Autopsy 2025 Preliminary Final: Hawks get rolled

This.
But conceding -15 centre bounces and -26 I50's ain't gonna cut it in a Prelim v Geelong.

Keen to see the back of Worpel now.
Bring in some A grade mids and give it a shake.

It's crystal clear that midfield wont be able to get it done in its current form.
Yep from that point on it was a demolition job, but a sliding doors moment nonetheless, and very frustrating Geelong were able to captialise on all the big moments – as they did with Brisbane in the qualifying final. Would be nice if they missed some ffs. Also annoying Henry was able to come back on, as it would've been huge if both him and Stewart were unavailable, which looked like it would be the case there. Was all looking so good there in that first 20 mins, so it's f****g gutting we couldn't go on with it. (Though i did get a bit glum midway in the 2nd quarter once i heard Chol may be suspended and would've missed out.)

Dangerfield one is line ball, the whole ball has to be across the line and if it's out it ain't by much. The Gunston/Henry one was diabolically bad though, one of the worst decisions I've seen this year. It absolutely killed us
I reckon Henry himself was pleasantly surprised he got the free, hes normally a bit whingy if he thinks he's hard done by and there was no reaction to getting out bodied and out marked because it was legal. Just a ridiculous decision at a crucial time of the game.

Easy fixture enabled Danger to chill and rest or go at 50% all season so he was fresh and primed for that 3rd quarter

The Pies and Cats must feel kissed on the d$#% by a fairy after the introduction of the pre-finals break. Special mention to the fixture that proved to be a boon at the Cattery also.

You can now run your aging stars in September successfully if they're given every other week off before the GF.

In our first Prelim for this list, we were insanely flat. I got a sinking feeling halfway through the 2nd quarter, but hoped for a 2nd wind in the 3rd.

The travel had added up though, as had Day's season disrupting navicular, and Worpel's struggles with injury and cognitive dissonance.

When one of our best endurance runners was subbed off, presumably because of soreness, we were adrift. One more regular season win and we were likely playing/resting at home instead of getting on a plane to Engie and then Adelaide.

That's a distant dream now.

But we still made a Prelim, and showed that we have gears that nobody could go with in finals. Not GWS, not Adelaide, and not even Geelong for as long as we could sustain it.

They did they're research and were able to shut down half our team. They were fresh compared to us but they're also incredibly well drilled and as usual big and strong.
This is what Geelong do to everybody, at what point do teams turn the tables on them. Holmes and Smith were tagged by the Saints early in the year and it paid dividends. Holmes had his worst game all year. When Mitch said at the presser we will just worry about what we will do and I felt this is the type of game that approach wasn't going to work.

The next day - with a bit of time to calm down - this team has done well. They're not far off.

In the scheme of finals losses, 5 goals is not the end of the world. Our boys couldn't keep pace and couldn't stick tackles as the game went on. In the first, Sicily and co were gobbling up intercepts from rushed Geelong kicks. Despite contested losses, the pressure kept the game on our terms.

As the players tired and Danger pulled out an all-timer, those rushed kicks stopped. We had absolutely nothing to match them on the inside.

Wiz and Moore as midfield sparks are interesting, but the lack of height genuinely does hurt you. It's a risk and a sign our midfield does not bat deep enough.

Having forwards who take their half chances is a blessing. Ginni, Wiz, Gunner, Lewis. Well done there. Also Ginni playing hurt for several finals, busting a gut out on the wing, fantastic effort. I've said it before but I didn't know we were getting such a hard working player.

It's the story we knew would probably come. The drop off from Newcombe is too steep. Worpel, Nash, Ward, Butler, Moore aren't a premiership midfield if you take out Newk.

It's fixable. Newk, Day, a new star, a seasoned Ward. And ideally, a week off after a qualifying final win. That can get you there.

People always seem to get confused by the perspective with these calls. Just because from the angle of the vision you can see a gap between the ball and the line doesn't mean that it crossed it from an aerial perspective. the umpire was literally in the perfect position to make that call. I suspect that it was VERY tight and he erred on the side of a throw in.

