Preview 2025 National Draft Thread

With the general consensus being that a SA inside mid is going to go #1, I wonder if Port try and cash in on Butters this year and somehow end up with Sharp

Not sure how'd we do the deal, probably have to be a combo of our Future 1st pick, Powell and Durs but geez I'd love to land Butters if he's coming back to Victoria.

Something like:
WCE give up pick 1 - Receive NM future 1st and Durs
Port give up Butters - Receive Powell and pick 1
NM give up Future 1st, Durs and Powell - Recieve Butters.

Seems reasonable enough!
I know Duursma & F1st are essentially unproved and Butters is a very good player - but that is way, way too much to be giving up unless you are recruiting a the absolute cherry on top in a position of need.

Lol it might be okay with development, but not looking like last years super draft.
But I guess the better players are mostly tied to other clubs, so the available talent is shallow.
Draft looks ok, it's just that half of the best players aren't really in it because of this hugely compromised AFL.

Yes, I have him around pick #4 in this years draft, I've mentioned this reference on page 21 on this thread. :)
You are one of the best with your knowledge on the draft and the young blokes going around so if you say around pick 4 then it makes our decision a good one last draft. I totally agree but obviously don't know anywhere near as much as you. Keep up the great work Scout.

Draft looks ok, it's just that half of the best players aren't really in it because of this hugely compromised AFL.
Yeah. It's a little thin with key backs, key forwards and small forwards compared to last years crop, but I reckon a few teams will find some gems anywhere inside 40, it's very wide open outside the top 6.

Big watch for mine Schubert & Curtin under the roof to see what they can do…would love to see us trade up with GC to grab that early pick & one of these guys if they fire.
Agree. Schubert looks better so far, but his frame will take time. Is he closer to McCartney if he picks us next year?
Is Curtin a better fit with the stronger body, can play either end, we may value that.
We may also like someone like Ah-Mu a little later who has a pretty strong frame as well. Interesting to watch them.

GC pick 10 might be more likely with 20 & 21 (pick 7 would cost us 20, 21 & 39 to give them a points gain).

WCE may be able to offer 14 & 19 to beat our offer if they don't get a bid on Wes Walley before 14 or 19.
* with 22 & 24 doesn't beat our offer on points, bids likely on their NGA's and two top 6 picks already.
Crows with 15, 41, 48 not enough points gain and may have Mitch Stevens F/S bid to match with the 40's picks.
Freo with 13, 31, 38 could trade up but have Toby Whan bid in top 25 to worry about.
Cats with 16 & 34 could trade up but they may just sit where they are.
GWS with 12, 30, 33 could beat our points offer for pick 7. No real academy talents in top 30 so far.
Hawks with 9 & 27. I suspect they trade up to get Greeves who they wanted as an NGA.
Dogs with 11 & 29 only have two picks, so they may just want to sit where they are, but pick 7 they might go after and get a late pick back they can use.
The other teams don't really have any R1 and/or R2 picks to really give a points gain to GC.

Watched the Jets Vs Calder game on the weekend. Wasn't a bad showing with plenty of potential draftees having an impact. Wanted to watch it to mainly get a gauge on how Sam Harris was tracking but took note of a few other draftees. I won't bother giving much feedback on the NGA or F/S that aren't in the open draft pool (Sweid, El Achkar, McGuane)

Calder:

Sam Harris: Didn't get much midfield time, but played a role across half forward where his ground level game was noticeable. Lead up well, had some really good ground ball efforts and has a good ability to break tackles as he is strong through the hips. Missed a snap at goal, and missed another set shot from a tight angle. Skills and decision making was sound.

Gus Papal: Raw 193cm rangy interceptor. Played a decent game across Calder's half back. Had some interest in the MSD, but ultimately went undrafted. Had some good moments with some run and carry, but his kicking consistency was a real issue.

Not many other standouts from Calder.

Western Jets

Finnegan Davis: Quickly becoming a higher end draft smokey imo. 187cm rangy defender who has a good turn of pace and a booming kick. He does however take a lot of kickouts so his stats (currently avg 29 disposals) are little bit inflated. Has really good agility, vision and his short kicking is very neat. Needs to improve his contested and tackling game, but he has all the athletic tools and kicking skill to be an excellent half back or wing at the highest level.

Tom Burton: Played midfield in this game but I think half back is his best position at AFL level. Finds the footy, uses it well and has good vision around the contest. Always considered him a more outside type, but this game showed he isn't afraid to get his hands dirty with plenty of clearances and tackles to go with them.

Oscar Ainsworth: 186cm Jets half forward who had an impact on the goals kicking 5.1 but also with his disposal inside forward 50. Very natural goal sense and seemingly excellent leading patterns. Had no worries finding space on the lead and up the ground. Neat goal kicking routine and sound kicking skill.

Khaled El Souki: Said that I wasn't going to mention any NGA players but have to give a shout out to your boy giantroo! Shame he is WB academy player because he looks very special. He is an underager so not eligible for this draft. Played as a small forward and kicked 4.4. Super dangerous at ground level, fast, skilful and just made things happen forward of centre. Provided a tonne of pressure with 7 tackles too. Couple of real nice snaps in congestion and a couple of genuine crumbing shots on goal

Hey I know he isn’t in this years draft, but one of my mates son has played for Vic Metro as a bottom ager, Kai Parker. Question for the draft watchers because we’re biased af so we all think he’ll get drafted, how do you think he’s going?

Names Parker. He'll be a star.

