2026 AFL Fixture

I'd wager the Friday night the way it is listed.
Far more likely to be the Saturday afternoon (to maximise crowd - like the final)

This also opens up the possibility of a Friday Night Essendon v Hawthorn in round 1. I’m sure they’d want to beat the 81,000 for this years game too given the Merrett trade and the fact it’s an Essendon home game (with reciprocal rights for Hawks fans).

Richmond playing Brisbane in Hobart makes it far less likely we’d play them at York Park (and more likely we’ll be one of their marquee MCG games).

So we'll probably get Freo, Adelaide, Giants/GC and Norf at Tassie.

Adelaide could be a massive risk given the capacity of York Park will be sub 10,000 all next year. That game could draw 55,000 to 60,000 in Melbourne (ala Lions this year) and could be a top 4 game.

Given the broadcast wing will be a building site I wonder if channel 7 will be reluctant to broadcast any of our York Park games in 2026 and 2027.

Adelaide could be a massive risk given the capacity of York Park will be sub 10,000 all next year. That game could draw 55,000 to 60,000 in Melbourne (ala Lions this year) and could be a top 4 game.

Given the broadcast wing will be a building site I wonder if channel 7 will be reluctant to broadcast any of our York Park games in 2026 and 2027.

Since they've also come good again, surely Adelaide isn't an option for Tassie. Would attract a crowd in Melbourne.

Freo have openly said they hate playing in Tassie, and last year requested not to.

Probably leaves West Coast, GWS, North and maybe St.Kilda again as Launnie match ups?

With the low capacity, common sense would be to give us the worst set of 4 teams in Tassie in 2026 and then a better than usual set in 2027.

So WCE, North, Suns, GWS type opponents...

Reckon we'll see the Suns and Giants involved in more Thursday night games this year. Doesn't hurt crowd figures as much as scheduling blockbuster type games, and as both teams are most likely to play finals people will be more interested in watching them on TV.

Got beat the best to be the best. Also, as they say in investing - past performance doesn't predict future returns.

Brizzy did it this year, and ended up with a tougher draw than anyone realised at the start of the year. Let's notch up the wins and stop complaining.

Yeah, but that's Dogs and Brisbane at Norwood, not Dogs and Hawks.

Think they'd be confident of that one selling out Adelaide Oval and it being a decent contest too.

Could see that one as the Saturday night fixture.
As someone who lives down the road from Norwood Oval and takes my kids there all the time, it would be a dream to play there again. That GWS game was the closest we'll ever get to a full crowd domination, 99% Hawks and 1% neutrals there. Unfortunately won't be that skewed with the Doggies; and it'll be a dogfight to get tickets (something like 8000 go on sale). Your 100% right - our recent matches against them have been crackers and we would 100% be better at Adelaide Oval. Just not a Sunday night please

I have loved the games at the parade. Went to our home game, North/Brisbane and Brisbane/Dogs.

Really hoping that I can get there again in 2026 too.

I have loved the games at the parade. Went to our home game, North/Brisbane and Brisbane/Dogs.

Really hoping that I can get there again in 2026 too.
If we do get it, I hope it's the Sunday arvo clash. Few hours at the Food & Wine Festival all up The Parade, then just stroll down to the oval and watch the Hawks. Would be a top notch day

2026 AFL Fixture