Discussion 2025 Opening Round Discussion

Early byes for rd0 teams feel like a pretty big reason for lack of variety, eg I would have Josh Daicos (current 2% ownership) locked in my side if Collingwood had no r3 bye, I think he can be like Nic Martin last year and become a defensive premo but I’ve already got Perryman so don’t want to stack more bye players.

That's why Daicos keeps finding his way back into my team, even though I want/wanted Brayshaw in that spot.

Takes some guts to anti-POD a 64% ownership guy who can pull out your 160-180s, especially when the majority of the comp will have him as captain most weeks.

That's another thing actually – I preferred when you couldn't see captaincy percentages too. Just makes more and more people play it safe (and it becomes much harder to make up ground when you're chasing the leaders).
Naicos ownership might plummet after this week if Bedford can restrict him to an under par score.

If that happens, most people will give him a miss and pounce on him in 6 weeks time providing he does not go ballistic in rounds 1 and 2.

Naicos ownership might plummet after this week if Bedford can restrict him to an under par score.

If that happens, most people will give him a miss and pounce on him in 6 weeks time providing he does not go ballistic in rounds 1 and 2.

Absolute dumb question. But I'm assuming that these points count tonight for price rises etc. :straining:

It's not just injuries, it was the same last year.

-Lack of cheap rookies (can't have variety when we're forced to spend so much on rookies)
-Ownership % visible (this one kills me, ownership % should not be visible until AFTER round 1 is finished)
-SC content creators
-This forum
-Rd0 (not just players that do well in rd0, but the byes forcing us not to pick certain players)

Ownership % is a big one. People refuse to anti-pod players who are 40-50%. If there was no ownership visible, there'd be a lot more PODs.
There are only so many SC relevant players though. Expecting huge variety is unrealistic.
Will finishing in the 2000-6000 range, similar teams with Captain choice different.

I know I’ve said it a heap of times, but this is why the starting salary cap should be reduced to $8M. Make midpricers and second tier premos relevant. Increase team diversity as well.

And remove captains and vice captains altogether.

I’m actually considering starting Dunks with 100k ITB and doing a sideways after his Bye. A low(ish) score Sunday would seal the deal. The diff between Dunks and a Rookie in the Bye round is around 70 points I reckon. That’s a fair whack early in the season.

This last two weeks of the pre season have sapped all my interest in sc. so much has changed, all the planning was irrelevant. Hope it comes back by next week.

Not just these last 2 weeks, but a few years ago I really got over SC and Fantasy AFL in general as I focus on league wins and I was in about 4-5 leagues across all the comps.

Just found it too hard to juggle and wasn't enjoying the fact that by the end of the year you only have about 2-3 PODs between all the teams you're playing.

I then made the move to a draft league and it's completely rejuvenated my interest, I pulled in a bunch of mates who had never even played fantasy much before and we're into our 6th year now and it's honestly so much more fun. Everyone is unique, you get a real sense of ownership with your team and being a keeper league you get invested in your players. It's so geeky, but so much more fun and you still need to stay informed of all player activity.

I'd highly recommend it if you're feeling a bit over the old classic format.

Ive had a brain fart. Do the teams this week lock into your team ? If you trade them next week does it count as a trade ?
Players will lock once their game starts in round 1.

So even when the Tigers and Blues start you can still make changes except for those players.

Selected players (the green dots) aren’t showing in my SC app. Anyone else having the same problem?

Because SuperCoach doesn't start this week

Oh. I’ve had my worst ever prep - busy outside of SCing haha - thank you. So this week is just a nothing week and it kicks off next week?
Correct, though the scores from this week will count in the players' rolling averages and price changes (just not towards team scores) :)

Beauty. I’ll procrastinate for another week and use the time to put on some multis for tonight 😂 cheers for replying

Really looking forward to not having to listen to the Channel 7 commentators ever again.

See you later BT

Los Angeles Bean GIF by Working Title

Love the new Fox Footy Theme with Parkway Drive.

Because SuperCoach doesn't start this week

It really shouldn’t matter. They should have green dots anyway. Technically SC does start this week, given the SC scores for players playing count and affect prices (wrongly IMO).

Really looking forward to not having to listen to the Channel 7 commentators ever again.

See you later BT

Los Angeles Bean GIF by Working Title
This. So this.

And Richo. And Darcy.

Hmm, maybe I'm weird but I find BT much more entertaining pencil neck Hudson.
Huddo isn’t great, but at least it’s about the game and not him.

BT thinks he is the entertainment. He is not.

Still get Kelli Underwood I suppose :mad:
I’d prefer Kelli over BT, Richo and Darcy. With her it’s also about the game. Those other three flogs think it’s all about them.

Hmm, maybe I'm weird but I find BT much more entertaining pencil neck Hudson.
The number one rule of a commentator is to get the player's names right.

BT is the dunce of the class in this regard.

The number one rule of a commentator is to get the player's names right.

BT is the dunce of the class in this regard.
I’ll never forget after Sparrow kicked the goal in the granny: “and the Melbourne fans in that stand have gone unbelievably”

Yeah. Right.