Training 2025 Training Blog - Training Reports only - *NO DISCUSSION*

Same principle as the Bluemour File - this thread is for TRAINING REPORTS ONLY

No discussion is to take place in this thread!

All discussion belongs over here: https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/2025-pre-season-training-reports-pics-etc.1389175/page-10

It's an easy reference point for training reports without having to sift through pages & pages of posts.

By all means copy and paste training reports from this thread using #TrackTalk hashtag which can be referenced back for discussion in the 'Pre-Season 2025 - Training reports, pics etc' thread & vice versa:-

This has been found to be a valuable reference tool for those of us that love reading training reports and can't make it to training sessions whether it be to due to work commitments, living interstate etc.

The time and effort our posters put in attending training sessions and keep us up to date on how our players/new recruits are tracking is invaluable and we all love reading their informative training reports and we thank you.

Ok well a little preseason treat for ya.

Old Windows made his way down to Latrobe today. To ‘study’ the squad of course.

Observations in random order. Firstly no big declarations to make mainly due to (a) no really serious running drills and (b) no more extended match sim.

Now that the dampener is out of the way, and presuming you didn’t change channels…..

WOW Holy Shit! Never seen the squad basically all there! I think only Fantasia missed. Sure there were several expected names on modified programs but unlike in the past where you’d see guys just standing around hand balling, every player on a modified program looked to be on it for precaution sake only. And as for the modified groups- it seemed to be very individual based not so much one sized fits all.

Just an awesome start to preseason.

Modified group 1: Charlie, MCG and Acres. MCG seems to be in that for good now. They’ve worked out how to get him through. Charlie seemed totally fine, at his absolute powerful best. May I say Acres is quite a fine runner……and Charlie torched him. All 3 no issues at all. They only really did running drills. Reports MCG looked fat in others’ posts in past weeks were invalidated. Looked totally fine and I was very close to him.

Modified group 2 SOS TDK Cotts doc C Durdin. Did a lot of footy drills. Doc did more of the simulation stuff than the others. Sos TDK and Durdin just did the footy drills and running but no real sim. Again totally precautionary and seemed fine. Tom seemed totally unhindered but his fitness a little off what he was at this time last year. Will get it back by end of preseason.

The younger players had the usual load mgt stuff. Didn’t really get to see Jagga in the situations he excels in but he looked good.

Ben C has developed a ‘competent’ kicking action where he has a low ball drop, gets boot to ball quickly and punches low 40m passes. Looks effective.

The big 4 mids - Walsh Cripps Hewett and Cerra (horray!!!) seemed in top condition and certainly took no backward steps on the younger guys. Walsh dumped Jagga unceremoniously at one point. Maybe even a little dirty (just a ‘welcome to the big time’ thing).

Jesse was a highlight. He looks way fitter than he has ever before. They didn’t do a lot of running but he was really not far off Ollie in the short stuff they did. Lord as well excelled there. I did feel Lij was a bit behind where he was this time last year.

I was impressed by Hudson O’Keefe’s added size. He’s a great athlete and prospect. One to watch.

HOF does not really have the body that will fill out to ‘big unit’ status and is very skinny.

Saad’s pace looked better than this past season. Cerra was really in great free moving shape. Wonderful to see. The one on one battles with Walsh were a treat and I have to say Cerra had the edge there.

Pretty hard to determine much by way of positions just yet as they really didn’t do a lot of simulation full ground.

Happy to take questions but don’t ask about positions.

#TrackTalk

Took a punt and headed over to LaTrobe Bundoora this morning and after spotting a person in Carlton training gear crossing the road in front of me, turned out to be Newman, I knew I was in the right place. There were a few players milling around and quite a few coaches and helpers setting out all types of cones and equipment. While I parked the car the players all went up stairs into a room where you could hear the occasional round of applause.

When they came out on to the ground and started warming up, I spotted most of the new draftees and some of the train on players I knew from last year - Sam Durdin, Matt Carroll, Liam McMahon and Will White. There were four I wasn't sure about, three young blokes in Carlton singlet's but no numbers, I think they were NGA players Tyson Gresham, Jack Ison and Mingara Clark, heard players call the little one Gresh and another Jack (so I made the assumption). There was a very tall player wearing number 49, thought it was Mirkov when I first saw him, but while tall I don't think it was him. Maybe it was Grainger-Barass or the other ex-Hawk Ethan Phillips, but I don't think they are as tall as this bloke.

