Preview 2026 AFL Draft General Discussion

Hodge, very ordinary. Yet watch him get picked for the Futures Game anyway.

Archie Watts impressive for QLD, Caelyn Murray also good. Matt Owen clean, but didn't get as much ball as normal. #4 Duke looked like he has something.

Geez QLD picked some passengers though, they really need to reconsider how they pick this side. Only having academy kids, and splitting it 50/50 really compromises the integrity of wearing the Q on the front. Should have a Suns/Lions logo as it aint the best u17s in QLD by any stretch.

The question really must be asked though... Do you deserve to get rights to a player who was clearly going to be a top 5 pick regardless of Ports involvement with him because you helped him rehab a hamstring injury in his 17s campaign?

I mean hell, he'd probably go #1 if he was available in this year's draft pool if he was eligible and he's not even in Ports NGA yet.

If he was borderline draftable they sure as shit wouldnt have invested in his rehab.

Archie Watts impressive for QLD, Caelyn Murray also good. Matt Owen clean, but didn't get as much ball as normal. #4 Duke looked like he has something.

Geez QLD picked some passengers though, they really need to reconsider how they pick this side. Only having academy kids, and splitting it 50/50 really compromises the integrity of wearing the Q on the front. Should have a Suns/Lions logo as it aint the best u17s in QLD by any stretch.
I am 99% sure that academy membership is a requirement for these games.

Same for the U16 & U18 championships.

Caylen Murray looked really good to me, idk why but get flashes of NAS.

I am 99% sure that academy membership is a requirement for these games.

Same for the U16 & U18 championships.

well the u16 championships is played for the academies, and there is no QLD u18 team.

Calling it a QLD u17 team when its missing many of the best u17 players is completely ******ed, especially when it has 12 from the Suns academy who are ordinary in that age group.

If you call something the QLD u17s, thats what it should be. Not like its a strong enough state to not pick the best side either.

No Ash Prindable, Harry Thompson, Charlie Slater, Ben Gomersall, Jack Lucas to name a few is laughable.

Check out this guys record this year in the Top of the ladder u19 team - https://www.playhq.com/public/profile/7cf2da98-8a7f-47db-9b81-f2cc55f32044/statistics?tenant=afl

well the u16 championships is played for the academies, and there is no QLD u18 team.

Calling it a QLD u17 team when its missing many of the best u17 players is completely ******ed, especially when it has 12 from the Suns academy who are ordinary in that age group.

If you call something the QLD u17s, thats what it should be. Not like its a strong enough state to not pick the best side either.

No Ash Prindable, Harry Thompson, Charlie Slater, Ben Gomersall, Jack Lucas to name a few is laughable.

Check out this guys record this year in the Top of the ladder u19 team - https://www.playhq.com/public/profile/7cf2da98-8a7f-47db-9b81-f2cc55f32044/statistics?tenant=afl
Mate, I’m just saying Academy membership is an AFL head office requirement for these games.

My guess is the Lions academy doesn’t care about players that they don’t think are genuine draftable talents, even if they one of the top kids in the state.

Especially when they can add them in to the academy in their draft year, and gain draft rights.

Gomersall clearly way above Colts level footy... averaging 5 goals per game. :eek:

Who would you say is THE top Qld talent in this age group that is or can be in the Lions academy Miller?

They have the best 2. Murray and Owen.

None of the others are draftable anyway, though Hodge is certainly getting a leg up.

Even the ones I have named aren't kids that are draftable in my view, but part of the remit of the academies is to strengthen local footy and they should have the absolute best kids in the program.

Plus, while I always thought Ty Prindable should have been in the program and it was laughable that he wasn't - I certainly never thought he was good enough to be drafted. It shows that finally getting an opportunity and someone giving you the time of day, there is more improvement there - as he is a dead set certainty to get picked up and was only added in his 18th year (despite having multiple years of senior footy under his belt in filmed matches with stats available that just got ignored!)

The absolute standouts in the 2026 Draft Class are Murray and Owen, and then its a large gap down to probably Archie Hill from the Suns. Outside those 3, the next best group probably aren't even in the system - though I have always liked Archie Watts, he has a bit of class about him.

Hamish McPherson is also one I have always liked, he has a bit of Petracca about him. Not sure how dedicated he is fitness wise, but on talent - he is as good as any of them.

Then you have these kids I listed above I've been watching in the Colts competition. Gomersall is averaging 5 goals a game in 7 games for the top team. Thompson played a full year of colts last year as a 15 year old and has been playing Reserves/Colts this year and every time I watch that u19 team he dominates, not much footy IQ but elite speed and just creates scores and hits targets, genuine straight line runner. Ash Prindable is a ball magnet like his older brother and has played QAFL Senior footy this year and looked right at home. The last one I mentioned was Charlie Slater, this is a kid I had never seen before this year - but he runs around half forward/mid for Western Magpies in the u19s and has an incredible inside/outside game, impeccable vision, hits the scoreboard, tackles - kid is a bolter if ever I have seen one.

