ForwardOakleigh Chargers
40+Koby Evans187cmMedium Forward/MidfielderPerth
40+Jack Ison190cmUtilityOakleigh Chargers
40+Kalani White198cmKey Defender/Key ForwardGold Coast Academy
Is it just me or is this a Dinkers draft?

Garden gnomes everywhere.

Awesome. Thanks roos_fanatic08. Any chance you could bold those tied to other clubs with F/S or NGA?
Would give non-draft followers an idea of those "available".

I like Mitch Stevens, Murray, Ah-Muh and Farrow as options for us.
There's something about Jack Ison that's intriguing at 190cm with the left foot. Could he play wing/hbf?
I reckon we'd be enamoured with Xavier Taylor if we liked Trembath and Tauru's marking ability.
Thanks mate! Found it particularly hard to rate them this year. I’d say there will be a few kids I have in the top 30 that may even go undrafted. It’s that wide open at the moment.

Farrow is one I really like, has real drive in his game and isn’t afraid to use his pace to break the lines.

Agree with you on Taylor. Kid is as courageous as they come and has really sticky hands. Defence is his one wood, and he battles hard often against forwards who are much taller than him. He’ll relish the chance to be a genuine 3rd tall at higher levels. Just needs to improve his decision making ball in hand.

Is it just me or is this a Dinkers draft?

Garden gnomes everywhere.

Not disagreeing with you. The year of the one paced and craftey short-king draftee! Lucky Luffy isn’t still with us, he’d be licking his lips.

Courtesy of the great man noobermensch

Thanks fanatic!

I love the highlights here. He looks to be a footballer first, although he also looks to be quick enough over the ground. Disposal good. His instinct gives him first mover advantage more often than not. Positions well.

Your thoughts on the following, if i may ask…
How does he go on the left foot?
And what is he like defensively, he looks like he’s comfortable tackling taller opponents, but in the clearances he seems to be set quite aggressively and ball hunting, has he shown an ability to play defensively and shut down play or mitigate risk (perhaps with his skills he hasn’t been given this as a job at this stage)?

Thank you!

Thanks mate! Found it particularly hard to rate them this year. I’d say there will be a few kids I have in the top 30 that may even go undrafted. It’s that wide open at the moment.

Farrow is one I really like, has real drive in his game and isn’t afraid to use his pace to break the lines.

Agree with you on Taylor. Kid is as courageous as they come and has really sticky hands. Defence is his one wood, and he battles hard often against forwards who are much taller than him. He’ll relish the chance to be a genuine 3rd tall at higher levels. Just needs to improve his decision making ball in hand.
Yep. Tell me about it. Tough to rank them. 10 players tied to other clubs in your top 30.
So our 1st selection (#20) currently would truly start from #30 (Xavier Taylor).
Kinda highlights we likely need to move up the order to get a better prospect perhaps in your top 25 (top 15).
Where would you think Harry Moon as a tall defender would rank? Late pick?

17Harry Dean (Blues)193cmKey DefenderMurray Bushrangers
18Toby Whan (Freo)183cmMidfielderSouth Fremantle
22Tom McGuane (Pies)178cmMidfielderWestern Jets
29Zac McCarthy (Pies)198cmKey Forward/RuckOakleigh Chargers
33Wes Walley (WCE)184cmMedium ForwardSubiaco
37Adam Sweid (*)175cmMidfielderCalder Cannons
38Hussan El Achkar (*)171cmSmall ForwardCalder Cannons
40+Jai Saxena (Pies)179cmSmall ForwardOakleigh Chargers
40+Koby Evans (WCE)187cmMedium Forward/MidfielderPerth
40+Jack Ison (Blues)190cmUtilityOakleigh Chargers
40+Mitch Stevens (Crows)185cmMedium DefenderGippsland Power
40+Kalani White (Dees)198cmKey Defender/Key ForwardGold Coast Academy

Yep. Tell me about it. Tough to rank them. 10 players tied to other clubs in your top 30.
So our 1st selection (#20) currently would truly start from #30 (Xavier Taylor).
Kinda highlights we likely need to move up the order to get a better prospect perhaps in your top 25 (top 15).

I agree. I think Our 2 selections will allow us to get up a fair way in this draft. I think Lindsay would be priority number 1 if we had the choice. Closely followed by Schubert and Dovaston.

I'm hoping LeRay or Barker is on our radar as well as taller running players. While they both play wing at the moment, I think the two of them have a lot of potential as half backs with their marking and run/carry game.