Corey Durdin and Matt Cottrell were both wearing yellow hat's, which we were told earlier in the week means don't tackle. Fantasia didn't really join in the warm up and Cottrell, Acres and McGovern did all the initial warm up, but had broken away to the goal square before the first lot of drill's began. They were asked to swap into singlet's and their training tops were given to the three NGA boys. As the training session went on, this little group grew to include Corey Durdin, Silvagni, Curnow, DeKoning and I think the new Irish player Duffy.

Similar to last year, they created three main groups to complete the drills, then swap to the next. These included handball keeping's off, kicking from behind a mark, at least one was forcing the players to use left foot, kicking and following up to receive a handball back and kicking again, etc. They even did a drill near the goals where the small forwards were trying to read the ball off a contest and kick the goal (an area I feel we need to be better at). They progressed through the drills, until they ended up with most of the players doing match sim on most of the ground. Eventually the players swapped took off their footy boots and put on runners and began to run half laps of the ground within set time limits and with set recovery times. This is about the time I left.

Probably focused on the draftee's and identifying players I didn't recognise. Of the draftee's, the bits I saw of Jagga were impressive, one grab and hit his target's. Ben and Lucas didn't seem out of place, but they did pull Ben out of the main group for some running on his own. Harry O'Farrell was getting some individual coaching when they were completing the whole ground match sim. I think they took all of the draftee's out early before the big match sim drill was finished.

#TrackTalk

Last edited by a moderator:

Notes:
  • cinc missing completely (Ramsay was wearing his number). So too S Durdin.
  • fantasia was there and did nothing at all
  • TDK out of the rehab group
  • Acres, MCG, Charlie, SOS, Cotts and little Durds largely rehab group. All ran heaps and strongly. Rehab for conservative reasons only. Okeefe also joined them for the most part. Was running fine. He has put on nice size as i said previously.

Jagga got beaten repeatedly (predictably) by Walshy in one on ones. Walsh was a beast today. Trained fully and awesome. Jagga was otherwise good. I am looking forward to a proper match sim.

Cerra, Walsh, Cripps and George are all FLYING. In great nick and ready to rumble.

Denver Granger Barrass moved really well. Caught my eye with his kicking too. Looks weak one on one though. But def looks good otherwise.

Motlop smashed them (along with Billy Wilson) in shuttle sprints and may have been my pick of the session with his movement through traffic in drills. Saad looked top speed too.

Cowan and Ollie great today.

One to note and watch was Matt Carroll. I need to pay more attention to him in future. Has a strong build, power, pretty clean. He impressed me today but I need to really focus on him - looks to be aiming for a back flank role.

Kemp endurance running looks career best now. Ready for that repeat running third tall forward role.

Moir running looked solid. He looks to be improving.

Ben C kicking was uhm...... His brother showed his leap on a couple of occasions with some nice marks.

HOF 2 years away at best. Lord kicking could do with some more punch. Tends to float them too much. Looked good otherwise.

Nothing much else to report. Happy to take questions.

#TrackTalk

Decided to go along again today, having found where the team trained last Friday.

I see the club posted another of those training in 60 videos before I managed to post this, if you look closely the training tops were white when turned inside out, instead of orange today.

Unfortunately I didn't do a head count so I'm not sure if anyone was missing, but suspect Cincotta was missing again.

Cottrell walked past me a couple of times but didn't go out on the training track, I did notice Fantasia was training on his own on a second ground next to the building. He eventually came on to the main training ground when the did a drill on both grounds, but basically was kicking at goal up one end.

Noticed that Cripps had a shoulder strapped, as did Corey Durdin (still wearing the yellow hat), Olli Hollands had a yellow hat on too, but was being tackled so maybe that doesn't mean not to be tackled.

I still think there is a bit of a re-hab group with Silvagni, Acres, Duffy, McGovern and Durdin joining in for some drills or being the end target in some drills, but not fully joining in training.

After warming up one they split into two groups and one played soccer, while the other group caught tennis balls belted as high as possible into the air.

The players were called out to catch the ball and lots of good natured cheering and ribbing took place if the ball was caught or dropped.

The next drill was the one at the start of the video, bibs were given to one group the tacklers and the others were trying to take and stand in the tackle, then dish it off to the others.

Of course Cripps excelled at this, using the bibs allowed them to swap in new tacklers and keep the pressure up.

Unlike Friday where they did running at the end of the session, today they did running between the drills.

Running around the boundary anti-clock wise, then turning and going back the other way, before moving on to the next drill.

