manicmagpie
A slice of fried gold
There's about 1200 seats in the AFL Members bays that have been given over to the public. There would still be around 3-3.5k other seats in the AFL left unsold at the moment.

Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 12
SuperCoach Rd 12 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC - 2026 Fight MND Comp ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 12 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
This is an excellent move. Hawks @ Cats have relatively low AFL members. Great work by Hawks/AFL. This might crack 90k.
Perhaps the MCC said ‘no’.I find it interesting that the AFL is more open to selling into the AFL members and not MCC members. I reckon the MCC members is a lot busier for bigger games since they opened the reserve up to more restricted members
Perhaps the MCC said ‘no’.
Each upper bay holds around a 1k seats, so there will be 6k for public/club walk ups, and around 3K for AFL members. Assume most of the MCC would be walk ups.
This is an excellent move. Hawks @ Cats have relatively low AFL members. Great work by Hawks/AFL. This might crack 90k.
Each upper bay holds around a 1k seats, so there will be 6k for public/club walk ups, and around 3K for AFL members. Assume most of the MCC would be walk ups.
This may create debate, but do Brisbane still need the annual Easter Thursday clash with Collingwood? The Gabba would be full at any timeslot they hosted a home game against them.
Perhaps its time to give other teams a go at Easter Thursday.
While I get the tradition aspect, as this is the attendance thread and looking at ways to maximise attendances, it is worth discussion about other clubs maximising a fixture that otherwise wouldn't get the best chance to do so because Easter Thursday is currently taken by another fixture that would sell out at any timeslot anyway. Besides, Collingwood and Brisbane on Easter Thursday has not had a long history, nor has it been continuously played in that slot.What do people not understand about clubs getting and building their own marquee spot.
Why should lions loose it for being good?
The agenda to remove every club of anything they built themselves is remarkable.
While we are at it let’s remove hawks ans cats from Easter Monday, Tiges and bombers from Dreamtime, hell let’s play anyone but Essendon and Collingwood on Anzac Day and god forbid Richmond and Carlton open the season.
Traditions are that, traditions. They build overtime and mean something to a fan base.
There so unique to our game and make it special.
While I get the tradition aspect, as this is the attendance thread and looking at ways to maximise attendances, it is worth discussion about other clubs maximising a fixture that otherwise wouldn't get the best chance to do so because Easter Thursday is currently taken by another fixture that would sell out at any timeslot anyway. Besides, Collingwood and Brisbane on Easter Thursday has not had a long history, nor has it been continuously played in that slot.
And traditional matchups on certain days are in no way unique to our game.
I’d argue as well that Brisbane won’t be good forever, in fact they had an indifferent first two rounds this year. This fixture could be really critical to them if they fall back to the pack and the crowds drop off.Certainly worth the debate, but I’d argue switching and swapping would over time be detrimental to their attendances. Even when Brisbane were terrible this was always close to a sell out.
Yes it was a newer tradition - but they have to start somewhere.
If clubs and the AFL spent half as much time creating their own marquee spots as tearing others down they’d all be in a better place.
Or when they move to the new stadium and need to fill an extra 27k seats.I’d argue as well that Brisbane won’t be good forever, in fact they had an indifferent first two rounds this year. This fixture could be really critical to them if they fall back to the pack and the crowds drop off.
Those extra seats were all sold in half a day. Going to be big.Six days out from the game there is no chance Q1-6 will stay walk up.
Sorry Doggies fans. It doesn’t look like we want to pay $69 (level 1) / $89 (Level 2) to witness a 100 point thrashing. Apologies in advance. Mercy rule please.
View attachment 2568783View attachment 2568784
Most of the top level will be GA. I don’t think the Dogs have heaps of reserved seats up there. The lack of demand for reserved seats is to be expected, I doubt the fans would go even if they were $20 this week. It’s not going to be worth going.It is just clubs over estimating the demand for certain games or do they need to charge these costs to run in the black?
No doubt their operational expenses are through the roof like every business. I’m trying to think of a logical theory behind not wanting 40K in the house.
I think last year’s Easter Sunday night clash drew around 29,000, a figure that they probably wanted to better. SoMost of the top level will be GA. I don’t think the Dogs have heaps of reserved seats up there. The lack of demand for reserved seats is to be expected, I doubt the fans would go even if they were $20 this week. It’s not going to be worth going.
It was 35,511 and we went into the game with a 2-3 record.I think last year’s Easter Sunday night clash drew around 29,000, a figure that they probably wanted to better. So
The Bulldogs have clearly looked to strengthen the appeal of the slot by having Essendon, banking on the Bombers’ larger supporter base and proven drawing power at Marvel to lift the crowd significantly.
The thinking was straightforward: if Bulldogs v Bombers can average crowds over 40,000 range consistently, it materially strengthens the case for having the bombers play. Unfortunately, they have got a dud Bombers outfit so far this year and crowd could be less than the 29,000 they got against the Saints last year.
It probably would have been a great idea to have Nas, TDK and co playing Sunday night instead of the Bombers....
We are 0-3 lol and no Nate Caddy either (whom has been our best forward!)... This will be a poor turn out. I hope I am wrong but we will need a big Bulldog presence to get this over 30,000!It was 35,511 and we went into the game with a 2-3 record.
Anything below that would be a major disappointment, even with Essendon's woes.
We got 28k to our first home match against GWS, so I'm hoping at least 2k Bomber fans turn up!We are 0-3 lol and no Nate Caddy either (whom has been our best forward!)... This will be a poor turn out. I hope I am wrong but we will need a big Bulldog presence to get this over 30,000!
Possibly. Looking at it with some science though. Vibe aside.It was 35,511 and we went into the game with a 2-3 record.
Anything below that would be a major disappointment, even with Essendon's woes.