Does this mean 20 odd players would be top 4ish from last years draft if they were in this year?
No not at all. My ranking of Matt in last years draft, I had him at pick #24, but he was in the mix for around pick #17, I had Jack at pick #16 as I rated his ability as a true key forward where as Matt could play both ends just as well. There were as many as a dozen players who there wasn't much between, but all played different positions and an example is I had Xavier Lindsay at pick #14 but after getting our gun at pick #2 we weren't going to try and get Xavier, we had our mind set on another midfielder who would later go at one of our later picks.

Plus the thing to remember is that the question was where do you think Matt would go in this years draft, top 15? With the complete lack of classy talls there is no doubt that I would have him at that pick plus the fact we were after a key position player who could play both ends, but Will rated his ability as a "swingman" and his potential a little bit higher than Jack so I very much respect his decision.

The other "swingman" Alix Tauru is the other player with so much potential but he was obviously going to go a lot earlier. The question is I feel all about one player and hypothetically where he would go, not two players or the whole first & second rounders. I hope this makes sense, it can get a bit complicated when people do this, more so if you are going to throw a few other players into the question. :)

No not at all. My ranking of Matt in last years draft, I had him at pick #24, but he was in the mix for around pick #17, I had Jack at pick #16 as I rated his ability as a true key forward where as Matt could play both ends just as well. There were as many as a dozen players who there wasn't much between, but all played different positions and an example is I had Xavier Lindsay at pick #14 but after getting our gun at pick #2 we weren't going to try and get Xavier, we had our mind set on another midfielder who would later go at one of our later picks.

Plus the thing to remember is that the question was where do you think Matt would go in this years draft, top 15? With the complete lack of classy talls there is no doubt that I would have him at that pick plus the fact we were after a key position player who could play both ends, but Will rated his ability as a "swingman" and his potential a little bit higher than Jack so I very much respect his decision.

The other "swingman" Alix Tauru is the other player with so much potential but he was obviously going to go a lot earlier. The question is I feel all about one player and hypothetically where he would go, not two players or the whole first & second rounders. I hope this makes sense, it can get a bit complicated when people do this, more so if you are going to throw a few other players into the question. :)
Cheers for the reply. Yeah that makes sense. I think we all (me obviously this time) look at it black and white, and forget all the other variables associated with it. I was against the trade, but mainly the optics of it. Clearly we wanted a tall, and this was the price to pay and we thought it was worth paying.

Whoever has Pick 1 needs to bid on every single one of them.

Watched the Jets Vs Calder game on the weekend. Wasn't a bad showing with plenty of potential draftees having an impact. Wanted to watch it to mainly get a gauge on how Sam Harris was tracking but took note of a few other draftees. I won't bother giving much feedback on the NGA or F/S that aren't in the open draft pool (Sweid, El Achkar, McGuane)

Calder:

Sam Harris: Didn't get much midfield time, but played a role across half forward where his ground level game was noticeable. Lead up well, had some really good ground ball efforts and has a good ability to break tackles as he is strong through the hips. Missed a snap at goal, and missed another set shot from a tight angle. Skills and decision making was sound.

Gus Papal: Raw 193cm rangy interceptor. Played a decent game across Calder's half back. Had some interest in the MSD, but ultimately went undrafted. Had some good moments with some run and carry, but his kicking consistency was a real issue.

Not many other standouts from Calder.

Western Jets

Finnegan Davis: Quickly becoming a higher end draft smokey imo. 187cm rangy defender who has a good turn of pace and a booming kick. He does however take a lot of kickouts so his stats (currently avg 29 disposals) are little bit inflated. Has really good agility, vision and his short kicking is very neat. Needs to improve his contested and tackling game, but he has all the athletic tools and kicking skill to be an excellent half back or wing at the highest level.

Tom Burton: Played midfield in this game but I think half back is his best position at AFL level. Finds the footy, uses it well and has good vision around the contest. Always considered him a more outside type, but this game showed he isn't afraid to get his hands dirty with plenty of clearances and tackles to go with them.

Oscar Ainsworth: 186cm Jets half forward who had an impact on the goals kicking 5.1 but also with his disposal inside forward 50. Very natural goal sense and seemingly excellent leading patterns. Had no worries finding space on the lead and up the ground. Neat goal kicking routine and sound kicking skill.

Khaled El Souki: Said that I wasn't going to mention any NGA players but have to give a shout out to your boy giantroo! Shame he is WB academy player because he looks very special. He is an underager so not eligible for this draft. Played as a small forward and kicked 4.4. Super dangerous at ground level, fast, skilful and just made things happen forward of centre. Provided a tonne of pressure with 7 tackles too. Couple of real nice snaps in congestion and a couple of genuine crumbing shots on goal

Didn't notice him too much in the first metro game, but the whole team had a bit of a stinker.

Watched his game earlier this year for the Knights against Calder and he was really solid. Strong aeriel presence, really nice skills around the ground. He looks a very natural interceptor off half back, similar sort of style to Luke Trainor in last years draft I reckon.

Didn't notice him too much in the first metro game, but the whole team had a bit of a stinker.

Watched his game earlier this year for the Knights against Calder and he was really solid. Strong aeriel presence, really nice skills around the ground. He looks a very natural interceptor off half back, similar sort of style to Luke Trainor in last years draft I reckon.

Thanks mate. He should end up pretty big bodied, both his dad and uncle are big fellas.

No doubt, you can already see he has the frame to be a solid lump of a lad.

Between Kai Parker and Tate Hodgson there are some really high quality key defenders looking to come through next years draft.

Believe he is in the Newport/Williamstown area. Newport is his junior club.

Our NGA around the City of Werribee extends out to around Point Cook/Laverton. Bulldogs have Altona/Williamstown/Newport.

So realistically, he misses out by 10-15km or so. Just our luck.
Cheers.

That's fair enough I spose. Bulldogs probably should have access to those areas given they are the Footscray side.

It is bad luck tho.

Preview 2025 National Draft Thread