Prediction 2026 Expectations

What is your expectation for Freo in 2026?

• This poll will close: .

I'm concerned about the 6-day turn-arounds. Freo may have come back so the guys can have a sleep in their own beds, but it's a big ask - we're playing footy already....it feels a bit? Too much, too dangerous. I think if Voss is over his sickness and Amiss was quiet last week, we need bigger games from them. Amiss has to start nailing set shots again when he gets them, he missed the lot last week I think?

I guess living on the edge is what life is all about; I'm just not that confident. Hawks are a much superior team to the previous 2 or 3 they just faced, so if any battle-scarred fatigue is there, or anyone's still crook or sore, may get found out. No one has really been rested (who wants to be rested at Round 9? It's a valid point). So I don't know if anyone is banged up a bit and playing through their soreness.

I'm just...not confident. It's Freo - we're mentally anguished from previous disappointments. Obviously, Shai and Jacko and Reid have been turning it on. Young is starting to elevate to that level where he looks uber-elite. But those horrid, nagging; creeping doubts are there, like a devil on the shoulder whilst the angel is gagged and hogtied somewhere......grim imagery. And it's Hawthorn, I hate them and they just have a knack of getting under the skin. Then there's the umps and all that shenanigans. It's an intriguing match up but whatever excitement I had about it has evaporated for some reason.

I guess all I can say is, at home, Thurs night prime-time slot, home crowd buzzing....maybe that's your 'extra man', your x factor? I hope so, but not in any way shape or form confident.
Oops, this is in the '2026 expectations thread'. I thought I was in the Hawks preview thread. What the hell....?!

Expectation vs goal is different. I agree with dominguez that the expectation should be a prelim, but the goal outside of obviously a premiership should be a grand final. Our best is good enough. Even if we come up against a team like Brisbane who heavily outweigh us for finals experience, just get there and anything can happen.

Anything short of a prelim and JL needs to go. That might be harsh but I’m that certain this group is capable and we’ve fallen short of expectations three years in a row and if it happens for a 4th year his position becomes untenable:
  • 2023 - shouldn’t have dropped 9 places down the ladder, fail ❌
  • 2024 - should’ve made finals but we didn’t, fail ❌
  • 2025 - should’ve won a final but we didn’t, fail ❌
Every year of falling short just raises the expectations so this year is now or never for JL. Our best footy under JL has always been good enough but it’s just about producing it on a consistent enough basis, we are starting to see that now and hopefully we can continue it all year long.

I do the squiggle auto tipping every week after our game.

This is the first time that I got this result. Normally we're in 5th down to 8th.

Squiggle has us first now which is very interesting.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20260509_063704_Chrome.webp
    Screenshot_20260509_063704_Chrome.webp
    152.5 KB · Views: 29

This is the first time that I got this result. Normally we're in 5th down to 8th.

The aggregate range is now 1-4, with us finishing third on their predicted ladder.

Those types of predictions usually under predict the number of wins at the top, and there's typically one team that drops away and one that surges a fair bit.

Expectation has to be to do some damage in the finals, not getting to at least a prelim would end up disappointing.

Our draw is extremely nice as a result of how even the top 8 was last year and fluffing that final. Throw in our hard games from here out being at Optus (aside from Brisbane) and I can see why pipping Hawks opened up the draw for us for Squiggle.

Would be disappointing not to finish 2nd from here. We'd have to drop a couple we shouldnt.

The only team I think that is better than us is brissie, but we won’t know for sure for a couple of weeks. Think swans will fall away and we just beat the hawks.

Therefore expect a gf unless we meet Brisbane in a prelim.

The only team I think that is better than us is brissie, but we won’t know for sure for a couple of weeks. Think swans will fall away and we just beat the hawks.

Therefore expect a gf unless we meet Brisbane in a prelim.
I dont think we'll know for sure till finals because they just sleep through regular season.

You can rule a line through Brisbane right now Snuff. They failed to pile on percentage against Carlton and at this time of year that's the only true measure of a team's premiership credentials.

In fact, bugger it, give the whole thing to Sydney, they know how to smash weak teams - I'm sure they'll come up against a few in the finals.

Brisbane are the sleeping Giants.

I would love to catch them at Optus in the prelim and play Sydney in the Granny.

Cautious to write off the Swans in a GF. The only factor that could make that happen in Cox's inexperience.

A lot of premiership winning teams have gone through GF heartbreak previous, and after 2 years ago I think they'll be dog-hungry if that make the big dance. Definitely the side I don't want to face.