Don't mind Harry Moon, but at this stage he is a pure stopper. I think to go in the ND you need to have a few more strings to your bow. Being a sub 10 disposal/sub 4 marks per game generally isn't a stat line that will get you drafted.

Based on your knowledge of the draft pool roos_fanatic08 do you think North would be better served using the two R2 picks to trade up and then take a couple of swing with late picks OR hold the picks as is?

Trade up. Even if it's just for one player like Dovaston or Schubert.

I think it will be a bit of a crap shoot from pick 30 beyond (which is where our 2nd rounders will land). Considering the poor depth and lack of high end talent I don't think clubs like GC will be getting big draft pick hauls for their existing picks, so I think our 2 x R2 will be very very valuable to the right sides.

Thanks fanatic!

I love the highlights here. He looks to be a footballer first, although he also looks to be quick enough over the ground. Disposal good. His instinct gives him first mover advantage more often than not. Positions well.

Your thoughts on the following, if i may ask…
How does he go on the left foot?
And what is he like defensively, he looks like he’s comfortable tackling taller opponents, but in the clearances he seems to be set quite aggressively and ball hunting, has he shown an ability to play defensively and shut down play or mitigate risk (perhaps with his skills he hasn’t been given this as a job at this stage)?

Thank you!

Left foot is a bit of a weakness, but that's not uncommon in juniors. I've seen him kick a few snap goals on his opposite so it's not too bad, don't think you'll see him using it too much around the ground though.

His midfield craft needs work, he looks more natural as a half forward/small forward imo. I think in time, he'll end up a Papley type who can roll up to the stoppages from time to time and provide a bit of a spark with his speed and agility.

Around the stoppages (as you mentioned) he tends to go ball hunting and isn't accountable. However, when he is playing as a small forward his defensive intent is elite. He tackles, harasses and does all the 1%er's that you'd want in a small forward. he had a 9 tackle game in round 9, along with a few other games where he has had 6 tackles. Averaging 5.3 tackles per game in the Coates League this year so far.

He didn't have a good first game in the Under 18's carnival, but metro were comprehensively beaten by SA, so he didn't get much of a chance to inject himself into the game. Keen to see how he goes this weekend against WA.

17Harry Dean (Blues)193cmKey DefenderMurray Bushrangers
18Toby Whan (Freo)183cmMidfielderSouth Fremantle
22Tom McGuane (Pies)178cmMidfielderWestern Jets
29Zac McCarthy (Pies)198cmKey Forward/RuckOakleigh Chargers
33Wes Walley (WCE)184cmMedium ForwardSubiaco
37Adam Sweid (*)175cmMidfielderCalder Cannons
38Hussan El Achkar (*)171cmSmall ForwardCalder Cannons
40+Jai Saxena (Pies)179cmSmall ForwardOakleigh Chargers
40+Koby Evans (WCE)187cmMedium Forward/MidfielderPerth
40+Jack Ison (Blues)190cmUtilityOakleigh Chargers
40+Kalani White (Dees)198cmKey Defender/Key ForwardGold Coast Academy
Apologies for the intrusion (and kudos on the rankings) – Mitch Stevens is a Crows F/S.

Son of Mark. Ironically we traded him to you guys as part for Jason McCartney who has his own F/S prospect for us next year (but also dangerously linked to the Swans academy).

Hope you guys get him! A repeat of the Blakey situation would be a disappointing result for the comp.
Just guessing but I don't think JMac's kids have the same connection to the Swans (and motivation to join them) that Blakey did.

We should be prioritising size and speed with our picks moving forward now.
We are noticeably shorter and lighter against most teams with virtually all of our recent top end picks being medium sized at best. Needs to be addressed.

I agree. I think Our 2 selections will allow us to get up a fair way in this draft. I think Lindsay would be priority number 1 if we had the choice. Closely followed by Schubert and Dovaston.

I'm hoping LeRay or Barker is on our radar as well as taller running players. While they both play wing at the moment, I think the two of them have a lot of potential as half backs with their marking and run/carry game.

Don't mind Harry Moon, but at this stage he is a pure stopper. I think to go in the ND you need to have a few more strings to your bow. Being a sub 10 disposal/sub 4 marks per game generally isn't a stat line that will get you drafted.
Yep totally agree. Be pretty happy to get any of Lindsay, Dovaston, Schubert, LeRay, Barker, Curtin, Hibbins-Hargreaves, Holmes, Onley or Ludowyke.