They divided into forward, mids and defenders - so for the players there has been talk about - Kemp was with the forwards, Newman and Ollie with the defenders.

Inside an area marked out by cones, one group practiced moving the ball while the others put pressure on them.

Not sure being forward, mids or defenders matters much, Pitto and O'Keffee did some crash tackling of a big tackle bag during this drill and while the majority did the running.

They then split into two big groups and practiced ball movement on the whole ground, one group went to the ground Fantasia was running on for this drill.

It looked to me like they were trying to practice getting through a zone defence, there were more attackers than defenders.

Weitering managed to turn the ball over at one stage as a defender and kick a goal which they all celebrated. But this was the only time the defenders managed to stop the ball movement, more running after this drill.

They completed a similar drill in a number of smaller groups on the main ground, followed by more running.

Around this time some players started to leave the track and head off, Acres, Charlie and Walshy left together, while SOS and TDK left around this time too.

They did some wrestling activities next, pairing up and shoulder blocked each other for a while before trying to push or knock their opponent over.

They followed this by including the ball with one player picking it up and another tackling him ball and all.

It pretty much wound up from there, with some players playing a reaction game with Hamill, others like Kemp did goal kicking.

I'm not planning to go to Friday's open session, hopefully someone who does and can give us a report.

It's not the greatest ground to watch footy at one side slopes away from the fence and only one flank provides a bit of height to see the ground.

There is some road works being done between the road running around the Uni and the sports area.

Hopefully the club is prepared for a crowd of kids, like has turned out at recent open training sessions and all the extra traffic, that will go along with it.

#TrackTalk

Having seen the team had returned to training last week via the Clubs videos and pictures showing them training. I made the assumption the main ground was still not ready for them to use and figured I might be able to watch them train today on the outside oval at Princes Park. When I arrived, there was no sign of them inside or outside the ground, so I took another punt and drove out to La Trobe where they trained before Christmas. Luckily for me they were there.

Arrived a little before 10am and they were well underway. While I didn't do a complete roll call, as expected I couldn't see Cincotta on the track and Curnow and Monahan where the rehab group (not sure what has happened to Rob). These two left fairly early to go swimming as part of their rehab, I assume. Five players were wearing the fluro yellow - don't tackle me hats - Silvagni, McGovern, Corey Durdin, Cottrell and Duffy, and they were left out of the full contact drills.

I think they were doing a ball movement drill when I arrived, one group starting with the ball and another defending, in retrospect this was probably not a contact drill. They were using most of the ground and realised they split into two groups on the two grounds. Most of the younger players were on the second ground, so I went over and caught the last bit of that before they all moved back to the main ground. The yellow hat wearers stayed on the second oval and did some running drills.

While the main group did a full contact whole field match sim type drill, which included ruck work for the first time. You could see the appeal of Jagga in this drill, he'd get the ball and give it off very quickly and move to a position to get it back, one grab and very clean with the ball. Haynes did a couple of nice things, covers his man and uses the ball well, hopefully he can provide that consistent support for Weitering he was recruited for. Fantasia did a couple of nice things at one stage, I sometimes forget how capable he is. I liked a couple of things Moir did as a forward including kicking a goal and giving one off and Ben Camporeale kicked a nice goal to finish the drill.

Everyone moved over to the second oval for the next drill, mainly a handball drill with the opposition trying to get one hand on the ball carrier to turn the ball over and a kick at goal allowed when in range. all player joined in as it was not full contact. Eventually the rules about kicking were expanded and the opposition had to get two hand on the opposition to get a turn over. A lot of running in this drill and players were constantly swapping in and out. They returned to the main oval to do some more whole field match sim drills, but this time without the ruck work.

I'll finish with a couple of concerns: couldn't recall spotting Acres for the whole session, didn't see Walshy during the handball game and saw him after this heading off with one of the trainers, no obvious sign of injury, hopefully just watching his workload and young Harry Charleston was running laps from part way through the session.

On a more positive note, there were two players wearing no. 16, Ben Camporeale and a smaller player I think they were calling Frank when he got the ball, I think maybe Francis Evans one of our VFL signings. Not sure how much longer before the ground in ready and training returns behind closed doors on the main ground at Princes Park.