They have the best 2. Murray and Owen.

None of the others are draftable anyway, though Hodge is certainly getting a leg up.

Even the ones I have named aren't kids that are draftable in my view, but part of the remit of the academies is to strengthen local footy and they should have the absolute best kids in the program.

Plus, while I always thought Ty Prindable should have been in the program and it was laughable that he wasn't - I certainly never thought he was good enough to be drafted. It shows that finally getting an opportunity and someone giving you the time of day, there is more improvement there - as he is a dead set certainty to get picked up and was only added in his 18th year (despite having multiple years of senior footy under his belt in filmed matches with stats available that just got ignored!)

The absolute standouts in the 2026 Draft Class are Murray and Owen, and then its a large gap down to probably Archie Hill from the Suns. Outside those 3, the next best group probably aren't even in the system - though I have always liked Archie Watts, he has a bit of class about him.

Hamish McPherson is also one I have always liked, he has a bit of Petracca about him. Not sure how dedicated he is fitness wise, but on talent - he is as good as any of them.

Then you have these kids I listed above I've been watching in the Colts competition. Gomersall is averaging 5 goals a game in 7 games for the top team. Thompson played a full year of colts last year as a 15 year old and has been playing Reserves/Colts this year and every time I watch that u19 team he dominates, not much footy IQ but elite speed and just creates scores and hits targets, genuine straight line runner. Ash Prindable is a ball magnet like his older brother and has played QAFL Senior footy this year and looked right at home. The last one I mentioned was Charlie Slater, this is a kid I had never seen before this year - but he runs around half forward/mid for Western Magpies in the u19s and has an incredible inside/outside game, impeccable vision, hits the scoreboard, tackles - kid is a bolter if ever I have seen one.
You say this but you also have 16 year olds like Ethan duke, Noah Cameron, Hamish Patterson all getting seniors games regulary and playing pretty decent. Most of the players besides a few are already playing seniors and are the kids that are in the academy and doing well besides ash prindable which coorparoo also gave a 14 year old a seniors game.

yes, Duke is very good as is Noah Cameron. My comments were aimed more at who isn't getting a chance though. I reckon Archie Watts is better than those 2, but he is stuck in a stronger list.

club coaches will lean towards the academy kids when granting opportunity - it is a vicious cycle of advancement.

Obviously there are also clubs more willing to go down that path. Two schools of thought, a Top 4 side is harder to get a game in, but may also be more willing to blood youngsters because of the quality around them and the likeliehood of less impact on results. Teams out of contention altogether may start 'playing the kids' and then there are also plenty of Colts/u17s coaches that love ring fencing the talent.

Gomersall is 2007 born, turns 18 in a few weeks. Has always been handy, but has grown 10cm in the last 12 months and turned into a goalkickijg machine.

He was in academy squad, but got cut. Feedback was he doesn't work hard enough on fitness....he is 190cm and runs a 6.22 for the 2k 😅

He worked so hard on his fitness he had 2 rounds of stress fractures to the back in consecutive pre seasons from over training. (Hence only 7 games this year, for close to 40 goals)

As for the other names, they are all fine where they are. CSlater is a gun, 100%. Unsure how keen he would be anyway based on experiences of those around him. Thomson is my lad, experience in those squads hasn't been great for him and his card has been well and truly marked, which is fine - loves his club and his local footy and playing with his mates. Ash Prindablr is very good also, better than some of his teammates who have had greater opportunity, but he only needs to look uo the hallway at home to see opportunity comes if youre good enough, actually want it and keep plugging along.

Would definitely agree that young Matt Owen and Caelyn Murray are the picks of the bunch - the rest are all QAFL footballers, so I don't think the world is ending when it comes to who fills out the spare jumpers and pays the fees to give these 2 their opportunity.

How is he playing u17 club footy if he is 18? (gomersall?)

Mate. I know the kid well, he is my sons best mate. He is 18 in a few weeks.

The u17 comp is actually u17.5, if you turn 18 after June 30 you are still eligible. Given back to back seasons with a late start, he is having a kick in the u17s because he loves footy and wants to play. (Most of the under aged Colts have gone past the 10 game threshold of eligibility , but he hasn't)

He is a great young player having a very good season. However, he is ineligible for the 'state' u17 team, that is a fact.

I don't disagree with some of your points in this case, but this particular guy is too old.

