News 2025 St. Kilda Media Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter sammm

Was just watching the game and during the 3rd quarter G Lyon on the commentary said that wtte "Fremantle has way more talent than this St Kilda team". Nup. They don't. Our talent won the other night. By 10 goals.
It's just so frustrating that no matter how well our players perform, their ability is constantly dismissed.

Not to be 'woe is us' but so many of our players would be seen and talked about as more talented if they played for any other team. But because we are the designated 'lacks talent' club, they get dismissed and talked down at every opportunity.

It's just so frustrating that no matter how well our players perform, their ability is constantly dismissed.

Not to be 'woe is us' but so many of our players would be seen and talked about as more talented if they played for any other team. But because we are the designated 'lacks talent' club, they get dismissed and talked down at every opportunity.
Membrey is a gun now - media love him

Windy on SEN Breakfast 6/5

Ryan Byrnes RSN Sport Breaky with Harf

———-

Also, re: commentary these days… Jimmy Bartel is pretty balanced and rates the Saints kids. Still hurts that he shut down Lenny in the 2nd half of 2009 G/F

Was just watching the game and during the 3rd quarter G Lyon on the commentary said that wtte "Fremantle has way more talent than this St Kilda team". Nup. They don't. Our talent won the other night. By 10 goals.
All this talk about Treacy, when our big Max scored just as many goals as he did on the weekend!

Most footy Media pundits are like short sighted tunnel vision drivers who struggle to see past their big club bandwagon windscreens

We could win the Premiership and it will be still be because the other side in the GF had a bad day at the office

We were getting positive media when we were a reliable high quality list who would regularly win. Bevo and the Dogs were copping shit a month ago and now they are all elite.

It’s not a conspiracy. The spoils go to the winners in a high performance industry. It is all 100% reliant on achievement. We were starting to get respect, lost three in a row and it dropped away. Win a few in a row and look finals bound and it all comes back again.

———-

Also, re: commentary these days… Jimmy Bartel is pretty balanced and rates the Saints kids. Still hurts that he shut down Lenny in the 2nd half of 2009 G/F

Brynes speak so well.

You can tell why he's respected inside the 4 walls.

Good thing is people aren't actively trying to poach them.

Are you serious? We finished 10th last season. If you think the Fixture isn't cooked i don't know what to tell you.
Why do you think its called a fixture and not a draw and here is a tip for you , when we start being consistent and winning the crowds will come back to watch us and then we will start getting a better draw and more prime time games.

I watched the second half last night, particularly listening to the commentary.

I thought that, beside the “more talented team” comment, they were pretty strong on praising the Saints.
They also were very big on Sharman, ( compared him to Carey!) Owens, Hall and Wilkie in particular. They enjoyed and commented on Garcia’s output and the way Ross had handled him actually. ( he obviously knows his players)
They did mention Byrnes as a role player and the fact that Steele had been down for a couple of weeks - which I guess shows that they do do some research.

I think that watching a replay, knowing the result, it’s a bit easier to hear exactly what they are saying than live in the moment. Watch the replay, it might surprise you.

And, as we win more, hopefully they will recognise our talent more - because we’ve got heaps developing. And hopefully they all land up with egg on their faces. Got to keep winning though - otherwise we will not be taken seriously as a reliable team.

Why do you think its called a fixture and not a draw and here is a tip for you , when we start being consistent and winning the crowds will come back to watch us and then we will start getting a better draw and more prime time games.
I agree 100%

However, with the fixture we do get, it’s like pushing sh*t uphill to start well every season. In comparison to that of teams like the Suns for example who finished one spot below us and had a dream start.

The AFL do us no favours and that’s where the frustration lies.

Pundits who give us a fair shake these days:
David King
Nathan Buckley
Jason Dunstan
Joey Montagna
Josh Gableich (ex-employee)
Jay Clarke (Lyon's lapdog)
Mark Robinson
Eddie MacGuire
Dermott Brereton

Pundits who do not:
Damien Barrett
Kane Cornes
Matthew Lloyd
Anthony Hudson
Caroline Wilson
Brian Taylor
Luke Darcy
Ben Dixon (ex-employee)
Tom Morris (ex-employee)
Gerard Healy
Sam Edmund
Max Laughton
Chris Caravan (Who?)
Jon Ralph
Gerard Wheatley (feels like he's getting converted right now tbh, listen for his call of the Sharman to Owens one-handed mark sequence of the last game amongst other surprising sounds of admiration during that game!)