#TrackTalk

Went along again on Friday, just haven't had a chance to sit and type something, but better late than never as the saying goes. I'll start with who was and wasn't training, briefly saw Alex Cincotta still limping, Walshy did a lot of running, but did join Charlie Curnow and Rob Monahan who were doing their own thing off to the side of the main groups, kicking and running at different stages, these seem to be the rehab group. Silvagni, McGovern and Duffy did alot of the drills, but did not join in the match sim, I suspect they are no contact still. I did not spot Sam Docherty, don't know why and during the session Jordon Boyd left the drills, ran some laps and then rode an exercise bike on the sidelines for a while, like Doc, no idea why.

The train-on guys were present, McMahon, White, Grainger-Barass and Matt Carroll. Along with the NGA boys Jack Ison and Mingara Clark, no Tyson Gresham this week or Harry Dean. Kreuzer's shadow Flynn Riley, I think, a ruckman signed up to the VFL Squad, he tends to follow Kreuzer around and occasionally join a drill. There were also about 3 or 4 blokes I think are probably also from the VFL squad, I couldn't identify them all one was Francis Evans, I think. Finally for the oldies like me, I spotted Wayne Harmes and Rod Ashman (he was wearing a hat that made it hard to see his face) watching training from the sidelines, great to see some club champions came along and support the team.

After doing some warm up running and stretching, they did some different drills, a couple of groups played keepy uppy with a soccer ball, while others did tackling or evading drills and reading the ball off a contest. They split into groups and practiced ball movement, with one group handballing or kicking, while others tried to pressure them. They eventually moved into match sim, which they did stop half way through did another drill and then went back to match sim.

From the match sim, it was good to see Blake Acres taking part even if he was wearing the yellow (dont tackle me) cap, along with Corey Durdin and Matt Cottrell both back to full training. I thought Cerra played really well and got a number of clearances, Hudson O'Keeffe did some good things in the ruck, has come along way in two seasons. Kemp looked like he was set to mark a couple of times only for Weitering to arrive and knock him out of the way or block his run and mark it himself. It is players like Weitering, Cripps, McKay, who are the best at trainers, just as they are the best players.

Of the others, Motlop and Moir were working in well with McKay, as is Williams who is moving further up the field a bit more than he was in games during the year. Both Holland boy's were getting plenty of the ball. You can tell Haynes knows what he's doing, a couple of spoils and a tap to advantage, hope he gets a good run at it at Carlton. If you haven't seen it already have a look at the extended highlights of the match sim the club put up on the website. It's a compilation of different training sessions since they returned after the break, not just last Friday's session, explains why Cerra, TDK, Moir, etc. appear to switch sides.

Hoping to get to another session or two at LaTrobe, before they return to being behind closed doors at Princes Park.

#TrackTalk

I went down to training today
5 x 15 minute quarters and one 10 minute

Observations
  • Jagga is a star, evasiveness is top tier butters like quality. Knows how to find the footy, absolute certain round 1 and will rotate on ball and half forward this year
  • Orazio Fantasia was the best small forward today by a country mile. Looks like his Essendon days may be back. Our answer to the Matthew owies void
  • Ben Campo is very impressive for someone who was pick 43, his talent exceeds that. Tough never fumbles, if he can fix his kicking to just afl standard he’s a 200 gamer
  • Cerra looks back to 2023 form and if not for number 9 would be my tip for the bnf this year. Could be a year where we see the whole midfield flying at once finally
  • Lord and Hewett are interesting. I’d say right now Hewett isn’t in the side, think he makes way for younger talent. Lord impressive all day
  • Haynes is a weapon and underrated pickup in the media. Gonna improve our intercepting abilities massively
  • Doc played half back, on ball and wing and was on the white team all match sim. Looked like doc
  • Walsh and Charlie looked like they could’ve been part of the match sim but being conservative
  • Williams didn’t train but didn’t see any sign of an injury, Boyd the same
  • HOK beat Pitto head to head and had a nice rucking goal. TDK didn’t ruck much but still got a fair amount of the pill
  • Binns was solid but acres dominated and looks primed for another solid year
  • Moir + Motlop didn’t do an awful lot but that’s the nature of the position
  • Ollie, Haynes and Gov took kick ins, personally think it’s Gov and Gov only

Healthiest I’ve seen us at this time of year

Think our midfield is the best in the comp with the addition of Jagga

Team wise kicking was very solid and much improved from the sloppy kicking we saw in December
This squad is tough and get a few bruises, but no one is matching our contested ability

If healthy in 25’ skies the limit

#TrackTalk

Also went along to training to today and will try and add a little to what Juice has already said. The rehab group consisted of Charlie Curnow, Rob Monahan, Matt Duffy and Sam Walsh, they pretty much did their own thing and went to the oval next door when match sim started. I saw Alex Cincotta briefly doing some handball with one of the trainers and spotted Nic Newman getting around in a leg brace. Neither Zac Williams or Jordon Boyd took part in the match sim, agree Williams looked fine and was standing at the goals up one end for most of the session. Boyd looked like he had strapping on one calf from the knee down and did some stretching and striding, but spent most of his time talking to the trainers.

