Preview 2026 AFL Draft General Discussion

Hi all - new to this forum and apologies if this has been covered previously in this thread...

Wondering what academy players the Swans, Brisbane and Gold Coast have for 2026? And how they are tracking? I know the Swans have given away a lot for Curnow but my thinking is they may have 1-2 academy players up their sleeve for next year.
swans have Aidan McCartney also a north father son (son of Jason). Be interesting to see which team he nominates. From what I’ve seen north fans seem to have some optimism he may pick them

Suns. Archie Hill. Probably 3rd best kid in QLD in this age group.

Lions. Caylen Murray & Matthew Owen. Top two kids in the state.

As for the NSW kids, you could chase up the U17 futures squad, to see who played.

Thanks for the heads up.

As I suspected, the Northern Eastern teams have a number of Academy kids coming through next year. In the futures match on GF day, the Swans had 3, GWS 1, Brisbane a few and GCS I think 1.

I know the points rule has been changed for next year but they'll still get snapped up if they are good.

It's easy for these teams (as the Swans did this year) to throw away first round picks if they know they have Academy kids coming through.

Thanks for the heads up.

As I suspected, the Northern Eastern teams have a number of Academy kids coming through next year. In the futures match on GF day, the Swans had 3, GWS 1, Brisbane a few and GCS I think 1.

I know the points rule has been changed for next year but they'll still get snapped up if they are good.

It's easy for these teams (as the Swans did this year) to throw away first round picks if they know they have Academy kids coming through.

if say McCartney shot himself into top 5 contention Swans would really struggle to get the picks to match now

Thanks for the heads up.

The new, new rules will make it hard to match kids significantly higher than what ever picks a team hold, especially if they bring in the two pick rule.

As for the QLD kids, I’d say at this stage, they project as end of first round, early second round talent. They’re not high end draft prospects at this stage.

Gold Coast don’t look to have any high end kids in the U17, U16 or U15 age groups, at this stage.

For Swans:

2026:
McCartney - looks more likely to nominate North all said and done
Guy and Will Jenkin - third rounders IMO at best. Good footy nous but will need substantial growth for their style of game to transfer
Price - midfield but sameish kind that we have in middle
Blackwell-Price - as above

May be a bolter or two ala Harry Kyle. 2027 is where it get interesting for the swans academy IMO

For Swans:

2026:
McCartney - looks more likely to nominate North all said and done
Guy and Will Jenkin - third rounders IMO at best. Good footy nous but will need substantial growth for their style of game to transfer
Price - midfield but sameish kind that we have in middle
Blackwell-Price - as above

May be a bolter or two ala Harry Kyle. 2027 is where it get interesting for the swans academy IMO
After Neck, NWM (seriously), Buckley(GWS) and Josh Kelly should Ayden choose Swans, that'll do me - I reckon.

Enough BS. I'll buy a horse instead.

swans have Aidan McCartney also a north father son (son of Jason). Be interesting to see which team he nominates. From what I’ve seen north fans seem to have some optimism he may pick them

Things can change but it's a very slim chance he chooses Sydney as things stand.

The other possibilities in this draft are a pair of twins who probably end up playing on opposite wings, funny enough. Picks wise we're not talking top 30. There was one other guy but he'll likely stick with athletics, and so he should to be honest

2027 looks more promising from an academy perspective

ACADEMY SQUAD ALERT!

