Game Day 2025 Round 5 Discussion ...Carnage

Geelong's sub will be O'Connor or Knevitt, no one else.

This week's extended bench is the exact same as last week but for Clohesy -> Knevitt, and O'Connor was sub last week. My hunch is they'll keep the winning formula, but they may decide to ease him back in.

Masters week begins tomorrow evening, those that enjoy golf should pop into the thread

Supercoach might actually take a backseat this weekend.

It’s RD5 and I’m yet to see The General - this week’s team selection maybe?

Jack Nicholson Yes GIF

With the massive uptick in absolute rats (taggers), I wanted to create a thread focused on blasting out there potential upcoming tags. It has become, at least for me, too hard to manually track which teams have potential taggers and which teams don't. I believe we need a dedicated thread to warn people of who has upcoming tags

Yes, I am salty 4 of my premos were tagged this weekend.

So I manually checked each team to see who has done a tagging job this year so far.

Tag rating, 1 = hard tag, 0.5 = soft tag, 0 = no tag.

1743995333087.png

(please let me know if I got anyone wrong/missed anyone)

Using this I created a 'tagging score' of each team by multiplying the tag rating by the total games tagged. Sydney having Jordon tagging every week gives them a score of 1 (hard tag) * 4 (games played) = 4. North Melbourne have a tag rating of 0.5 as they only used Parker (soft tag) once (on Heeney), so 0.5 * 1.

I am not claiming this is a perfect methodology, there is no such thing as perfect with the amount of varaibles in footy like injuries & coaches changing their mind, but it should give a rough idea on fixture difficulty for players likely to cop a tag.

I then created a script to check every single teams fixture to see who is going to get the most tagging rats against them in the future. Here is an example output of Fremantle
1743995352310.png

Opponent tagging threat rating (higher is worse) for all remaining games (R5 onwards)

1743995385503.png

Opponent tagging threat rating (higher is worse) for upcoming 3 games (R5 onwards)

1743995403074.png

Opponent tagging threat rating (higher is worse) for next week (R5)

1743995417307.png

Personally the insight I draw from this data is:

1) I'm terrified to hold Rozee but hopefully teams start tagging Butters.
2) Neales still got a lot of dates with taggers in the future
3) I regret trading Will Day out
4) Nick Daicos must be traded in when his price drops after the tag this week, very little taggers in his future.
5) Rankine/Dawson fairly safe in the future.

What thoughts do y'all have?

I will be updating this thread with new fixture analysis each week

How you getting out to the Barossa Uncle?
We’re driving over from Melb tomorrow on a road trip (coming with a couple of mates) so we’ll drive up to Barossa. Doing the road trip back on Monday. Got a 3 bedroom house close to AO.

All thanks to you giving me heads up on timing BTW. I owe you a beer Nelso 👍

Gather round where everyone is forced to piss in each others pockets & say how great Radelaide is.

Higgins knows where it’s at 😂😂
I legit like Adelaide. Got a lot of customers in SA (metro and rural) so have travelled extensively. Awesome part of the world. Not sure I’d wanna live there, but as a visitor it’s awesome. Much rather Adelaide over Sydney or Brisbane.

Knevitt better be the sub. If he plays a full game and tons up I'll be fuming.
It was disappointing to hear you were getting Maric, because of the lack of melts this weekend. Now we have a new target. Hopefully you’ll be online to enjoy the game tomorrow night.

I legit like Adelaide. Got a lot of customers in SA (metro and rural) so have travelled extensively. Awesome part of the world. Not sure I’d wanna live there, but as a visitor it’s awesome. Much rather Adelaide over Sydney or Brisbane.

I like Adelaide as well and also other parts of SA. Some ripper country.

Eyre Peninsula is gods country. Bloody awesome people. Had some of my best nights in country pubs speaking and drinking with strangers. Prime agricultural land. Lincoln has the most millionaires per capita in Australia.

Absolutely is God's Country. Just magnificent. Did the Great White Cage dive a few years back. Love the place. Just learnt something new as I did not realise, they have the most millionaires per capita.

I agree much prefer Adelaide over BrisVegas
Lived in Brisvegas for several years.
Never a truer word spoken.
Had improved in leaps and bounds the last time I was there, tbf, but they all still run around with a chip on both shoulders and whinge about Mexicans

With the massive uptick in absolute rats (taggers), I wanted to create a thread focused on blasting out there potential upcoming tags. It has become, at least for me, too hard to manually track which teams have potential taggers and which teams don't. I believe we need a dedicated thread to warn people of who has upcoming tags

Yes, I am salty 4 of my premos were tagged this weekend.

So I manually checked each team to see who has done a tagging job this year so far.

Tag rating, 1 = hard tag, 0.5 = soft tag, 0 = no tag.

View attachment 2277685

(please let me know if I got anyone wrong/missed anyone)

Using this I created a 'tagging score' of each team by multiplying the tag rating by the total games tagged. Sydney having Jordon tagging every week gives them a score of 1 (hard tag) * 4 (games played) = 4. North Melbourne have a tag rating of 0.5 as they only used Parker (soft tag) once (on Heeney), so 0.5 * 1.

I am not claiming this is a perfect methodology, there is no such thing as perfect with the amount of varaibles in footy like injuries & coaches changing their mind, but it should give a rough idea on fixture difficulty for players likely to cop a tag.

I then created a script to check every single teams fixture to see who is going to get the most tagging rats against them in the future. Here is an example output of Fremantle
View attachment 2277686

Opponent tagging threat rating (higher is worse) for all remaining games (R5 onwards)

View attachment 2277687

Opponent tagging threat rating (higher is worse) for upcoming 3 games (R5 onwards)

View attachment 2277688

Opponent tagging threat rating (higher is worse) for next week (R5)

View attachment 2277689

Personally the insight I draw from this data is:

1) I'm terrified to hold Rozee but hopefully teams start tagging Butters.
2) Neales still got a lot of dates with taggers in the future
3) I regret trading Will Day out
4) Nick Daicos must be traded in when his price drops after the tag this week, very little taggers in his future.
5) Rankine/Dawson fairly safe in the future.

What thoughts do y'all have?

I will be updating this thread with new fixture analysis each week
You had me at script, you flirtatious,comma-separated little minx, you 😍

Knevitt better be the sub. If he plays a full game and tons up I'll be fuming.
Don't hate the player, hate the game Chris Scott
Mitch deserves to spread his wings, even if many of us have had to cut him loose
All part of that beautiful dance we call life

We’re driving over from Melb tomorrow on a road trip (coming with a couple of mates) so we’ll drive up to Barossa. Doing the road trip back on Monday. Got a 3 bedroom house close to AO.

All thanks to you giving me heads up on timing BTW. I owe you a beer Nelso 👍
You're welcome.

Malinauskas is throwing everything at the AFL to get them to lock Gather Round here on a much longer term.

Will be held next year during the middle week of Victorian school holidays. I know for a fact that 70,000 ticket holders for games this week are from Victoria. You are not going to get those kinds of numbers if Gather Round was held anywhere else.

Went for a walk down the Parade last night and most restaurants and bars were near to capacity and it was only Wednesday night.

When you go up to the Barossa on Sunday. Call into Kies winery it is about 400m down the road from the Oval where the game is being played. Definitely worth a visit but I imagine it is going to be jam packed there.

Just be careful driving through Elizabeth on the way there. Bunch of Central Districts ferals who live there. Don't you agree SC fish :)