With School back with week it wasn't surprising that the NGA boys were not there this Friday. I saw McMahon, Will White and Grainger-Barrass, but don't remember seeing Sam Durdin and Matt Carroll looks like he was put back on the rookie list before the match sim today (from the video I just watched). There were a few other additions, I'm assuming were VFL players, the big ruckman who has been there most Friday's who I believe is Flynn Riley, along with about four or five others, Francis Evans who kicked the first goal of the match sim and there was another tall player who I think is Ethan Phillips.

The first two quarters of the match sim, seemed the usual with the Blue side stacked with most of the better players. But at the second break most of the backs swapped sides, so Weitering, Haynes, Ollie Holland, Saad, SOS, switched to the White side and Young, Grainger-Barrass, etc. joined the Blue side, so Weitering lined up on McKay, Saad on Motlop, etc. They played the next two quarters with this line-up. But pretty much changed back for the last two quarter (not sure they're quarters if there are six of them). SOS was the only player in the match sim to wear a yellow (don't tackle me) cap, but he played in defence for the Blue side and moved well.

Pitto did take a strong mark for a goal in the first quarter, but I agree that O'Keeffe is now much bigger and has more to offer, kicked a couple of goals, one a very good grab out of the throw in and snap. Harry McKay kicked three goals (although I don't think he kicked any on Weitering). Fantasia also kicked three. Kemp kicked two as did Fogarty and Acres who is back moving well. McMahon managed back to back goals in the fifth quarter, he clearly has the talent, I'm not sure we will take a punt on him with the players already on our list that play in the same position. A fairly long session, McGovern copped a low blow at one stage and Lemmey got a cramp late in the session, but fingers-crossed everyone else pulled up OK.

#TrackTalk

Attended training today and overall it was an enjoyable outing. A few tidbits:

- The list seems generally fit. Good numbers on the track. Newman and Cincotta the only two with a line through them for round 1 at this stage.

- The Charlie situation seems more of a media beat up than anything. There was no awkward landing. No grimacing in pain. No obvious concern. Most just assumed he was being taken out of training as part of his individual program. I’m not surprised there’s no structural damage.

- Walsh ran strongly and trained with some train on players who were kicking to him. Barring a setback, looks on track for round 1.

- Didn’t see Cerra (his wedding today), B Campo or HOK on track for whatever reason.

- Jagga looks excellent and I sum up my first look at him by the fact he looked so comfortable in the A midfield. Suspect he’s a walk up start to round 1. Agility, speed and follow up a feature.

- Really liked the look of L Campo. Found a lot of the ball. Neat kick on his left. Reckon he’ll surprise a few. Looks a lot more ready than your standard late draft pick.

- Boyd is clearly hampered. Only ran 150s around one side of the ground and did some stair walks up one of the stands but otherwise wasn’t involved. A bit of a watch for round 1 based on the modified program.

- Otherwise, nothing too out of the ordinary to report. We’re looking pretty good, best depth I can recall in the last 20-25 years, but certainly we need some luck from the injury gods as the season unfolds.

#TrackTalk

Ok my notes player by player for those unable to attend:

• SOS looked the best he has by miles down back. Slotting in nicely. His ball use off both feet really open up play out of the back half and his smarts and effort are terrific.
  • Cowan was solid didn’t really notice him.
  • Motlop is in the best shape of his life. For example in the run drills at the end of training he did not get “dropped” like he has in the past. He’s a ball of muscle and agile as hell. Put him down for 35 with a sprinkling of on ball time.
  • Ollie continues to bother me with his ball use out of the back half. I’m sure he will play there for round one as he’s been there all preseason.
  • Williams looks superb. Moving better than I’ve ever seen. Looks strong fit and fast. Big year ahead.
  • Jagga Smith, in a word: EXQUISITE. He is projecting to 25+ a game and I think of those he will try and evade like 15+ times a game. And maybe get caught twice. He just REALLY breaks up play with his feet. Remarkable player.
  • Crippa is just no change. Rinse repeat.
  • Harry will have a great year.
  • Mitch is mitch
  • Tom has def lost cardio fitness compared to same time last year. Today Lemmey was doing in the big man runs what TDk was doing last year. Not worried but possibly a slower start for Tom this year.
  • Acres is back
  • Raz looks better than he’s ever looked to me. Winning the repeat sprints. Moving fantastic. No sign of modified duties for him at all. A lock if he stays uninjured.
  • Doc is back to career best. Awesome
  • Ben was on crutches (ankle?)
  • Kemp was fine.
  • Walsh must have put the best running session together I’ve ever seen at the club. Flying. No issues at all. Side benefit of the hamstring is he’s really been working on his left foot and it shows.
  • Durdi I didn’t notice
  • Lij!!!!! Holy shit. Fitness has lifted a lot past two months. Looks a bit quicker and stronger. The strut is out in full force. He knows he’s very good.
  • Lucas I like what I am seeing. He’s not standing out. That’s a good thing! Doesn’t look out of place at all. I think a couple of years in the vfl and we have one here.
  • HOF I didn’t really pay attention to
  • Weiterinf looks more agile, more lean, stronger, like dominant awesome awesome.
  • Binns looks a great backup
  • Heynes solid as per usual
  • Pitto is a vfl ruckman
  • Charleston I didn’t notice
  • Hewett great. Really good. Tough to displace him.
  • Charlie was great and looked like Charlie until injury
  • Lemmey was good
  • Wilson was ok
  • Lord was ok didn’t do as much as in the past but nothing bad
  • Saad was terrific and has had a great preseason
  • Moir did nothing and may have been injured towards the end?
  • Cotts terrific and will be in the round one side

#TrackTalk

Just got home from the session.

Great to hear that Charles was cleared of anything major, he was looking awesome in the early part of the session. Him and H marking everything that was coming their way.

I agree with everything that's been written so far. Saad was brilliant across half back, Harry stood out up forward etc. Finally got to Jagga live, and he sure does impress. You can easily tell he's got amazing situational awareness as well as game awareness - one of those players who seems to find space in congestion, and knows how to time his 2nd and 3rd efforts so he's in the right place at the right time.

Motlop was impressive in the drills and match sim - looks like he's finally ready to take that next step. The other who I thought was ultra impressive up forward was Will White - definitely has AFL qualities about him, and didn't do his chances any harm to get a tap on the shoulder - although probably not in a position of need at the moment. Was also right up there with Ollie, Binns and Cotters in the running drills. And Orazio is all class when he gets the ball.

Lemmey wasn't really noticeable in match sim - he seemed to be playing further up the ground, but could be wrong. One thing I will say is that he looks to have some real running capacity about him. They split into groups for the running drills, and he was like a big gazelle in his group, loping at the front of the pack.

There's probably more I could bang on about, but not of much interest....although I was keeping an eye on McMahon for obvious reasons. I could be wrong, but it looks like he's filled out a little since the end of last season - one poster has mentioned that he's apparently come back in ripping nick - so at least giving himself every chance. Anyway, he kicked a goal in match sim - outmarked Weiters (I think it was) - then went back and slotted it from outside 50. Got burnt on a few leads after that, but overall seems he could slot into that back up role nicely.

DGB didn't impress me a lot, although he was matched up on Charles early, who took him to the cleaners. But Charlie has done that to a lot better defenders than DGB, so you can't be too critical. Phillips was also out there, although I didn't pick up it was him until late in the session, so can't comment either way.

It seems it'll likely be out of McMahon or DGB for the final spot the way it currently stands.

edit: forgot to mention Elijah - looks incredibly fit!!

#TrackTalk

Heard from someone who attended intra-club:

• Lemmey clearly best tall forward, multiple marks I50, towelled up Young, good on lead and overhead, big preseason, will play this season. Kicking a bit variable, like a young Harry. We’ve got a good one
  • Corey Durdin ran thru midfield and outstanding early. Many ran thru middle including Doc, Lij, Cooper
  • George in best nick to date at club, tagged and matched Cripps in part, to Cripps frustration at times
  • reported offer on TDK real and on yesterday form justified
  • Jagga, a lock for round 1, gun yesterday
  • SOS, rusty down back, yellow cap, and didn’t do a lot matching up on Kemp
  • Curnow and Walsh didn’t participate but looked sharp in running drills
  • Elijah trimmed down and superb, real danger entering I50
  • Ollie ok off half back, Saad looked super sharp and back to best
  • a couple of players had done earlier sessions - one was Weiters - so didn’t participate
  • whisper hoping Newwy back late this year. At the club yesterday walking in big leg brace. Club just saying no timeline. Only he and Cincotta out for R1 (latter, hip surgery)