Tanner ArmstrongVIC CMurray BushrangersShepparton United
Arki ButlerVIC MSandringham DragonsBeaumaris
Harrison ChapmanVIC MEastern RangesBoronia
Dougie CochraneSACentral DistrictPort District
Kodah EdwardsSASouth AdelaideWillunga
Jack GordonSACentral DistrictPort District
Ethan HerbertSANorth AdelaideWalkerville
Archie HillQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyBroadbeach
Tate HodgsonVIC MNorthern KnightsPark Orchards NRP
Lewis HoundsomeVIC MNorthern KnightsYarrambat
Garrison KenhWAEast PerthEllenbrook
Xavier LadbrookVIC CGippsland PowerNar Nar Goon
Koby LeCrasWAWest PerthManning
Wil MaladyVIC CGippsland PowerBairnsdale
Ethan MatthewsNSW/ACTGWS GIANTS AcademyIngleburn
Aidan McCartneyNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademyWilloughby
Heath MellodyWAClaremontWembley Downs
Caylen MurrayQLDBrisbane Lions AcademyMaroochydore
Gabriel PattersonSAGlenelgPlympton
Jack PickettVIC CGeelong FalconsTorquay
Darcy SzerszynVIC CDandenong StingraysSeaford
Harry Van HattumVIC MNorthern KnightsSt Mary's
Benji van RooyenWAClaremontWembley Downs
Cody WalkerVIC CBendigo PioneersEchuca
Noah WilliamsVIC CGeelong FalconsSt Joseph's

So who are the midfielders I should be emotionally investing in the Eagles taking with our first next year? Van Dyk? Any kind soul got some initial player comparisons for the high end midfielders?

Going early (and will bookmark to see how many I get right) but my predicted 28 man 2025-26 AFL Academy squad as follows:

Tanner Armstrong.
Charlie Bovill.
Arki Butler.
Dougie Cochrane.

Seamus Doherty.
Max Downes.
Kodah Edwards.
Cain Florance.
Jack Gordon.
Ethan Herbert.
Archie Hill.

Guy Jenkin.
Garrison Kenh.
Koby LeCras.
Aiden McCartney.
Wil Malady.

Jermaine Miller.
Caylen Murray.
Marlon Neocleus.
Matthew Owen.
Lucas Robinson.
Hau-Tze Rock.
Thatcher Simmons.
Leo Steed.
Jack Surkitt.
Harry Van Hattum.
Cody Walker.

Levi West.

Look forward to be mostly wrong and your predictions.

BUMP!

Half right.
Half wrong.

Surprised about Neocleus, Owen and Robinson as well as 0 Tassie names and 0 NT names.

Who's going to be the Sullivan Robey of the 2026 draft crop? Someone who hasn't had the expose or opportunities like many of the others have or may have been injured.

Memphis Webb (SA) comes to mind. Did a knee early in the season this year.
Should be back up and firing come 2026.

Who's going to be the Sullivan Robey of the 2026 draft crop? Someone who hasn't had the expose or opportunities like many of the others have or may have been injured.

Memphis Webb (SA) comes to mind. Did a knee early in the season this year.
Should be back up and firing come 2026.
I think the nature of your question would mean someone most people haven’t heard of. The reason Robey was such a bolter is because who wasn’t even on a list and grew 15cm or so in 18 months before the draft

Yep.

Memphis Webb was namedropped in this thread a few times last year (and probably the year before.)

FWIW:

2025: Sullivan Robey.
2024: Alix Tauru.
2023: James Leake.
2022: Bailey Humphrey.
2021: Mac Andrew.
2020: Max Holmes.
2019: Cody Weightman.
2018: Sam Sturt.
2017: Wil Powell.
2016: Griffin Logue, Tim Taranto and Ollie Florent. (Take your pick.)
2015: Tom Doedee.
2014: Jordan De Goey.
2013: Jack Leslie.
2012: Jonathon O'Rourke.
2011: Nick Haynes.
2010: Isaac Smith.
2009: Jasper Pittard.
2008: Stephen Hill.
2007: Chris Masten.

Yep.

Memphis Webb was namedropped in this thread a few times last year (and probably the year before.)

FWIW:

2025: Sullivan Robey.
2024: Alix Tauru.
2023: James Leake.
2022: Bailey Humphrey.
2021: Mac Andrew.
2020: Max Holmes.
2019: Cody Weightman.
2018: Sam Sturt.
2017: Wil Powell.
2016: Griffin Logue, Tim Taranto and Ollie Florent. (Take your pick.)
2015: Tom Doedee.
2014: Jordan De Goey.
2013: Jack Leslie.
2012: Jonathon O'Rourke.
2011: Nick Haynes.
2010: Isaac Smith.
2009: Jasper Pittard.
2008: Stephen Hill.
2007: Chris Masten.
Weren't Oliver and Bontempelli also bolters?