Whose footy opinion do you trust more: David King and Nathan Buckley or Matthew Lloyd and Damien Barrett?
No frigging contest. King and Buckley by the length of the straight.

If we win the next few games, no doubt we will have less Sunday games after round 16.

The media play the numbers game, they know the teams with the biggest supporter bases create the most interest so they create stories to feed them. Yes its biased but its how they make their $$$.

It’s the same conversation every year. Start winning games regularly, become a relevant team and most importantly don’t get belted three weeks in a row and the media narrative will change. The media analysis after the Port game was starting to turn with a lot of segments on our young talent then guess what….

———-

Both lads spoke well, its nice to hear two intelligent young men who can provide sound responses to questioning without the "ums' & "ahs" or I 'dont know".

A bit of a contrast to our captain who could do with some media training, generally he struggles in interviews to construct an insightful response. I guess its why the club often defer to other players for this sort of stuff eg Marshall, Wilkie, Wood and the two lads today.

Basically, Mitch and the club are quietly confident he will re-sign with the club - has built some strong relationships throughout the club since being drafted. However, the club understands he will have a a lot to think about.

Both NWM and TDK are going to decide based on our performances over the next couple of months. No pressure but if we're underperforming then I'm sure we miss out on both of them, if we're winning plenty then I'm sure we get both of them.

Pundits who give us a fair shake these days:
David King
Nathan Buckley
Jason Dunstan
Joey Montagna
Josh Gableich (ex-employee)
Jay Clarke (Lyon's lapdog)
Mark Robinson
Eddie MacGuire
Dermott Brereton

Pundits who do not:
Damien Barrett
Kane Cornes
Matthew Lloyd
Anthony Hudson
Caroline Wilson
Brian Taylor
Luke Darcy
Ben Dixon (ex-employee)
Tom Morris (ex-employee)
Gerard Healy
Sam Edmund
Max Laughton
Chris Caravan (Who?)
Jon Ralph
Gerard Wheatley (feels like he's getting converted right now tbh, listen for his call of the Sharman to Owens one-handed mark sequence of the last game amongst other surprising sounds of admiration during that game!)

Whose footy opinion do you trust more: David King and Nathan Buckley or Matthew Lloyd and Damien Barrett?
Sam Edmund/Andy Maher just flat don't like St Kilda. It goes back farther than TDK, but hearing them (both) regularly salty mouth Saints looking to get TDK is borderline loony. The first thing Edmund said about last Friday night's match (Saturday Crunch Time on SEN) was that it was "brown" "when you mix two boring colours", when the rest of the members on the show all said positive things. As a matter of fact, all other panellists/hosts said that they enjoyed the spectacle.

So I reckon there's a bias there, and he used the old adage of "Ross boring defensive match" because it's the common conception. "Say the line Bart" vibes.

Both NWM and TDK are going to decide based on our performances over the next couple of months. No pressure but if we're underperforming then I'm sure we miss out on both of them, if we're winning plenty then I'm sure we get both of them.
I am sure the win/loss aspect is important for both players, but they might have a differing view of what is underperforming.

For example, TDK might require us to make finals (and for Carlton to sh*t the bed) to convince him of jumping ship, while Nas might stay if we miss finals (10-11 wins or so) because he can see the list challenging from next year onwards.

End of the day, no one knows but the two players. No amount of money can keep Nas if he misses his family and wants to go home. Plenty of moving parts, but winning is probably the one thing we can do to convince both players.

I am sure the win/loss aspect is important for both players, but they might have a differing view of what is underperforming.

For example, TDK might require us to make finals (and for Carlton to sh*t the bed) to convince him of jumping ship, while Nas might stay if we miss finals (10-11 wins or so) because he can see the list challenging from next year onwards.

End of the day, no one knows but the two players. No amount of money can keep Nas if he misses his family and wants to go home. Plenty of moving parts, but winning is probably the one thing we can do to convince both players.
Surely with Nas, he'd be more into what sort of group is around him. A group he knows pretty closely by now.

Jake and Ari unpack the Saints’ huge win over Freo, highlight key standouts, and look ahead to Friday night’s Spud’s Game clash with Carlton.