#TrackTalk

Won't touch on every player. Only guys I didn't see were Fantasia, Smith, Newman, Durdin

Rehab group

HOK, clearly only a minor hamstring, did laps, sominvolvement in drill, but also using the marking bag, 4 weeks max. Cincotta, ran some laps, looks cut, but needs miles after the hip injury. Monahan isn't far away from returning, perhaps 4 weeks. Duffy ran some laps, lump of a lad, but will need 12 months to get his body into shape

Everyone else participated in drills of some kind, but Harry and Cottrell didn't get involved in match sims

Gov looked sharp, moved well both sides, no concerns with how he pulled up against GWS.

Doc should play round 1, was one touch, great hit ups by foot and moved well

Walsh was his usual self, apart from really sucking in some deep breaths at times, not 100% fitness but he willl play round 1. Don't be surprised if he starts at HF pushing up to the contest, which would also allow Lord to squeeze into the side, he too looked one touch and used the ball well

Elijah, not issue in gathering or distributing, but wasn't moving at top speed. Unknown if he is in the side first up

Lucas, nothing I saw to suggest he won't debut, really smart reader of play and gets to really good spots for the outlet. Very composed in traffic. Well and truly gone past Binns for a wing spot

Wilson is some way off breaking into the side, enjoyed his attack on the footy, but still lacks consistency with ground balls and positioning. 4 - 6 weeks at VFL level will give people a better read

Moir is moving better than I have ever seen him, won't be long before he cements a spot

Carroll, kid continues to grow in confidence every time I see him. Id have no issue if he was selected, in fact, id have more confidence in him defensively and to distribute over Ollie

Boyd, good to see him finally stretching out, perhaps the only reason he misses round 1 is the lack of competitive match sim hit outs.

Curnow, I know that Voss said he won't play and they want to get more work into him, but he looked primed to me, and seems like he was trying to convince the coaching staff he is good to go. Seems like they want to hold him back a little

Don't be surprised if Young plays as the chop out ruck/forward, even if Harry gets up

#TrackTalk

Open Training on Sunday 9 March at IKON Park.

My 53 minute video featuring Carlton players undertaking a variety of practice drills, sprints, and match simulations.

Includes the players photo session with the supporters at the end, and the autograph signing session.

Keep an eye out for the Carlton player lookalike competition at the 31:45 minute mark that was won by a young girl who looked like BRUCE DOULL !!

AUDIO - I have had to remove most of the audio due to copyright music being played loudly throughout the training session.

Thanks all.

#TrackTalk

Just a quick note from yesterday's training session.

The Ugly:
  • Music was god-awful and ridiculously loud, as was the MC.
  • Training was centred on the far wing for around 80% of the session. If the club wants people to attend these sessions then move the bloody eskies, make-up and hair dye over to the near wing where the fans are.
  • Start the session when you advertise the session, not 45 minutes later.
The Bad:
  • Cottrell ran up and down the aisle in the Legends stand rather than take part in the match sim. Will he start on Thursday??? Buggered if I know.
  • McKay is only a 50/50 starter IMO. Didn't look happy and tried stretching in the "lunge" position to free himself up. Didn't take any part in the match sim. Wonder if that's had more to do with his finishing practice matches early rather than time management.
  • Voss said Charlie is a non-starter for Round 1.
  • Cincotta ran laps, but still looks to favouring one side.
  • Fogarty was wearing the non-contact hat.
  • No appearance from Fantapants, Newman, Smith, Durdin or Ben Campo. Don't know what it means re Fantapants.
The Good:
  • Haynes to debut. No secret here. Exceptionally clean with his ball acquisition and handling.
  • Lucas Campo to debut. No secret here as has performed well throughout preseason.
  • Walsh is a starter for Round 1. Trained well.
  • Charlie trained well and isn't far away. Everything he did screams "I wanna play" so don't be surprised if he's a late in especially if McKay doesn't come up.
  • Both Irish boys are recovering well from their respective knee injuries and did laps. Duffy will need 12 months in the gym and on the ground to alter his body shape.
  • O'Keefe isn't far away from returning to full training after tweaking a hammy.
  • SOS & Kemp look comfortable in their new roles.
  • Moir's body shape has completely changed during the last 12 months (in a good way). Looks very agile and quick, but didn't do anything outstanding to suggest he's pushing for Round 1 selection IMO. Still has some sharp edges to file off and show consistent form at VFL level.
  • Docherty will play.....Yes he will play!!!
General Observations:
  • Just a general training session conducted in 2nd gear so take aways are somewhat limited.
  • Good to see most players out on the track and only a relatively small rehab group. That said there's all of Newman, Smith, Ben Campo, Durdin, Cincotta, Duffy & Monahan. Then there's the doubtfuls in McKay, Fog and Cottrell.
  • If McKay does play then there's no way he'll be used in the ruck, so I expect Young to selected whether he plays or not.
  • O'Farrell is unlikely to play this year, but his ball-handling off the deck and his marking prowess is very good. Matt Carroll similar.
  • Wilson is still quite someway off it IMO.
Possible Line-Up:

B: SOS, Weitering, Saad
BH: McGovern, Haynes, Cowan
C: Acres, Cripps, L.Camporeale
HF: Williams, Young, E.Hollands
F: Kemp, Curnow, Motlop
R: TDK, Hewett, Cerra
IC: Walsh, Docherty, Lord, Boyd
Sub: O.Hollands.
  • Curnow seems much more likely to play than McKay based upon what I saw at training.
  • Cottrell, Fog and Fantapants are somewhat unknowns as to where they're at. I'd have all 3 ahead of Ollie if fit.
  • Even if McKay does play he won't do any ruck work IMO, therefore Young is a likely selection.
For those of you who want to see past the basics as to why Lucas Camporeale was selected have a look at this excellent video from The Saba Show on YouTube. Enjoy.

#TrackTalk

When along this morning to have a look at the viewing session, thankfully no loud music that seems to be part of the open training sessions. First player out was Charlie Curnow not wearing a number of his training singlet, but had to miss even though he spent his time on the other side of the ground. Charlie along with Weitering, and Cottrell appeared to be on light duties, doing their own thing. During the session Newman and Fantasia, also came out and did some running and kicking with each other and the trainers. Newman seemed to be moving well and there was no sign of strapping on his knee.

Cincotta, Duffy and Cowen were in the main group and completed all of the session, as did Sam Docherty who didn't play a game on the weekend at AFL or VFL level. There was a young tall bloke wearing No. 47, I think is Dane Harvey from the VFL squad who was training with the group. The only player I expected to see but didn't spot was Nick Haynes.

They trained pretty solidly for 2 hours, I thought the effort and intensity was pretty good, with minimal contact. Lots of drills practicing moving the ball, while a group in different coloured tops tried to stop them. There were other drills with all the forwards, all the defenders and the midfield in different groups, working on clearances or roving the ball off of marking contest, etc. As things wound down a small group of players did a series of run throughs, I lot of the younger guys worked on their kicking - the Twins and the Irish boy's, plus a few others. While most of the rest took shots at goal, before heading off the track.

#TrackTalk

No Voss, Cripps, Docherty, Jagga, Cottrell, Elijah and Kemp.

Just a few other points/observations without going into any great depth cos it aint preseason, just an open session designed for public consumption.

- JSOS and Cow out there early to do some light work. Both looked to be moving okay. Big H came out not long after - did the drills but not the match sim. Left the ground early, but no signs of injury - no idea, but hopefully nothing to worry about.

- Newy was moving freely (sorry Jim). Joined in the drills but wore the yellow cap. Haynes also wearing a yellow cap so may have a little niggle.

- I hate to say it, but our basic kicking skills are awful. They were doing one on one kicking during the warmups of about 25-30 metres - it was fairly casual, but there were way too many balls hitting the ground. I also don't care what the stats say, B.Campo's kicking is terrible - missing 25m passes under no pressure to a stationery target. Still reckon the kid will be a ripper, but badly needs to work on that part of his game. The good news is that the kicking efficiency overall seemed to improve during match sim.

- better news for Jim, I thought Billy looked great - clean hands and his disposal really stood out. Reckon we may see a debut at some stage soon - god knows we need the run. I also liked Charleson across half back during match sim - looks lively.

- our new boy Flynn didn't look out of place at all. I reckon we may need to be a little patient before he gets his chance, but his kicking was sublime, didn't miss a target. Not a lot of him, but looking forward to seeing him initially with the VFL boys and hopefully getting a call up at some stage.

#TrackTalk

Training 2025 Training Blog - Training Reports only - *NO DISCUSSION*