1758343015143.png

Will day is not a bull, Zac merrett is not a bull, Massimo can kick across angles, great season and we gave it our all. But we should be prioritising petracca after last night.
I'm sure the footy club is smart enough to realise that.
Merrett isn’t a bull but he’s not far off it - is a superb clearance player and a great ball user/decision maker. He’s currently playing at a much higher level than Petracca…

I’ve heard aswell since Merrett has committed we won’t be able to afford to take on the Petracca contract…

Merrett isn’t a bull but he’s not far off it - is a superb clearance player and a great ball user/decision maker. He’s currently playing at a much higher level than Petracca…

I’ve heard aswell since Merrett has committed we won’t be able to afford to take on the Petracca contract…
Yeah I'd prefer Merrett too. Petracca is one of the worst kicks in the afl, wgaf how many clearances he wins if he's likely to turn it straight over anyway

This is what Geelong do to everybody, at what point do teams turn the tables on them. Holmes and Smith were tagged by the Saints early in the year and it paid dividends. Holmes had his worst game all year. When Mitch said at the presser we will just worry about what we will do and I felt this is the type of game that approach wasn't going to work.
I was going to post that exact same thing. But one of our issues later in the season was Finn and Morrison were both hurt and really those two and Butler might be the only guys who are bottom six but tough and disciplined enough for these stopping roles. CJ is just not that player.

I wonder how Geelong would go if they were coming up against Smith, Holmes and Dangerfield themselves. They struggle against the Giants so maybe they can't stop the elite power running midfielders either. I hope our brains trust is looking at how we can beat the Giants with our same blue collar mids but get blown away by the Cats. Is it just as simple as closing Newk down?

People always seem to get confused by the perspective with these calls. Just because from the angle of the vision you can see a gap between the ball and the line doesn't mean that it crossed it from an aerial perspective. the umpire was literally in the perfect position to make that call. I suspect that it was VERY tight and he erred on the side of a throw in.

View attachment 2431526

Umpire wasn't very close. We had a perfect sightline from our seats. Whatever doubt the umpire had, we know who was going to get the benefit of it.

It’s a fools errand to try link the final score to each umpiring decision

There was a 5 minute patch in the second quarter where a string of genuinely bad umpiring decisions went their way. Before that we were up and about and looking like blowing them away

If Gunston’s goal counted, or those weird calls go our way we are 30 points to the good at halftime. The Sicily interference and the inverse non-interference call (on the wing, can’t remember who) were massive swings.

They might have still mown us down but to say it didn’t play a factor because of the final score is a little too far
Yes. Saying umpiring doesn't affect the result is f**king delusional.

Back in the day when Essendon had the wood on us it was physical & mental...they always knew they had us beat, with Geelong its almost the same they know how to beat us and its not hard.

They see what we throw at them early they adjust and know all they have to do is apply some pressure and sweat on our turnovers...its been the same for 10 odd years.

It seems to be the same players who go missing in big games...I'd be throwing a few up for trade or picks. To get where we need to go some or someone needs to be sacrificed.

Whately calling for the electric chair ......
Whately is the biggest utter flog in the afl. Creams himself at every fake geelong free. Gloats in the box at his hoard of farmers having the uimpires's sex organs in their mouths. Absolute gutter dwelling filth.

I reckon Henry himself was pleasantly surprised he got the free, hes normally a bit whingy if he thinks he's hard done by and there was no reaction to getting out bodied and out marked because it was legal. Just a ridiculous decision at a crucial time of the game.

Which umpire paid it?

Whately is the biggest utter flog in the afl. Creams himself at every fake geelong free. Gloats in the box at his hoard of farmers having the uimpires's sex organs in their mouths. Absolute gutter dwelling filth.
Works for Murdoch and Jabba the Hutch too. Amoral fake social conscience spouting bellend

Easy fixture enabled Danger to chill and rest or go at 50% all season so he was fresh and primed for that 3rd quarter
This is very true. The Cats couldn't have been in better shape - rested, fully fit, two weeks to plan and with the motivation of their own PF loss still burning in them. If they had reached this game in the same condition as the Lions with a banged up list - do the Cats ever have a banged up list?!- we might have got them.

But I think we will benefit from seeing up close what the best side in the competition playing at its best looks like and what level we need to get to to beat them.

It hurts now but I reckon we're better off learning how far from the top of the mountain we really are than if we had say, run a banged up Brisbane to within a goal and spent the off season thinking we just have to rely on natural progression to get to the cup.

Umpire wasn't very close.
Not only was he close, he was in the perfect position and there were two of them. Sometimes we see what we want to see. Especially when its in the interest of our own club. I just dont want to get into the business of blaming the umpires for the results. We got bossed by Geelong after half time. Thats on us.

1758345752223.png

Autopsy 2025 Preliminary Final: Hawks get rolled