I really like Jett Dahlitz from SA (don't think you have him on your board), nice kick and springy athlete.

Fair point on Harry Moon. To be fair I only saw the VC game, only interested because we need key back depth, but perhaps not all that athletic at 196cm like a Comben. I might have to track the Coates League for key backs if I could be bothered.

Yep totally agree. Be pretty happy to get any of Lindsay, Dovaston, Schubert, LeRay, Barker, Curtin, Hibbins-Hargreaves, Holmes, Onley or Ludowyke.

I really like Jett Dahlitz from SA (don't think you have him on your board), nice kick and springy athlete.

Fair point on Harry Moon. To be fair I only saw the VC game, only interested because we need key back depth, but perhaps not all that athletic at 196cm like a Comben. I might have to track the Coates League for key backs if I could be bothered.

Curtin is probably the best of the lot when it comes to key defenders in this pool, but WA seem adamant on him playing forward.

Dahlitz is on the fringe for mine, I really liked him in that first champs game but wasn't as impressive the last game. I'd say he'll be on the list come seasons end.

This draft is really light on for key defenders. Outside of Curtin and Dean there really isn't too much to get excited about.

Jasper Hay from Tassie made the academy squad and the allies squad but just doesn't get involved enough. Elliott Duffield from SA has some moments, but at 193cm is a little undersized. Lucas Cattalini (WA) you'd put in the same boat as being a bit too undersized. It's slim pickings this year.

We are noticeably shorter and lighter against most teams with virtually all of our recent top end picks being medium sized at best. Needs to be addressed.
Ideally yes. Are you talking specifically the height or more big frame with size? Endurance shouldn't be discounted.
It's likely we might be looking at a key forward with one of our picks you would think, but a taller or big framed mid/wing/hbf would be nice to get, but it's pretty hard to find that size and speed/endurance package.

Dovaston is a 177cm small fwd but he's quick. Wouldn't fit your size criteria, but powerful athlete.
Holmes is 186cm (WhilPhil height), looks a strong enough frame in time and endurance runner.
Josh Lindsay is 183cm but a strong runner. 189cm LaRey (wing/hbf) has some height and run.
187cm Barker (wing/hbf) a bit the same. 188cm Farrow is another, bit like a Hardemann frame and run.
194cm Onley (mid) and 191cm Greaves (mid) have the height and frame, but not sure on their speed/tank at his point? Onley certainly had some moments of dash and power, but just glimpses.
Key forwards like Curtin (big already), Schubert, Ludowyke or Ah-Mu (big already), some would need to add size with time.

Curtin is probably the best of the lot when it comes to key defenders in this pool, but WA seem adamant on him playing forward.

Dahlitz is on the fringe for mine, I really liked him in that first champs game but wasn't as impressive the last game. I'd say he'll be on the list come seasons end.

This draft is really light on for key defenders. Outside of Curtin and Dean there really isn't too much to get excited about.

Jasper Hay from Tassie made the academy squad and the allies squad but just doesn't get involved enough. Elliott Duffield from SA has some moments, but at 193cm is a little undersized. Lucas Cattalini (WA) you'd put in the same boat as being a bit too undersized. It's slim pickings this year.
Yep. They kinda threw Curtin down back for a bit and he looked good.
Would not mind Dahlitz at pick 56 if we actually use it (I doubt it). A bit of Henry from Cats about him.
Yeah. No real key backs from what I've seen. Maybe you keep Trembath for 12 months or it's the state leagues.
Charlie Watson from WA at 199cm looks more a forward, hardly got near it. Not too many other real tall kids.

Tend to agree...would be nice to have a few more flankers/wings that are genuinely tall for their position and can provide some drive either with running or long kicking. It's probably why I'm a big fan of LeRay (189cm), booming kick and Barker (186cm) hard running linkup winger.

I’m also a big fan of LeRay. He stood out with his kicking in the first game v Allies and as been consistently impactful since.

One I’m hoping to go under the radar is Taj Murray. 199cm ruck/forward from the NT. He was excellent in the first game vs SA. Great athleticism in the ruck then went forward and kicked 4 goals. I rate him.

Not exactly news but Sharp has been bloody impressive I reckon. Great all-round game and clear #1 for me. Perfect modern midfielder.

Preview 2025 National Draft Thread