SANFL U17 Futures Squad announced

2025 SANFL U17 Futures Squad (*Bottom-ager)​

Dougie CochraneCentral District
Jack GordonCentral District
Charlie MossCentral District
Jack EimeCentral District
Jordan RuchsCentral District
Hugo Semmler*Central District
Brayden Whimpress*Central District
Billy Nicholls*Central District
Gabe PattersonGlenelg
Harry FranzGlenelg
Koby MoirGlenelg
Jacob McNicolGlenelg
Jobe JanewayGlenelg
Harvey CrokerGlenelg
Jack WakelinGlenelg
Ben CoppingGlenelg
Ryan Lucas*Glenelg
Tim Cain*Glenelg
Ethan HerbertNorth Adelaide
Zack YoungNorth Adelaide
Finn BlieschkeNorth Adelaide
Archie Simpson*North Adelaide
Jackson Penney*North Adelaide
Tom NealNorwood
Harvey PearceNorwood
Kai Ivins*Norwood
Charlie Best*Norwood
Thomas Gribben*Norwood
Angus WhiteSouth Adelaide
Archie Van DykSouth Adelaide
Kodah EdwardsSouth Adelaide
Kody ShortridgeSouth Adelaide
Jackson BlackerSouth Adelaide
Zemes Pilot*South Adelaide
Hudson Boal*South Adelaide
Kale Matthews-HamptonSturt
Jonah LaganaSturt
Ivan WilkinsonSturt
Jack NelsonSturt
Hugo JaeschkeSturt
Ben BeavanSturt
Lachie WertsSturt
Ryan DaviesSturt
Harvey Chapman*Sturt
Taj Garrett*Sturt
Anthony LongWest Adelaide
Charlie BradfordWest Adelaide
Jock MillerWest Adelaide
Laurence Andriani*West Adelaide
Dean Hatedakis*West Adelaide
Jensen FrantzWoodville-West Torrens
Mitchell HarrisWoodville-West Torrens
Jack LeysWoodville-West Torrens
Jack MarksWoodville-West Torrens
Blake KarpanyWoodville-West Torrens

With the 2025 AFL Futures Game on the horizon, the curtain raiser before the biggest game of the year. Speculation as to when the team comes out, and who is in it start to develop.

So far whispers from within the SANFL players selected consist of,

• Kale Matthews-Hampton (Sturt)
  • Archie Van Dyk (South Adelaide)
  • Angus (Gus) White (South Adelaide)
  • Kodah Edwards (South Adelaide)
  • Gab Patterson (Glenelg)
  • Douglas Cochran (Central Districts)

Most likelys:

Cain Florance (Sturt)
Ethan Herbert (North Adelaide)

Definitely more names in the mix that I haven't named as of yet. More to come - a stacked draft class - especially from the South Australian standpoint.

With the 2025 AFL Futures Game on the horizon, the curtain raiser before the biggest game of the year. Speculation as to when the team comes out, and who is in it start to develop.

So far whispers from within the SANFL players selected consist of,

• Kale Matthews-Hampton (Sturt)
  • Archie Van Dyk (South Adelaide)
  • Angus (Gus) White (South Adelaide)
  • Kodah Edwards (South Adelaide)
  • Gab Patterson (Glenelg)
  • Douglas Cochran (Central Districts)

Most likelys:

Cain Florance (Sturt)
Ethan Herbert (North Adelaide)

Definitely more names in the mix that I haven't named as of yet. More to come - a stacked draft class - especially from the South Australian standpoint.
All lads mentioned deserve it all had good seasons strong from the SA boys

I reckon SA will have a healthy representation with 7-9 selections this year.
Especially off the back of their 2024 U16 National Championships performance.

Id also add into the mix:
Leys - WWT (F/S Richmond) (Wing/Fwd)
Croker - Glenelg (2nd only to Van Dyke in avg. disposals/game) (Wing/Mid)
Wilkinson - Sturt (U18 Leading Goal Kicker) (Crows NGA) (Fwd)
Gordon (Centrals) - Competition leading disposal winner (Def/Mid)

Florance (South) has missed too much footy with injury so I think he misses.
Herbert (North) Definitely.

People shouldn't be sleeping on the 2026 SA U18 State Squad.
Throw in a few bottom agers such as Pilot, Garrett & Ivins and this squad bats very deep.
Webb (North) back from injury as well.

Gus Kennedy best on again tonight with stints at half back which i haven't seen. this guy started fights all night loves the tough stuff but can play! pick of the dandy boys this year as a under ager.

Ladbrook is a freak at 200cm so clean and can kick. really keen to see how he comes back over summer. also really like will Malady but i'd love to see him play HB or wing . Macmillian ball use took my eye big time aswell. This draft is going to be insane