So?Yep. Long time ago.

No we still trade out our first round pick for points but let’s not let facts get in the way of your rantRubbish, pay my arse, whole comp is a compromised pile of crap
Why?Rubbish, pay my arse, whole comp is a compromised pile of crap
Mate, as long as you keep waving the country lifestyle, cotton on deals and farmland deals on the side- your poaching game will stay strong. Spare me the sob story of poor Geelong fighting against odds to stay competitive.Yes, it's great when you can finish top 4 and make grand finals, while still receiving F/S and academy picks rated at the very top end of the draft who can immediately join your best 22 every year.
It's like... the competition is engineered so the northern states get a leg up. But why? Why would the AFL do that?
This is all rubbish.Mate, as long as you keep waving the country lifestyle, cotton on deals and farmland deals on the side- your poaching game will stay strong. Spare me the sob story of poor Geelong fighting against odds to stay competitive.
Dangerfield, Cameron, Stengle, Bailey Smith, Bowes + pick 7, Tanner Bruhn, Olli Henry - the list goes on. you even tried to pitch for Rowell, couldn't get him and settled for temu rowell in Worpel. Tried Harley Reid and attempted to trade for Rowan Marshall. I'm sure Butters will be tapped on the shoulder next season.
You keep picking off players to your liking every off-season and its a surprise you missed Marshall this time. Save it until your country deals doesn't land you any players and I'll start believing in Geelong fighting against the odds story.
How does a team 'take advantage' of the father-son rule?This is all rubbish.
Geelong have never taken advantage of the father son rule, have withdrawn from that scheme, and have never, and will never, have an academy.
Please respect that.
It’s a very good question.How does a team 'take advantage' of the father-son rule?
Rayner, Bailey, Starcevich, Wilmot, Lohmann, McCluggage, Berry, Morris, McInerney - all great drafting choicesYou pay a suite of nothing picks - picks that would usually get you speculative talent and/or project players - for recruits who are essentially guaranteed starters.
That's the system, and you're using it. Just don't come piss all over threads bragging about how great your youth is. Your great youth consists of father-sons and academy kids. Not great drafting, not great development.
Yes, it's great when you can finish top 4 and make grand finals, while still receiving F/S and academy picks rated at the very top end of the draft who can immediately join your best 22 every year.
It's like... the competition is engineered so the northern states get a leg up. But why? Why would the AFL do that?
)Agreed, astute pundits tipped Brisbane, Geelong did not choke, did well to stay in it so long imoThink about the wider football public, which is very anti-Geelong. Is it more fun to say the Cats choked, or that their opponents were outstanding? This will solve most of your future confusion regarding Geelong narratives, especially around finals.
Who was the last GWS academy gun?Yep. Long time ago. Also have never had access to academies. All clubs besides GC and GWS have access to F/S picks. Only the rugby state clubs get their academies consistently pumping out guns they get for free regardless of ladder position.

play within the rules and still plenty having a whinge. Maybe look at where the club come from and how we got to here, development, nailing draft picks for years and a coach nobody else wanted.Throw in Annable on top...Ashcroft x 2, Lohmann, Fletcher, Reville, Gallop, Wilmot, Marshall, Morris
Only Lohmann has celebrated his 22nd birthday
Probably four of those names already A-graders, another 3 heading there
It is a frightening line up
Levi Ashcroft especially will be an interesting watch next year imo
Agree that Annable would be in most teams 23 but you have to remember Lions have added Players and have injury players coming back he’ll have to bide he’s time in the VFLThrow in Annable on top...
You could quote the one Geelong supporter in here who used that narrative instead of an incoherent rant that generalises to an entire supporter base.Same Geelong supporters who were arrogant flogs, carrying on like the flag was in the bag after they beat us in the 1st final now having a sook because the apparent unfair advantages were the reason we won. Maybe Cameron could have done something besides get his ass kicked bu the 8th best defender on our list. Maybe Dangerfield could have done ANYTHING besides kicking shit helicopters out on the full and walk around with his chest out, maybe Bailey Sniff could have not crapped his daks when the footsteps were coming and then embarrassed himself by pushing a true champion when the game was over, maybe Holmes could have tried kicking it to a Geelong player at some point, maybe Stengle should have got off the bus, maybe Dempsey could try running as hard defensively as he does when there is a cheaply in the goal square up for grabs, maybe supercoach should not have tagged a forward flanker and played someone who could have influenced the game- let alone the Cameron balls up with a broken arm. But yeah the reason we won was the academy picksplay within the rules and still plenty having a whinge. Maybe look at where the club come from and how we got to here, development, nailing draft picks for years and a coach nobody else wanted.
So the Northern state are able to produce more father sons. Must be warm weather.Yes, it's great when you can finish top 4 and make grand finals, while still receiving F/S and academy picks rated at the very top end of the draft who can immediately join your best 22 every year.
As a semi-literate person once said: "Sad! Isn't it"You could quote the one Geelong supporter in here who used that narrative instead of an incoherent rant that generalises to an entire supporter base.
Why do people struggle to use the quote button? The forum makes it exceptionally simple.
Where does everyone else finish?My top 8:
1. Suns
2. Lions
3. Hawks
4. Pies
5. GWS
6. Cats
7. Dogs
8. St.Kilda or Freo undecided on these 2
9th Swans
Wooden spoon Essendon
How's the history of Chris Scott's teams the year after comfortably losing their last final? 2016, 2017, 2018, 2020, 2021. Fairly decent follow up seasons overall, averaging around 16 H&A wins.
One thing we know is that if it is a Lions v Freo GF the Lions will have the support of most if not all Eagles' fans!Grand Final: Fremantle Beats Brisbane - Surely the legacy of Failure has to end here